

Higher Education to NC Government

Types of Institutions:

<u>Community Colleges (</u>CC) - Two-year programs leading to the Associate of Arts (AA) or Associate of Science (AS) degree. These colleges also have technical and vocational programs with close links to high schools, community groups, and employers in the local community. North Carolina has 58 Community Colleges.

<u>Historically Black Colleges and Universities</u> (HBCU) - A college or university originally founded to educate students of African American descent. North Carolina has 11 Historically Black Colleges and Universities.

<u>Minority Serving Institutions (</u>MSI) - Colleges and universities that enroll a high percentage of minority students. MSIs include Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs), Hispanic-Serving Institutions (HSIs), and colleges and universities with high enrollments of Native Americans, Asian Americans and Native Americans Pacific Islanders, and Alaska Natives and Native Hawaiians. North Carolina has 11 Minority Serving Institutions, excluding the 11 HBCUs.

<u>NC Independent Colleges and Universities</u> (NCICU) – North Carolina's 36 private and non-profit colleges and universities.

<u>The University of North Carolina System (UNC)</u> – The multi-campus system comprising 16 universities granting bachelor's and post-graduate degrees in North Carolina.