## YOUR BENEFIT PLAN

## North Carolina Office of State Human Resources

All Actively at Work University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Employees in a permanent, probationary or time-limited position of the Policyholder working 20 hours or more per month who Elect the Classic Dental Plan

**Dental Insurance for You and Your Dependents** 

Certificate Date: January 1, 2020

North Carolina Office of State Human	Resources
1331 Mail Service Center	
Raleigh, NC 27699	

## TO OUR EMPLOYEES:

All of us appreciate the protection and security insurance provides.

This certificate describes the benefits that are available to you. We urge you to read it carefully.

North Carolina Office of State Human Resources



Metropolitan Life Insurance Company 200 Park Avenue, New York, New York 10166

#### **CERTIFICATE OF INSURANCE**

Metropolitan Life Insurance Company ("MetLife"), a stock company, certifies that You and Your Dependents are insured for the benefits described in this certificate, subject to the provisions of this certificate. This certificate is issued to You under the Group Policy and it includes the terms and provisions of the Group Policy that describe Your insurance. **PLEASE READ THIS CERTIFICATE CAREFULLY.** 

This certificate is part of the Group Policy. The Group Policy is a legal contract between MetLife and the Policyholder and may be changed or ended without Your consent or notice to You.

Policyholder: North Carolina Office of State Human Resources

**Group Policy Number:** 165756-1-G

Type of Insurance: Dental Insurance

MetLife Toll Free Number(s): 1-855-676-9441

FOR DENTAL CLAIMS: 1-855-676-9441

#### THIS CERTIFICATE ONLY DESCRIBES DENTAL INSURANCE.

FOR CALIFORNIA RESIDENTS: REVIEW THIS CERTIFICATE CAREFULLY. IF YOU ARE 65 OR OLDER ON YOUR EFFECTIVE DATE OF THIS CERTIFICATE, YOU MAY RETURN IT TO US WITHIN 30 DAYS FROM THE DATE YOU RECEIVE IT AND WE WILL REFUND ANY PREMIUM YOU PAID. IN THIS CASE, THIS CERTIFICATE WILL BE CONSIDERED TO NEVER HAVE BEEN ISSUED.

## THE BENEFITS OF THE POLICY PROVIDING YOUR COVERAGE ARE GOVERNED PRIMARILY BY THE LAW OF A STATE OTHER THAN FLORIDA.

THE GROUP INSURANCE POLICY PROVIDING COVERAGE UNDER THIS CERTIFICATE WAS ISSUED IN A JURISDICTION OTHER THAN MARYLAND AND MAY NOT PROVIDE ALL THE BENEFITS REQUIRED BY MARYLAND LAW.

**For Residents of North Dakota:** If You are not satisfied with Your Certificate, You may return it to Us within 20 days after You receive it, unless a claim has previously been received by Us under Your Certificate. We will refund within 30 days of Our receipt of the returned Certificate any Premium that has been paid and the Certificate will then be considered to have never been issued. You should be aware that, if You elect to return the Certificate for a refund of premiums, losses which otherwise would have been covered under Your Certificate will not be covered.

For New Mexico Residents: This type of plan is NOT considered "minimum essential coverage" under the Affordable Care Act and therefore does NOT satisfy the individual mandate that You have health insurance coverage. If You do not have other health insurance coverage, You may be subject to a federal tax penalty.

## For New Hampshire Residents: 30 Day Right to Examine Certificate.

Please read this Certificate. You may return the Certificate to Us within 30 days from the date You receive it. If you return it within the 30 day period, the Certificate will be considered never to have been issued and We will refund any premium paid for insurance under this Certificate.

WE ARE REQUIRED BY STATE LAW TO INCLUDE THE NOTICE(S) WHICH APPEAR ON THIS PAGE AND IN THE NOTICE(S) SECTION WHICH FOLLOWS THIS PAGE. PLEASE READ THE(SE) NOTICE(S) CAREFULLY.

#### IMPORTANT NOTICE

#### AVISO IMPORTANTE

To obtain information or make a complaint:

Para obtener información o para presentar una queja:

You may call MetLife's toll free telephone number for information or to make a complaint at:

Usted puede llamar al número de teléfono gratuito de MetLife's para obtener información o para presentar una queja al:

1-855-676-9441

1-855-676-9441

You may contact the Texas Department of Insurance to obtain information on companies. coverages, rights, or complaints at:

Usted puede comunicarse con el Departamento de Seguros de Texas para obtener información sobre compañías, coberturas, derechos, o quejas al:

1-800-252-3439

1-800-252-3439

You may write the Texas Department of Insurance:

P.O. Box 149104 Austin, TX 78714-9104 Fax: (512) 490-1007

Web: www.tdi.texas.gov

Email: ConsumerProtection@tdi.texas.gov

Usted puede escribir al Departamento de Seguros de Texas a:

P.O. Box 149104 Austin, TX 78714-9104 Fax: (512) 490-1007

Sitio Web: www.tdi.texas.gov

Email: ConsumerProtection@tdi.texas.gov

PREMIUM OR CLAIM DISPUTES: Should you have a dispute concerning your premium or about a claim, you should contact MetLife first. If the dispute is not resolved, you may contact the Texas Department of Insurance.

## **DISPUTAS POR PRIMAS DE SEGUROS O**

**RECLAMACIONES:** Si tiene una disputa relacionada con su prima de seguro o con una reclamación, usted debe comunicarse con MetLife primero. Si la disputa no es resuelta, usted puede comunicarse con el Departamento de Seguros de Texas.

#### ATTACH THIS NOTICE TO YOUR CERTIFICATE:

This notice is for information only and does not become a part or condition of the attached document.

#### ADJUNTE ESTE AVISO A SU CERTIFICADO:

Este aviso es solamente para propósitos informativos y no se convierte en parte o en condición del documento adjunto.

# NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF ALASKA, LOUISIANA, MINNESOTA, MONTANA, NEW HAMPSHIRE, NEW MEXICO, TEXAS, UTAH AND WASHINGTON The Definition Of Child Is Modified For The Coverages Listed Below:

#### For Alaska Residents (Dental Insurance):

The term also includes newborns.

#### For Louisiana Residents (Dental Insurance):

The term also includes Your grandchildren residing with You. The age limit for children and grandchildren will not be less than 21, regardless of the child's or grandchild's student status or full-time employment status. In addition, the age limit for students will not be less than 24. Your natural child, adopted child, stepchild or grandchild under age 21 will not need to be supported by You to qualify as a Child under this insurance.

#### For Minnesota Residents (Dental Insurance):

The term also includes:

- Your grandchildren who are financially dependent upon You and reside with You continuously from birth:
- children for whom You or Your Spouse is the legally appointed guardian; and
- children for whom You have initiated an application for adoption.

The age limit for children and grandchildren will not be less than 25 regardless of the child's or grandchild's student status or full-time employment status. Your natural child, adopted child stepchild or children for whom You or Your Spouse is the legally appointed guardian under age 25 will not need to be supported by You to qualify as a Child under this insurance.

#### For Montana Residents (Dental Insurance):

The term also includes newborn infants of any person insured under this certificate. The age limit for children will not be less than 25, regardless of the child's student status or full-time employment status. Your natural child, adopted child or stepchild under age 25 will not need to be supported by You to qualify as a child under this insurance.

## For New Hampshire Residents (Dental Insurance):

The age limit for children will not be less than 26, regardless of the child's marital status, student status, or full-time employment status. Your natural child, adopted child or stepchild under age 26 will not need to be supported by You to qualify as a Child under this insurance.

#### For New Mexico Residents (Dental Insurance):

The age limit for children will not be less than 25, regardless of the child's student status or full-time employment status. Your natural child, adopted child or stepchild will not be denied dental insurance coverage under this certificate because:

- that child was born out of wedlock;
- that child is not claimed as Your dependent on Your federal income tax return; or
- · that child does not reside with You.

#### For Texas Residents (Dental Insurance):

The term also includes Your grandchildren. The age limit for children and grandchildren will not be less than 25, regardless of the child's or grandchild's student status, full-time employment status or military service status. Your natural child, adopted child or stepchild under age 25 will not need to be supported by You to qualify as a Child under this insurance. A child will be considered Your adopted child during the period You are party to a suit in which You are seeking the adoption of the child. In addition, grandchildren must be able to be claimed by You as a dependent for Federal Income Tax purposes at the time You applied for Insurance.

# NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF ALASKA, LOUISIANA, MINNESOTA, MONTANA, NEW HAMPSHIRE, NEW MEXICO, TEXAS, UTAH AND WASHINGTON (continued) For Utah Residents (Dental Insurance):

The age limit for children will not be less than 26, regardless of the child's student status or full-time employment status. Your natural child, adopted child or stepchild under age 26 will not need to be supported by You to qualify as a Child under this insurance. The term includes an unmarried child who is incapable of self-sustaining employment because of a mental or physical handicap as defined by applicable law and who has been continuously covered under a Dental plan since reaching age 26, with no break in coverage of more than 63 days, and who otherwise qualifies as a Child except for the age limit. Proof of such handicap must be sent to Us within 31 days after:

- the date the Child attains the limiting age in order to continue coverage; or
- You enroll a Child to be covered under this provision;

and at reasonable intervals after such date, but no more often than annually after the two-year period immediately following the date the Child qualifies for coverage under this provision.

#### For Washington Residents (Dental Insurance):

The age limit for children will not be less than 26, regardless of the child's marital status, student status, or full-time employment status. Your natural child, adopted child or stepchild under age 26 will not need to be supported by You to qualify as a Child under this insurance.

## NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF ALL STATES WHO ARE INSURED FOR DENTAL INSURANCE

#### Notice Regarding Your Rights and Responsibilities

#### Rights:

- We will treat communications, financial records and records pertaining to Your care in accordance with all
  applicable laws relating to privacy.
- Decisions with respect to dental treatment are the responsibility of You and the Dentist. We neither
  require nor prohibit any specified treatment. However, only certain specified services are covered for
  benefits. Please see the Dental Insurance sections of this certificate for more details.
- You may request a pre-treatment estimate of benefits for the dental services to be provided. However, actual benefits will be determined after treatment has been performed.
- You may request a written response from MetLife to any written concern or complaint.
- You have the right to receive an explanation of benefits which describes the benefit determinations for Your dental insurance.

#### Responsibilities:

- You are responsible for the prompt payment of any charges for services performed by the Dentist. If the
  dentist agrees to accept part of the payment directly from MetLife, You are responsible for prompt
  payment of the remaining part of the dentist's charge.
- You should consult with the Dentist about treatment options, proposed and potential procedures, anticipated outcomes, potential risks, anticipated benefits and alternatives. You should share with the Dentist the most current, complete and accurate information about Your medical and dental history and current conditions and medications.
- You should follow the treatment plans and health care recommendations agreed upon by You and the Dentist.

#### NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF ALASKA

#### **Reasonable and Customary Charges**

Reasonable and Customary Charges for Out-of-Network services will not be based less than an 80th percentile of the dental charges.

#### Reasonable Access to an In-Network Dentist

If You do not have an In-Network Dentist within 50 miles of Your legal residence, We will reimburse You for the cost of Covered Services and materials provided by an Out-of-Network Dentist at the same benefit level as an In-Network Dentist.

#### **Exclusions**

The exclusion of services which are primarily cosmetic will not apply to the treatment or correction of a congenital defect of a newborn child.

#### Coordination of Benefits or Non-Duplication of Benefits with a Secondary Plan:

If This Plan is Secondary, This Plan will determine benefits as if the services were obtained from This Plan's In-Network provider under the following circumstances:

- the Primary Plan does not provide benefits through a provider network;
- both the Primary Plan and This Plan provide benefits through provider networks but the covered person obtains services through a provider in the Primary plan's network who is not in This Plan's network; or
- both the Primary Plan and This Plan provide benefits through provider networks but the covered person
  obtains services from a provider that is not part of the provider network of the Primary Plan or This Plan
  because no provider in the Primary Plan's provider network or This Plan's network is able to meet the
  particular health need of the covered person.

#### **Procedures For Dental Claims**

## **Procedures for Presenting Claims for Dental Insurance Benefits**

All claim forms needed to file for Dental Insurance benefits under the group insurance program can be obtained from the Employer who can also answer questions about the insurance benefits and to assist You or, if applicable, Your beneficiary in filing claims. Dental claim forms can also be downloaded from www.metlife.com/dental. The instructions on the claim form should be followed carefully. This will expedite the processing of the claim. Be sure all questions are answered fully.

#### **Routine Questions on Dental Insurance Claims**

If there is any question about a claim payment, an explanation may be requested from MetLife by dialing 1-800-942-0854.

#### **Claim Submission**

For claims for Dental Insurance benefits, the claimant must complete the appropriate claim form and submit the required proof as described in the FILING A CLAIM section of the certificate.

Claim forms must be submitted in accordance with the instructions on the claim form.

#### **Procedures For Dental Claims (Continued)**

#### **Initial Determination**

After You submit a claim for Dental Insurance benefits to MetLife, MetLife will review Your claim and notify You of its decision to approve or deny Your claim.

For claims that require Utilization Review determinations, such notification will be provided in accordance with the provisions under "Prospective and Retrospective Utilization Review Determinations" below.

For claims that do not require Utilization Review determination, such notification will be provided to You within a 30 day period from the date You submitted Your claim; except for situations requiring an extension of time of up to 15 days because of matters beyond the control of MetLife. If MetLife needs such an extension, MetLife will notify You prior to the expiration of the initial 30 day period, state the reason why the extension is needed, and state when it will make its determination. If an extension is needed because You did not provide sufficient information or filed an incomplete claim, the time from the date of MetLife's notice requesting further information and an extension until MetLife receives the requested information does not count toward the time period MetLife is allowed to notify You as to its claim decision. You will have 45 days to provide the requested information from the date You receive the notice requesting further information from MetLife.

If MetLife denies Your claim in whole or in part, the notification of the claims decision will state the reason why Your claim was denied and reference the specific Plan provision(s) on which the denial is based. If the claim is denied because MetLife did not receive sufficient information, the claims decision will describe the additional information needed and explain why such information is needed. Further, if an internal rule, protocol, guideline or other criterion was relied upon in making the denial, the claims decision will state the rule, protocol, guideline or other criteria or indicate that such rule, protocol, guideline or other criteria was relied upon and that You may request a copy free of charge.

Within 30 days after We receive Proof of Your claim, We will approve and pay the claim or We will deny the claim. If We deny the claim, We will provide You with the basis of Our denial or the specific additional information that We need to adjudicate Your claim. If We request additional information, We will approve and pay the claim or We will deny the claim within 15 days after We receive the additional information. If the claim is approved and not paid within the time period provided, the claim will accrue at an interest rate of 15 percent per year until the claim is paid.

#### **Appealing the Initial Determination**

If MetLife denies Your claim, You may take two appeals of the initial determination. Upon Your Written request, MetLife will provide You free of charge with copies of documents, records and other information relevant to Your claim. You must submit Your appeal to MetLife at the address indicated on the claim form within 180 days of receiving MetLife's decision. Appeals must be in Writing and must include at least the following information:

- Name of employee
- Name of the Plan
- Reference to the initial decision
- Whether the appeal is the first or second appeal of the initial determination
- An explanation why You are appealing the initial determination

As part of each appeal, You may submit any Written comments, documents, records, or other information relating to Your claim.

## **Procedures For Dental Claims (Continued)**

After MetLife receives Your Written request appealing the initial determination or determination on the first appeal, MetLife will conduct a full and fair review of Your claim. Deference will not be given to initial denials, and MetLife's review will look at the claim anew. The review on appeal will take into account all comments, documents, records, and other information that You submit relating to Your claim without regard to whether such information was submitted or considered in the initial determination. The person who will review Your appeal will not be the same person as the person who made the initial decision to deny Your claim. In addition, the person who is reviewing the appeal will not be a subordinate of the person who made the initial decision to deny Your claim. If the initial denial is based in whole or in part on a medical judgment, MetLife will consult with a health care professional with appropriate training and experience in the field of dentistry involved in the judgment. This health care professional will not have consulted on the initial determination, and will not be a subordinate of any person who was consulted on the initial determination.

MetLife will notify You in Writing of its final decision within 30 days after MetLife's receipt of Your Written request for review, except that under special circumstances MetLife may have up to an additional 30 days to provide Written notification of the final decision. If such an extension is required, MetLife will notify You prior to the expiration of the initial 30 day period, state the reason(s) why such an extension is needed, and state when it will make its determination.

If MetLife denies the claim on appeal, MetLife will send You a final Written decision that states the reason(s) why the claim You appealed is being denied and references any specific Plan provision(s) on which the denial is based. If an internal rule, protocol, guideline or other criterion was relied upon in denying the claim on appeal, the final Written decision will state the rule, protocol, guideline or other criteria or indicate that such rule, protocol, guideline or other criteria was relied upon and that You may request a copy free of charge. Upon Written request, MetLife will provide You free of charge with copies of documents, records and other information relevant to Your claim.

#### **Prospective and Retrospective Utilization Review Determinations**

#### **Utilization Review-MetLife Consultant Review Manual**

The MetLife Dental Consultant Claim Review Manual was established and the criteria therein are updated with input of licensed practicing dentists. The Dental Consultant Claim Review Manual and the guidelines, practices and procedures contained therein are reviewed on an annual basis.

## **Licensure and Compensation Requirements**

No MetLife dental consultant will be paid bonuses or incentive compensation for making Adverse Determinations. No financial incentives may be based on the number of approvals or denials made by a consultant. All prospective initial Adverse Determinations shall be made and documented by a licensed practitioner.

## **Initial Determinations-Prospective Review (Pretreatment Estimate)**

All initial Prospective Reviews (Pretreatment Estimates) of non-emergency course of treatments for a patient will be made within five (5) working days after the receipt of all information necessary to make the determination. The consultant shall call the treating provider immediately to notify them of the decision. If the consultant does not have sufficient information to make the determination, within five (5) working days the treating provider must be notified.

#### **Prospective Adverse Review-Notification Requirements**

We shall make all initial Prospective Reviews (Pretreatment Estimates) of non-emergency course of treatments for a patient within five (5) working days after receipt of the information necessary to make the determination.

Notification of a prospective Adverse Determination made by a consultant shall be mailed or otherwise communicated to You, Your Authorized Representative and treating provider of record within five (5) working days of receipt of all information necessary to complete a review of non-urgent and/or non-emergent services, or at any time prior to the expected date of service if the proposed date is farther away than five (5) working days. This notification may be preceded by an oral communication given to You, Your Authorized Representative or provider.

The notification of a prospective Adverse Determination shall contain:

- The principal reason for the prospective Adverse Determination, including specific criteria and standards used to make the determination.
- The factual basis for the adverse decision in clear, understandable language.
- The procedures to initiate an appeal of the prospective Adverse Determination.
- The Written details of Our internal Grievance process and procedures.
- The telephone number and address of the MetLife unit to contact regarding the appeal, and
- The Director's address, telephone number, and facsimile number
- The notification will be provided in a culturally and linguistically appropriate manner.

#### Retrospective Adverse Review-Guideline Requirements

All recommendations based on a determination that a previously completed dental service ordered by a practitioner was not Dentally Necessary, or that an alternative treatment existed, will be made according to the guidelines contained in the MetLife Dental Consultant Review Manual and must be signed by an appropriately qualified and licensed practitioner. These guidelines shall be used to aid the application of the consultant's professional judgment, experience and knowledge in reaching an appropriate recommendation.

If a course of treatment has been preauthorized or approved for a patient, We will not revise or modify the specific criteria or standards used for the Utilization Review to make an adverse decision regarding the services delivered to that patient.

## **Retrospective Adverse Review-Notification Requirements**

Notice of a retrospective Adverse Determination shall be mailed or otherwise communicated to You, Your Authorized Representative and Your provider within thirty (30) calendar days of receipt of a request for payment with all necessary documentation.

Notice of a retrospective Adverse Determination will:

- Provide Written documentation that the retrospective Adverse Determination was based on a lack of Dental Necessity or the existence of an alternative treatment,
- Contain the factual basis for the adverse decision in clear, understandable language.
- Include the reference the specific criteria and standards upon which the decision was based
- The telephone number and business address of the MetLife unit to contact regarding the appeal, and allow a reasonable period of time in which to appeal
- Contain a statement that You, Your Authorized Representative or health care provider has the right to file a complaint with the Director within 180 days of receipt of Our Grievance decision.
- State the Director's address, telephone number, and facsimile number
- Contain Written details of Our internal Grievance process.
- The notification will be provided in a culturally and linguistically appropriate manner.

## Adverse Determinations-Urgent Care Claims (Expedited Dental Review)

All requests for prospective Urgent Care Claims which result in an Adverse Determination will be conducted in within 24 hours of receipt of all necessary information to complete the review:

- A MetLife dental consultant will call You, Your Authorized Representative or treating provider of the Adverse Determination and:
- mail to You, Your Authorized Representative and treating provider the Adverse Determinations in Writing with an explanation of the reasons for the decision and documents on which the decision was based within 24 hours. This notification must include:
- The principal reason for the prospective Adverse Determination, including specific criteria and standards used to make the determination.

The factual basis for the adverse decision in clear, understandable language.

- The procedures to initiate an appeal of the prospective Adverse Determination.
- The telephone number and address of the unit to contact regarding the appeal, and
- A statement that You, Your Authorized Representative or health provider has the right to file a complaint with the Director within 180 days of receipt of Our Grievance decision.
- The notification will be provided in a culturally and linguistically appropriate manner.

#### **Grievance Review of Adverse Determinations**

A Grievance may be requested for both Prospective Adverse Determinations and Retrospective Adverse Determinations. You, Your Authorized Representative or the provider may request a formal appeal of a Prospective Adverse Determination within 180 days of the date the requested service was denied.

For non-emergency cases, if We do not have sufficient information to complete our process, within five (5) working days, We shall:

- Notify You, Your Authorized Representative or health care provider that We cannot proceed with our review until additional information is received.
- We will assist You, Your Authorized Representative, or health care provider in gathering the information without delay.

#### **Expedited Dental Review**

Expedited dental review only applies to Prospective Adverse Determinations. The treating provider must certify in Writing and provide supporting documentation that the time required to process the requested dental service through informal reconsideration and formal appeal is likely to cause significant negative change in the dental condition of the covered person. All requests for expedited dental review will be forwarded to the MetLife Dental Consultant Review area. A dental consultant shall ensure that the dental services have not yet been performed and review any supporting documentation. The consultant will then contact the treating provider regarding the request, and return an expedited decision within 24 hours.

Dental consultants shall call Your treating provider should the supporting documentation be incomplete. The consultant should inform Your treating provider as to what is necessary to give the claim a full and complete review. Once the information is complete, the consultant shall orally inform Your treating provider of the decision within 24 hours.

#### **Grievance Procedure**

A Written description of the Grievance procedure, by which You, Your Authorized Representative or provider of record may seek review of Adverse Determinations, shall be made available:

- On the reverse side of the Explanation of Benefits (EOB) document.
- Upon request from You, Your Authorized Representative or Your health provider.

#### **New Reviewer Requirement**

No consultant who has participated in prior reviews of a decision being appealed may make a recommendation that a first level appeal be denied.

#### **Notification of Decision of Grievance**

Notice of the decision regarding a Grievance shall be mailed to You, Your Authorized Representative and provider within 30 working days after the date the Grievance was filed.

In addition, the notice shall contain the following:

- The principal reason for the Adverse Determination, including specific criteria and standards used to make the determination.
- The factual basis for the adverse decision in clear, understandable language.
- The procedures to initiate an appeal of the Adverse Determination.
- The telephone number and address of the person to contact regarding the appeal, and
- A statement that You, Your Authorized Representative or health provider on Your behalf has the right to file a complaint with the Director within 180 days of receipt of Our Grievance decision.
- The Director's address, telephone number, and facsimile number
- The notification will be provided in a culturally and linguistically appropriate manner.

#### **Notification of Right to External Review**

#### **Availability of External Review**

If We deny Your request for the payment of dental course of treatment, You, Your Authorized Representative or provider have the option to request an External Review of any recommendation of an appeal within 180 days after the date of receipt of a Grievance decision.

You may have the right to have Our decision reviewed by health care professionals who have no association with Us if Our decision involved making a judgment as to the Dental Necessity, appropriateness, health care setting, level of care, or effectiveness of the dental service or treatment You requested by submitting a request for External Review to:

The Director of the Alaska Division of Insurance Alaska Division of Insurance 550 West 7th Avenue Anchorage, AK 99501-3567, or by electronic mail to insurance@alaska.gov, or by facsimile transmission by calling (907) 269-7910.

#### **External Appeal-Effect**

If the Independent Review Organization decides We should pay the claim, We will pay the claim.

#### **Overpayments**

#### **Recovery of Overpayments**

We have the right to recover any amount that is determined to be an overpayment, within 180 days from the date of service, whether for services received by You or Your Dependents.

An overpayment occurs if it is determined that:

- the total amount paid by Us on a claim for Dental Insurance benefits is more than the total of the benefits due to You under this certificate; or
- payment We made should have been made by another group plan.

If such overpayment occurs, You have an obligation to reimburse Us.

## **Overpayments (Continued)**

## **How We Recover Overpayments**

We may recover the overpayment, within 180 days from the date of service, from You by:

- stopping or reducing any future benefits payable for Dental Insurance;
- demanding an immediate refund of the overpayment from You; and
- taking legal action.

If the overpayment results from Our having made a payment to You that should have been made under another group plan, We may recover such overpayment within 180 days from the date of service, from one or more of the following:

- any other insurance company;
- any other organization; or
- any person to or for whom payment was made.

## **NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF ARKANSAS**

If You have a question concerning Your coverage or a claim, first contact the Policyholder or group account administrator. If, after doing so, You still have a concern, You may call the toll free telephone number shown on the Certificate Face Page.

If You are still concerned after contacting both the Policyholder and MetLife, You should feel free to contact:

Arkansas Insurance Department
Consumer Services Division
1200 West Third Street
Little Rock, Arkansas 72201
(501) 371-2640 or (800) 852-5494

#### NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF CALIFORNIA

**IMPORTANT NOTICE** 

TO OBTAIN ADDITIONAL INFORMATION, OR TO MAKE A COMPLAINT, CONTACT THE POLICYHOLDER OR METLIFE AT:

METROPOLITAN LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY ATTN: CONSUMER RELATIONS DEPARTMENT 500 SCHOOLHOUSE ROAD JOHNSTOWN, PA 15904

1-855-676-9441

IF, AFTER CONTACTING THE POLICYHOLDER AND/OR METLIFE, YOU FEEL THAT A SATISFACTORY SOLUTION HAS NOT BEEN REACHED, YOU MAY FILE A COMPLAINT WITH THE CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE DEPARTMENT AT:

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE CONSUMER SERVICES 300 SOUTH SPRING STREET LOS ANGELES, CA 90013

WEBSITE: http://www.insurance.ca.gov/

1-800-927-4357 (within California) 1-213-897-8921 (outside California)

#### NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

California law provides that for dental insurance, domestic partners of California's residents must be treated the same as spouses. If the certificate does not already have a definition of domestic partner, then the following definition applies:

"Domestic Partner means each of two people, one of whom is an employee of the Policyholder, a resident of California and who have registered as domestic partners or members of a civil union with the California government or another government recognized by California as having similar requirements."

If the certificate already has a definition of domestic partner, that definition will apply to California residents, as long as it recognizes as a domestic partner any person registered as the employee's domestic partner with the California government or another government recognized by California as having similar requirements.

Wherever the term **"Spouse"** appears in this certificate it shall, unless otherwise specified, be read to include Your Domestic Partner.

Wherever the term step-child appears, it is replaced by step-child or child of Your Domestic Partner.

## NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF GEORGIA

## **IMPORTANT NOTICE**

The laws of the state of Georgia prohibit insurers from unfairly discriminating against any person based upon his or her status as a victim of family violence.

## NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF IDAHO

If You have a question concerning Your coverage or a claim, first contact the Policyholder. If, after doing so, You still have a concern, You may call the toll free telephone number shown on the Certificate Face Page.

If You are still concerned after contacting both the Policyholder and MetLife, You should feel free to contact:

Idaho Department of Insurance
Consumer Affairs
700 West State Street, 3<sup>rd</sup> Floor
PO Box 83720
Boise, Idaho 83720-0043

1-800-721-3272 (for calls placed within Idaho) or 208-334-4250 or www.DOI.Idaho.gov

## **NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF ILLINOIS**

## **IMPORTANT NOTICE**

To make a complaint to MetLife, You may write to:

MetLife 200 Park Avenue New York, New York 10166

The address of the Illinois Department of Insurance is:

Illinois Department of Insurance Public Services Division Springfield, Illinois 62767

## NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF INDIANA

Questions regarding your policy or coverage should be directed to:

## Metropolitan Life Insurance Company 1-855-676-9441

If you (a) need the assistance of the government agency that regulates insurance; or (b) have a complaint you have been unable to resolve with your insurer you may contact the Department of Insurance by mail, telephone or email:

State of Indiana Department of Insurance Consumer Services Division 311 West Washington Street, Suite 300 Indianapolis, Indiana 46204

Consumer Hotline: (800) 622-4461; (317) 232-2395

Complaint can be filed electronically at www.in.gov/idoi

#### NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF MAINE

You have the right to designate a third party to receive notice if Your insurance is in danger of lapsing due to a default on Your part, such as for nonpayment of a contribution that is due. The intent is to allow reinstatements where the default is due to the insured person's suffering from cognitive impairment or functional incapacity. You may make this designation by completing a "Third-Party Notice Request Form" and sending it to MetLife. Once You have made a designation, You may cancel or change it by filling out a new Third-Party Notice Request Form and sending it to MetLife. The designation will be effective as of the date MetLife receives the form. Call MetLife at the toll-free telephone number shown on the face page of this certificate to obtain a Third-Party Notice Request Form. Within 90 days after cancellation of coverage for nonpayment of premium, You, any person authorized to act on Your behalf, or any covered Dependent may request reinstatement of the certificate on the basis that You suffered from cognitive impairment or functional incapacity at the time of cancellation.

#### NOTICE FOR MASSACHUSETTS RESIDENTS

#### **CONTINUATION OF DENTAL INSURANCE**

- 1. If Your Dental Insurance ends due to a Plant Closing or Covered Partial Closing, such insurance will be continued for 90 days after the date it ends.
- 2. If Your Dental Insurance ends because:
  - You cease to be in an Eligible Class; or
  - Your employment terminates;

for any reason other than a Plant Closing or Covered Partial Closing, such insurance will continue for 31 days after the date it ends.

Continuation of Your Dental Insurance under the CONTINUATION OF INSURANCE WITH PREMIUM PAYMENT subsection will end before the end of continuation periods shown above if You become covered for similar benefits under another plan.

**Plant Closing** and **Covered Partial Closing** have the meaning set forth in Massachusetts Annotated Laws, Chapter 151A, Section 71A.

#### CONTINUATION OF DENTAL INSURANCE FOR YOUR FORMER SPOUSE

If the judgment of divorce dissolving Your marriage provides for continuation of insurance for Your former Spouse when You remarry, Dental Insurance for Your former Spouse that would otherwise end may be continued.

To continue Dental insurance under this provision:

- 1. You must make a written request to the employer to continue such insurance;
- 2. You must make any required premium to the employer for the cost of such insurance.

The request form will be furnished by the Employer.

Such insurance may be continued from the date Your marriage is dissolved until the earliest of the following:

- the date Your former Spouse remarries;
- the date of expiration of the period of time specified in the divorce judgment during which You are required to provide Dental Insurance for Your former Spouse;
- the date coverage is provided under any other group health plan;
- the date Your former Spouse becomes entitled to Medicare;
- the date Dental Insurance under the policy ends for all active employees, or for the class of active employees to which You belonged before Your employment terminated;
- the date of expiration of the last period for which the required premium payment was made; or
- the date such insurance would otherwise terminate under the policy.

If Your former Spouse is eligible to continue Dental Insurance under this provision and any other provision of this Policy, all such continuation periods will be deemed to run concurrently with each other and shall not be deemed to run consecutively.

#### NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF MISSISSIPPI

#### **DENTAL INSURANCE: PROCEDURES FOR DENTAL CLAIMS**

#### **Procedures for Presenting Claims for Dental Insurance Benefits**

All claim forms needed to file for Dental Insurance benefits under the group insurance program can be obtained from the Employer who can also answer questions about the insurance benefits and to assist You or, if applicable, Your beneficiary in filing claims. Dental claim forms can also be downloaded from <a href="https://www.metlife.com/dental">www.metlife.com/dental</a>. The instructions on the claim form should be followed carefully. This will expedite the processing of the claim. Be sure all questions are answered fully.

#### **Routine Questions on Dental Insurance Claims**

If there is any question about a claim payment, an explanation may be requested from MetLife by dialing 1-855-676-9441.

#### **Claim Submission**

For claims for Dental Insurance benefits, the claimant must complete the appropriate claim form and submit the required proof as described in the FILING A CLAIM section of the certificate.

Claim forms must be submitted in accordance with the instructions on the claim form.

#### **Initial Determination**

After You submit a claim for Dental Insurance benefits to MetLife, MetLife will review Your claim and notify You of its decision to approve or deny Your claim.

If Your claim is a Clean Claim and it is approved by MetLife, benefits will be paid within 25 days after MetLife receives due written proof in electronic form of a covered loss, or within 35 days after receipt of due written proof in paper form of a covered loss. Due written proof includes, but is not limited to, information essential for Us to administer coordination of benefits.

#### "Clean Claim" means a claim that:

- does not require further information, adjustment or alteration by You or the provider of the services in order for MetLife to process and pay it;
- does not have any defects;
- does not have any impropriety, including any lack of supporting documentation; and
- does not involve a particular circumstance required special treatment that substantially prevents timely payments from being made on the claim.

A Clean Claim does not include a claim submitted by a provider more than 30 days after the date of service, or if the provider does not submit the claim on Your behalf, a claim submitted more than 30 days after the date the provider bills You.

If MetLife is unable to pay a claim for Dental Insurance benefits because MetLife needs additional information or documentation, or there is a particular circumstance requiring special treatment, within 25 days after the date MetLife receives the claim if it is submitted in electronic form, or within 35 days after the date MetLife receives the claim if it is submitted in paper form, MetLife will send You notice of what supporting documentation or information MetLife needs. Any claim or portion of a claim for Dental Insurance benefits that is resubmitted with all of the supporting documentation requested in Our notice and becomes payable will be paid to You within 20 days after MetLife receives it.

## **NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF MISSISSIPPI (continued)**

#### Clean Claim (Continued)

If MetLife does not deny payment of such benefits to You by the end of the 25 day period for clean claims submitted in electronic form, or 35 day period for clean claims submitted in paper form, and such benefits remain due and payable to You, interest will accrue on the amount of such benefits at the rate of 1½ percent per month until such benefits are finally settled. If MetLife does not pay benefits to You when due and payable, You may bring action to recover such benefits, any interest which has accrued with respect to such benefits and any other damages which may be allowed by law. MetLife will pay benefits when MetLife receives satisfactory Written proof of Your claim.

Proof must be given to MetLife not later than 90 days after the end of the Dental Expense Period in which the Covered Dental Expenses were incurred. If proof is not given on time, the delay will not cause a claim to be denied or reduced as long as the proof is given as soon as possible.

#### **Appealing the Initial Determination**

If MetLife denies Your claim, You may take two appeals of the initial determination. Upon Your written request, MetLife will provide You free of charge with copies of documents, records and other information relevant to Your claim. You must submit Your appeal to MetLife at the address indicated on the claim form within 180 days of receiving MetLife's decision. Appeals must be in writing and must include at least the following information:

- Name of Employee
- Name of the Plan
- Reference to the initial decision
- Whether the appeal is the first or second appeal of the initial determination
- An explanation why You are appealing the initial determination.

As part of each appeal, You may submit any written comments, documents, records, or other information relating to Your claim.

After MetLife receives Your written request appealing the initial determination or determination on the first appeal, MetLife will conduct a full and fair review of Your claim. Deference will not be given to initial denials, and MetLife's review will look at the claim anew. The review on appeal will take into account all comments, documents, records, and other information that You submit relating to Your claim without regard to whether such information was submitted or considered in the initial determination. The person who will review Your appeal will not be the same person as the person who made the initial decision to deny Your claim. In addition, the person who is reviewing the appeal will not be a subordinate of the person who made the initial decision to deny Your claim. If the initial denial is based in whole or in part on a medical judgment, MetLife will consult with a health care professional with appropriate training and experience in the field of dentistry involved in the judgment. This health care professional will not have consulted on the initial determination, and will not be a subordinate of any person who was consulted on the initial determination.

MetLife will notify You in writing of its final decision within 30 days after MetLife's receipt of Your written request for review, except that under special circumstances MetLife may have up to an additional 30 days to provide written notification of the final decision. If such an extension is required, MetLife will notify You prior to the expiration of the initial 30 day period, state the reason(s) why such an extension is needed, and state when it will make its determination.

If MetLife denies the claim on appeal, MetLife will send You a final written decision that states the reason(s) why the claim You appealed is being denied and references any specific Plan provision(s) on which the denial is based. If an internal rule, protocol, guideline or other criterion was relied upon in denying the claim on appeal, the final written decision will state the rule, protocol, guideline or other criteria or indicate that such rule, protocol, guideline or other criteria was relied upon and that You may request a copy free of charge. Upon written request, MetLife will provide You free of charge with copies of documents, records and other information relevant to Your claim.

#### NOTICE FOR NEW HAMPSHIRE RESIDENTS

#### CONTINUATION OF YOUR DENTAL INSURANCE

If You are a resident of New Hampshire, Your Dental Insurance may be continued if it ends because Your employment ends unless:

- Your employment ends due to Your gross misconduct;
- this Dental Insurance ends for all employees;
- this Dental Insurance is changed to end Dental Insurance for the class of employees to which You belong;
- You are entitled to enroll in Medicare; or
- Your Dental Insurance ends because You failed to pay the required premium.

The Employer must give You written notice of:

- Your right to continue Your Dental Insurance;
- the amount of premium payment that is required to continue Your Dental Insurance;
- the manner in which You must request to continue Your Dental Insurance and pay premiums; and
- the date by which premium payments will be due.

The premium that You must pay for Your continued Dental Insurance may include:

- any amount that You contributed for Your Dental Insurance before it ended;
- any amount the Employer paid; and
- an administrative charge which will not to exceed two percent of the rest of the premium.

To continue Your Dental Insurance, You must:

- send a written request to continue Your Dental Insurance; and
- pay the first premium within 30 days after the date Your employment ends.

The maximum continuation period will be the longest of:

- 36 months if Your employment ends because You retire, and within 12 months of retirement You have a substantial loss of coverage because the employer files for bankruptcy protection under Title 11 of the United States Code:
- 29 months if You become entitled to disability benefits under Social Security within 60 days of the date Your Employment ends; or
- 18 months.

Your continued Dental Insurance will end on the earliest of the following to occur:

- the end of the maximum continuation period;
- the date this Dental Insurance ends:
- the date this Dental Insurance is changed to end Dental Insurance for the class of employees to which You belong;
- the date You are entitled to enroll for Medicare;
- if You do not pay the required premium to continue Your Dental Insurance; or
- the date You become eligible for coverage under any other group Dental coverage.

## **NOTICE FOR NEW HAMPSHIRE RESIDENTS (continued)**

#### CONTINUATION OF YOUR DEPENDENT'S DENTAL INSURANCE

If You are a resident of New Hampshire, Your Dental Insurance for Your Dependents may be continued if it ends because Your employment ends, Your marriage ends in divorce or separation, or You die, unless:

- Your employment ends due to Your gross misconduct;
- this Dental Insurance ends for all Dependents;
- this Dental Insurance is changed, for the class of employees to which You belong, to end Dental Insurance for Dependents;
- · the Dependent is entitled to enroll in Medicare; or
- Your Dental Insurance for Your Dependents ends because You fail to pay a required premium.

If Dental Insurance for Your Dependents ends because Your marriage ends in divorce or separation, the party responsible under the divorce decree or separation agreement for payment of premium for continued Dental Insurance must notify the employer, in writing, within 30 days of the date of the divorce decree or separation agreement that the divorce or separation has occurred. If You and Your divorced or separated Spouse share responsibility for payment of the premium for continued Dental Insurance, both You and Your divorced or separated Spouse must provide the notification.

The Employer must give You, or Your former Spouse if You have died or Your marriage has ended, written notice of:

- Your right to continue Your Dental Insurance for Your Dependents;
- the amount of premium payment that is required to continue Your Dental Insurance for Your Dependents;
- the manner in which You or Your former Spouse must request to continue Your Dental Insurance for Your Dependents and pay premiums; and
- the date by which premium payments will be due.

The premium that You or Your former Spouse must pay for continued Dental Insurance for Your Dependents may include:

- any amount that You contributed for Your Dental Insurance before it ended; and
- any amount the Employer paid.

To continue Dental Insurance for Your Dependents, You or Your former Spouse must:

- send a written request to continue Dental Insurance for Your Dependents: and
- must pay the first premium within 30 days of the date Dental Insurance for Your Dependents ends.

If You, and Your former Spouse, if applicable, fail to provide any required notification, or fail to request to continue Dental Insurance for Your Dependents and pay the first premium within the time limits stated in this section, Your right to continue Dental Insurance for Your Dependents will end.

## **NOTICE FOR NEW HAMPSHIRE RESIDENTS (continued)**

#### **CONTINUATION OF YOUR DEPENDENT'S DENTAL INSURANCE (Continued)**

The maximum continuation period will be the longest of the following that applies:

- 36 months if Dental Insurance for Your Dependents ends because Your marriage ends in divorce or separation, except that with respect to a Spouse who is age 55 or older when your marriage ends in divorce or separation the maximum continuation period will end when the divorced or separated Spouse becomes eligible for Medicare or eligible for participation in another employer's group plan;
- 36 months if Dental Insurance for Your Dependents ends because You die, except that with respect to a
  Spouse who is age 55 or older when You die, the maximum continuation period will end when Your
  surviving Spouse becomes eligible for Medicare or eligible for participation in another employer's group
  dental coverage;
- 36 months if Dental Insurance for Your Dependents ends because You become entitled to benefits under Title XVIII of Social Security, except that with respect to a Spouse who is age 55 or older when You become entitled to benefits under Title XVIII of Social Security, the maximum continuation period will end when the divorced or separated Spouse becomes eligible for Medicare or eligible for participation in another employer's group dental coverage;
- 36 months if You become entitled to benefits under Title XVIII of Social Security while You are already
  receiving continued benefits under this section, except that with respect to a Spouse who is age 55 or
  older when You first become entitled to continue Your Dental Insurance the maximum continuation period
  will end when the divorced or separated Spouse becomes eligible for Medicare or eligible for participation
  in another employer's group dental coverage;
- 36 months with respect to a Dependent Child if Dental Insurance ends because the Child ceases to be a Dependent Child;
- 36 months if Your employment ends because You retire, and within 12 months of retirement You have a substantial loss of coverage because the employer files for bankruptcy protection under Title 11 of the United States Code;
- 29 months if Dental Insurance for Your Dependents ends because Your employment ends, and within 60 days of the date Your employment ends you become entitled to disability benefits under Social Security;
- 18 months if Dental Insurance for Your Dependents ends because Your employment ends.

A Dependent's continued Dental Insurance will end on the earliest of the following to occur:

- the end of the maximum continuation period;
- the date this Dental Insurance ends:
- the date this Dental Insurance is changed to end Dental Insurance for Dependents for the class of employees to which You belong;
- the date the Dependent becomes entitled to enroll for Medicare;
- if You do not pay a required premium to continue Dental Insurance for Your Dependents; or
- the date the Dependent becomes eligible for coverage under any other group dental coverage.

#### NOTICE FOR NEW HAMPSHIRE RESIDENTS

The following service will be a Covered Service for New Hampshire residents whether or not general anesthesia or intravenous sedation is already specified elsewhere as covered:

General anesthesia or intravenous sedation in connection with oral surgery, extractions or other Covered Services, when

- the covered person is a Child under the age of 6 who is determined by a licensed Dentist in conjunction with a licensed Physician to have a dental condition of significant complexity which requires the Child to receive general anesthesia for the treatment of such condition;
- the covered person has exceptional medical circumstances or a developmental disability as determined by a licensed Physician which place the person at serious risk; or
- We determine such anesthesia is necessary in accordance with generally accepted dental standards.

#### NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF NEW MEXICO

## **Consumer Complaint Notice**

If You are a resident of New Mexico, Your coverage will be administered in accordance with the minimum applicable standards of New Mexico law. If You have concerns regarding a claim, premium, or other matters relating to this coverage, You may file a complaint with the New Mexico Office of Superintendent of Insurance (OSI) using the complaint form available on the OSI website and found at: https://www.osi.state.nm.us/ConsumerAssistance/index.aspx.

## NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF NEW MEXICO

The exclusion of diagnosis and treatment of temporomandibular joint disorders and cone beam imaging associated with the treatment of temporomandibular joint disorders will not apply.

The following is added to the description of Type C Covered Services:

"Oral surgical and non-surgical treatment of Temporomandibular Joint Disorder (TMJ) and craniomandibular disorder. This includes cone beam imaging, but cone beam imaging for such treatment will not be covered more than once for the same tooth position in a 60 month period."

#### NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF NORTH CAROLINA

UNDER NORTH CAROLINA GENERAL STATUTE SECTION 58-50-40, NO PERSON, EMPLOYER, PRINCIPAL, AGENT, TRUSTEE, OR THIRD PARTY ADMINISTRATOR, WHO IS RESPONSIBLE FOR THE PAYMENT OF GROUP HEALTH OR LIFE INSURANCE OR GROUP HEALTH PLAN PREMIUMS, SHALL:

- (1) CAUSE THE CANCELLATION OR NONRENEWAL OF GROUP HEALTH OR LIFE INSURANCE, HOSPITAL, MEDICAL, OR DENTAL SERVICE CORPORATION PLAN, MULTIPLE EMPLOYER WELFARE ARRANGEMENT, OR GROUP HEALTH PLAN COVERAGES AND THE CONSEQUENTIAL LOSS OF THE COVERAGES OF THE PERSONS INSURED, BY WILLFULLY FAILING TO PAY THOSE PREMIUMS IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE TERMS OF THE INSURANCE OR PLAN CONTRACT, AND
- (2) WILLFULLY FAIL TO DELIVER, AT LEAST 45 DAYS BEFORE THE TERMINATION OF THOSE COVERAGES, TO ALL PERSONS COVERED BY THE GROUP POLICY A WRITTEN NOTICE OF THE PERSON'S INTENTION TO STOP PAYMENT OF PREMIUMS. THIS WRITTEN NOTICE MUST ALSO CONTAIN A NOTICE TO ALL PERSONS COVERED BY THE GROUP POLICY OF THEIR RIGHTS TO HEALTH INSURANCE CONVERSION POLICIES UNDER ARTICLE 53 OF CHAPTER 58 OF THE GENERAL STATUTES AND THEIR RIGHTS TO PURCHASE INDIVIDUAL POLICIES UNDER THE FEDERAL HEALTH INSURANCE PORTABILITY AND ACCOUNTABILITY ACT AND UNDER ARTICLE 68 OF CHAPTER 58 OF THE GENERAL STATUTES.

VIOLATION OF THIS LAW IS A FELONY. ANY PERSON VIOLATING THIS LAW IS ALSO SUBJECT TO A COURT ORDER REQUIRING THE PERSON TO COMPENSATE PERSONS INSURED FOR EXPENSES OR LOSSES INCURRED AS A RESULT OF THE TERMINATION OF THE INSURANCE.

#### NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF PENNSYLVANIA

Dental Insurance for a Dependent Child may be continued past the age limit if that Child is a full-time student and insurance ends due to the Child being ordered to active duty (other than active duty for training) for 30 or more consecutive days as a member of the Pennsylvania National Guard or a Reserve Component of the Armed Forces of the United States.

Insurance will continue if such Child:

- re-enrolls as a full-time student at an accredited school, college or university that is licensed in the jurisdiction where it is located;
- re-enrolls for the first term or semester, beginning 60 or more days from the child's release from active duty;
- continues to qualify as a Child, except for the age limit; and
- submits the required Proof of the child's active duty in the National Guard or a Reserve Component of the United States Armed Forces.

Subject to the Date Insurance For Your Dependents Ends subsection of the section entitled ELIGIBILITY PROVISIONS: INSURANCE FOR YOUR DEPENDENTS, this continuation will continue until the earliest of the date:

- the insurance has been continued for a period of time equal to the duration of the child's service on active duty; or
- the child is no longer a full-time student.

## NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF TEXAS

THE INSURANCE POLICY UNDER WHICH THIS CERTIFICATE IS ISSUED IS NOT A POLICY OF WORKERS' COMPENSATION INSURANCE. YOU SHOULD CONSULT YOUR EMPLOYER TO DETERMINE WHETHER YOUR EMPLOYER IS A SUBSCRIBER TO THE WORKERS' COMPENSATION SYSTEM.

# **NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF TEXAS**

The exclusion of services which are primarily cosmetic will not apply to the treatment or correction of a congenital defect of a newborn child.

#### DENTAL INSURANCE: PROCEDURES FOR DENTAL CLAIMS

#### **NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF TEXAS**

If You reside in Texas, note the following Procedures for Dental Claims will be followed:

#### **Procedures for Presenting Claims for Dental Insurance Benefits**

All claim forms needed to file for Dental Insurance benefits under the group insurance program can be obtained from the Employer who can also answer questions about the insurance benefits and to assist You or, if applicable, Your beneficiary in filing claims. Dental claim forms can also be downloaded from <a href="https://www.metlife.com/dental">www.metlife.com/dental</a>. The instructions on the claim form should be followed carefully. This will expedite the processing of the claim. Be sure all questions are answered fully.

#### **Routine Questions on Dental Insurance Claims**

If there is any question about a claim payment, an explanation may be requested from MetLife by dialing 1-855-676-9441.

#### **Claim Submission**

For claims for Dental Insurance benefits, the claimant must complete the appropriate claim form and submit the required proof as described in the FILING A CLAIM section of the certificate.

Claim forms must be submitted in accordance with the instructions on the claim form.

#### **Initial Determination**

After You submit a claim for Dental Insurance benefits to MetLife, MetLife will notify You acknowledging receipt of Your claim, commence with any investigation, and request any additional information within 15 days of receipt of Your claim.

MetLife will notify You in writing of the acceptance or rejection of Your claim within 15 business days of receipt of all information needed to process Your claim.

If MetLife cannot accept or reject Your claim within 15 business days after receipt of all information, MetLife will notify You within 15 business days stating the reason why we require an extension. If an extension is requested, We will notify You of our decision to approve or deny Your claim within 45 days. Upon notification of approval, Your claim will be paid within 5 business days.

If MetLife denies Your claim in whole or in part, the notification of the claims decision will state the reason why Your claim was denied and reference the specific Plan provision(s) on which the denial is based. If the claim is denied because MetLife did not receive sufficient information, the claims decision will describe the additional information needed and explain why such information is needed. Further, if an internal rule, protocol, guideline or other criterion was relied upon in making the denial, the claims decision will state the rule, protocol, guideline or other criteria or indicate that such rule, protocol, guideline or other criteria was relied upon and that You may request a copy free of charge.

## **Appealing the Initial Determination**

If MetLife denies Your claim, You may take two appeals of the initial determination. Upon Your written request, MetLife will provide You free of charge with copies of documents, records and other information relevant to Your claim. You must submit Your appeal to MetLife at the address indicated on the claim form within 180 days of receiving MetLife's decision. Appeals must be in writing and must include at least the following information:

- Name of Employee;
- Name of the Plan;
- Reference to the initial decision;
- Whether the appeal is the first or second appeal of the initial determination;
- An explanation why You are appealing the initial determination.

## **DENTAL INSURANCE: PROCEDURES FOR DENTAL CLAIMS (continued)**

As part of each appeal, You may submit any written comments, documents, records, or other information relating to Your claim.

After MetLife receives Your written request appealing the initial determination or determination on the first appeal, MetLife will conduct a full and fair review of Your claim. Deference will not be given to initial denials, and MetLife's review will look at the claim anew. The review on appeal will take into account all comments, documents, records, and other information that You submit relating to Your claim without regard to whether such information was submitted or considered in the initial determination. The person who will review Your appeal will not be the same person as the person who made the initial decision to deny Your claim. In addition, the person who is reviewing the appeal will not be a subordinate of the person who made the initial decision to deny Your claim. If the initial denial is based in whole or in part on a medical judgment, MetLife will consult with a health care professional with appropriate training and experience in the field of dentistry involved in the judgment. This health care professional will not have consulted on the initial determination, and will not be a subordinate of any person who was consulted on the initial determination.

MetLife will notify You in writing of its final decision within 30 days after MetLife's receipt of Your written request for review, except that under special circumstances MetLife may have up to an additional 30 days to provide written notification of the final decision. If such an extension is required, MetLife will notify You prior to the expiration of the initial 30 day period, state the reason(s) why such an extension is needed, and state when it will make its determination.

If MetLife denies the claim on appeal, MetLife will send You a final written decision that states the reason(s) why the claim You appealed is being denied and references any specific Plan provision(s) on which the denial is based. If an internal rule, protocol, guideline or other criterion was relied upon in denying the claim on appeal, the final written decision will state the rule, protocol, guideline or other criteria or indicate that such rule, protocol, guideline or other criteria was relied upon and that You may request a copy free of charge. Upon written request, MetLife will provide You free of charge with copies of documents, records and other information relevant to Your claim.

## NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF UTAH

# Notice of Protection Provided by Utah Life and Health Insurance Guaranty Association

This notice provides a brief summary of the Utah Life and Health Insurance Guaranty Association ("the Association") and the protection it provides for policyholders. This safety net was created under Utah law, which determines who and what is covered and the amounts of coverage.

The Association was established to provide protection in the unlikely event that your life, health, or annuity insurance company becomes financially unable to meet its obligations and is taken over by its insurance regulatory agency. If this should happen, the Association will typically arrange to continue coverage and pay claims, in accordance with Utah law, with funding from assessments paid by other insurance companies.

The basic protections provided by the Association are:

- Life Insurance
  - o \$500.000 in death benefits
  - o \$200,000 in cash surrender or withdrawal values
- Health Insurance
  - o \$500,000 in hospital, medical and surgical insurance benefits
  - o \$500,000 in long-term care insurance benefits
  - o \$500,000 in disability income insurance benefits
  - o \$500,000 in other types of health insurance benefits
- Annuities
  - o \$250,000 in withdrawal and cash values

The maximum amount of protection for each individual, regardless of the number of policies or contracts, is \$500,000. Special rules may apply with regard to hospital, medical and surgical insurance benefits.

**Note:** Certain policies and contracts may not be covered or fully covered. For example, coverage does not extend to any portion of a policy or contract that the insurer does not guarantee, such as certain investment additions to the account value of a variable life insurance policy or a variable annuity contract. Coverage is conditioned on residency in this state and there are substantial limitations and exclusions. For a complete description of coverage, consult Utah Code, Title 3 IA, Chapter 28.

Insurance companies and agents are prohibited by Utah law to use the existence of the Association or its coverage to encourage you to purchase insurance. When selecting an insurance company, you should not rely on Association coverage. If there is any inconsistency between Utah law and this notice, Utah law will control.

To learn more about the above protections, as well as protections relating to group contracts or retirement plans, please visit the Association's website at www.utlifega.org or contact:

Utah Life and Health Insurance Guaranty Assoc. 60 East South Temple, Suite 500 Salt Lake City UT 84111 (801) 320-9955 Utah Insurance Department 3110 State Office Building Salt Lake City UT 84114-6901 (801) 538-3800

A written complaint about misuse of this Notice or the improper use of the existence of the Association may be filed with the Utah Insurance Department at the above address.

#### NOTICE TO RESIDENTS OF VIRGINIA

#### IMPORTANT INFORMATION REGARDING YOUR INSURANCE

In the event You need to contact someone about this insurance for any reason please contact Your agent. If no agent was involved in the sale of this insurance, or if You have additional questions You may contact the insurance company issuing this insurance at the following address and telephone number:

MetLife
200 Park Avenue
New York, New York 10166
Attn: Corporate Consumer Relations Department

To phone in a claim related question, You may call Claims Customer Service at: 1-800-275-4638

If You have any questions regarding an appeal or grievance concerning the dental services that You have been provided that have not been satisfactorily addressed by this Dental Insurance, You may contact the Virginia Office of the Managed Care Ombudsman for assistance.

The Office of the Managed Care Ombudsman
Bureau of Insurance
P.O. Box 1157
Richmond, VA 23218
1-877-310-6560 - toll-free
1-804-371-9944 - fax
www.scc.virginia.gov - web address
ombudsman@scc.virginia.gov - email

Or:

Office of Licensure and Certification
Division of Acute Care Services
Virginia Department of Health
9960 Mayland Drive
Suite 401
Henrico, Virginia 23233-1463
Phone number: 1-800-955-1819/ local: 804-367-2106

Fax: (804) 527-4503 MCHIP@vdh.virginia.gov

Written correspondence is preferable so that a record of Your inquiry is maintained. When contacting Your agent, company or the Bureau of Insurance, have Your policy number available.

## **DENTAL INSURANCE: PROCEDURES FOR DENTAL CLAIMS**

#### **Claim Submission**

For claims for Dental Insurance benefits, the claimant must complete the appropriate claim form and submit the required proof as described in the FILING A CLAIM section of the certificate.

Claim forms must be submitted in accordance with the instructions on the claim form.

## **Appealing the Initial Determination**

If MetLife denies Your claim, You may take two appeals of the initial determination. Upon your written request, MetLife will provide You free of charge with copies of documents, records and other information relevant to your claim. You must submit Your appeal to MetLife at the address indicated on the claim form within 180 days of receiving MetLife's decision. Appeals must be in writing and must include at least the following information:

# **NOTICE TO RESIDENTS OF VIRGINIA (continued)**

- Name of Employee;
- Name of the Plan:
- Reference to the initial decision:
- Whether the appeal is the first or second appeal of the initial determination;
- An explanation why You are appealing the initial determination.

As part of each appeal You may submit any written comments, documents, records or other information relating to Your claim.

After MetLife receives Your written request appealing the initial determination or determination on the first appeal, MetLife will conduct a full and fair review of Your claim. Deference will not be given to initial denials, and MetLife's review will look at the claim anew. The review on appeal will take into account all comments, documents, records, and other information that You submit relating to Your claim without regard to whether such information was submitted or considered in the initial determination. The person who will review Your appeal will not be the same person as the person who made the initial decision to deny Your claim. In addition, the person who is reviewing the appeal will not be a subordinate of the person who made the initial decision to deny Your claim. If the initial denial is based in whole or in part on a medical judgment, MetLife will consult with a health care professional with appropriate training and experience in the field of dentistry involved in the judgment. This health care professional will not have consulted on the initial determination, and will not be a subordinate of any person who was consulted on the initial determination.

MetLife will notify You in writing of its final determination within 30 days after MetLife's receipt of Your written request for review, except that under special circumstances MetLife may have up to an additional 30 days to provide written notification of the final decision. If such an extension is required, MetLife will notify You prior to the expiration of the 30 day period, state the reason(s) why an extension is needed, and state when it will make its determination.

If MetLife denies the claim on appeal, MetLife will send You a final written decision that states the reason(s) why the claim You appealed is being denied and references any specific Plan provision(s) on which the denial is based. If an internal rule, protocol, guideline or other criterion was relied upon in denying the claim on appeal, the final written decision will state the rule, protocol, guideline or other criteria or indicate that such rule, protocol, guideline or other criteria was relied upon and that You may request a copy free of charge. Upon written request, MetLife will provide You free of charge with copies of documents, records and other information relevant to Your claim.

#### Policies and Procedures for Emergency and Urgent Care

Urgent care and Emergency services: All member dentists of the MetLife Preferred Dentist Program (PDP) are required to have 24-hour emergency coverage or have alternate arrangements for emergency care for their patients. Since the MetLife Preferred Dentist Program is a freedom-of-choice PPO program, there is no primary care physician. No authorization of a service is necessary by a Primary Care Physician, nor is it necessary to obtain a pre-authorization of services. The patient is free to use the dentist of their choice.

An important distinction to be made for this section is the difference between Urgent Care in a dental situation versus that found in medical. Urgent care is defined more narrowly in dental to mean the alleviation of severe pain (as there are no life-threatening situations in dental). Additionally, the alleviation of pain in dental is a simple palliative treatment, which is not subject to claim review.

The benefit amount will be consistent with the terms contained in the insured's contract.

## **Urgent Care Submission:**

A small number of claims for dental expense benefits may be urgent care claims. Urgent care claims for dental expense benefits are claims for reimbursement of dental expenses for services which a dentist familiar with the dental condition determines would subject the patient to severe pain that cannot be adequately managed without the care or treatment that is the subject of the claim. Of course any such claim may always be submitted in accordance with the normal claim procedures. However your dentist may also submit such a claim to MetLife by telephoning MetLife and informing MetLife that the claim is an Urgent Care Claim. Urgent Care Claims are processed according to the procedures set out above, however once a claim for urgent care is submitted MetLife will notify you of the determination on the claim as soon as possible, but no later than 72 hours after the claim is filed. If you or your covered dependent does not provide the claims administrator with

# **NOTICE TO RESIDENTS OF VIRGINIA (continued)**

enough information to decide the claim, MetLife will notify you within 24 hours after it receives the claim of the further information that is needed. You will have 48 hours to provide the information. If the needed information is provided, MetLife will then notify you of the claim decision within 48 hours after MetLife received the information. If the needed information is not provided, MetLife will notify you or your covered dependent of its decision within 120 hours after the claim was received.

If your urgent care claim is denied but you receive the care, you may appeal the denial using the normal claim procedures. If your urgent care claim is denied and you do not receive the care, you can request an expedited appeal of your claim denial by phone or in writing. MetLife will provide you any necessary information to assist you in your appeal. MetLife will then notify you of its decision within 72 hours of your request in writing. However, MetLife may notify you by phone within the same time frames above and then mail you a written notice.

## NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF WISCONSIN

## **KEEP THIS NOTICE WITH YOUR INSURANCE PAPERS**

**PROBLEMS WITH YOUR INSURANCE?** - If You are having problems with Your insurance company or agent, do not hesitate to contact the insurance company or agent to resolve Your problem.

MetLife
Attn: Corporate Consumer Relations Department
200 Park Avenue
New York, New York 10166
1-855-676-9441

You can also contact the **OFFICE OF THE COMMISSIONER OF INSURANCE**, a state agency which enforces Wisconsin's insurance laws, and file a complaint. You can contact the **OFFICE OF THE COMMISSIONER OF INSURANCE** by contacting:

Office of the Commissioner of Insurance
Complaints Department
P.O. Box 7873
Madison, WI 53707-7873
1-800-236-8517 outside of Madison or 608-266-0103 in Madison.

# **TABLE OF CONTENTS**

Section	Page
CERTIFICATE FACE PAGE	1
NOTICES	3
SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS	45
DEFINITIONS	46
ELIGIBILITY PROVISIONS: INSURANCE FOR YOU	50
Eligible Classes	50
Date You Are Eligible for Insurance	50
Enrollment Process For Dental Insurance	50
Date Your Insurance Takes Effect	50
Date Your Insurance Ends	52
ELIGIBILITY PROVISIONS: INSURANCE FOR YOUR DEPENDENTS	53
Eligible Classes For Dependent Insurance	53
Date You Are Eligible For Dependent Insurance	53
Enrollment Process For Dependent Dental Insurance	53
Date Dental Insurance Takes Effect For Your Dependents	53
Date Your Insurance For Your Dependents Ends	55
SPECIAL RULES FOR GROUPS PREVIOUSLY COVERED UNDER OTHER GROUP DENTAL	
COVERAGE	56
CONTINUATION OF INSURANCE WITH PREMIUM PAYMENT	57
For Mentally or Physically Handicapped Children	57
For Family And Medical Leave	57
COBRA Continuation For Dental Insurance	57
At The Policyholder's Option	57
DENTAL INSURANCE	58
DENTAL INSURANCE: DESCRIPTION OF COVERED SERVICES	62
Type A Covered Services	62
Type B Covered Services	62
Type C Covered Services	63
Orthodontic Covered Services	64
DENTAL INSURANCE: EXCLUSIONS	65

# **TABLE OF CONTENTS (continued)**

Section	Page
DENTAL INSURANCE: COORDINATION OF BENEFITS	67
FILING A CLAIM	72
DENTAL INSURANCE: PROCEDURES FOR DENTAL CLAIMS	73
GENERAL PROVISIONS	75
Assignment	75
Dental Insurance: Who We Will Pay	75
Entire Contract	75
Incontestability: Statements Made by You	75
Conformity with Law	75
Overpayments	75

## **SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS**

This schedule shows the benefits that are available under the Group Policy. You and Your Dependents will only be insured for the benefits:

- for which You and Your Dependents become and remain eligible;
- which You elect, if subject to election; and
- which are in effect.

## **BENEFIT**

## **BENEFIT AMOUNT AND HIGHLIGHTS**

## **Dental Insurance For You and Your Dependents**

Covered Percentage for:	In-Network based on the Maximum Allowed Charge	Out-of-Network based on the Reasonable and Customary Charge
Type A Services	100%	100%
Type B Services	60%	60%
Type C Services	50%	50%
Orthodontic Covered Services	50%	50%
Deductibles for:		
Yearly Individual Deductible	\$25 for the following Covered Services Combined: Type B; Type C; excluding implants and implant services	\$25 for the following Covered Services Combined: Type B; Type C; excluding implants and implant services
Yearly Family Deductible	\$75 for the following Covered Services Combined: Type B; Type C; excluding implants and implant services	\$75 for the following Covered Services Combined: Type B; Type C; excluding implants and implant services
Maximum Benefit:		
Yearly Individual Maximum	\$1,500 for the following Covered Services: Type A; Type B; Type C	\$1,500 for the following Covered Services: Type A; Type B; Type C
Lifetime Individual Maximum Benefit Amount for Orthodontic	\$1,500	\$1,500

Benefits for Covered Services performed by an Out-of-Network Dentist for Emergency Dental Conditions will be paid as if the Covered Service had been performed by an In-Network Dentist. How the benefit is reimbursed is described in the form GCERT2000 den/classic.

Covered Services

#### **DEFINITIONS**

As used in this certificate, the terms listed below will have the meanings set forth below. When defined terms are used in this certificate, they will appear with initial capitalization. The plural use of a term defined in the singular will share the same meaning.

**Actively at Work or Active Work** means that You are performing all of the usual and customary duties of Your job. This must be done at:

- the Policyholder's place of business;
- an alternate place approved by the Policyholder; or
- a place to which the Policyholder's business requires You to travel.

You will be deemed to be Actively at Work during weekends or Policyholder approved vacations, holidays or business closures if You were Actively at Work on the last scheduled work day preceding such time off.

**Cast Restoration** means an inlay, onlay, or crown.

**Child** means the following: (for residents of Alaska, Louisiana, Minnesota, Montana, New Hampshire, New Mexico, Texas, Utah and Washington, the Child Definition is modified as explained in the Notice pages of this certificate - please consult the Notice)

Your natural or adopted child; Your stepchild (including the child of a Domestic Partner); or a child who resides with and is fully supported by You; or a foster child; who, in each case, is under age 26 and supported by You.

An adopted child includes a child placed in Your physical custody for purpose of adoption. If prior to completion of the legal adoption the child is removed from Your custody, the child's status as an adopted child will end.

A foster child includes a child who has been placed in Your physical custody as the appointed guardian or custodian as long as You have assumed the legal obligation for total or partial support of the foster child with the intent that the foster child reside with You on more than a temporary or short-term basis.

If You provide Us notice, a Child also includes a child for whom You must provide Dental Insurance due to a Qualified Medical Child Support Order as defined in the United States Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974 as amended.

For the purposes of determining who may become covered for insurance, the term does not include any person who:

- is on active duty in the military of any country or international authority; however, active duty for this
  purpose does not include weekend or summer training for the reserve forces of the United States,
  including the National Guard; or
- is insured under the Group Policy as an employee.

**Contributory Insurance** means insurance for which the Policyholder requires You to pay any part of the premium.

Contributory Insurance includes: Dental Insurance.

## Covered Percentage means:

- for a Covered Service performed by an In-Network Dentist, the percentage of the Maximum Allowed Charge that We will pay for such services after any required Deductible is satisfied; and
- for a Covered Service performed by an Out-of-Network Dentist, the percentage of the Reasonable and Customary Charge that We will pay for such services after any required Deductible is satisfied.

## **DEFINITIONS** (continued)

Covered Service means a dental service used to treat Your or Your Dependent's dental condition which is:

- prescribed or performed by a Dentist while such person is insured for Dental Insurance;
- Dentally Necessary to treat the condition; and
- described in the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS or DENTAL INSURANCE sections of this certificate.

**Deductible** means the amount a Covered Person must pay before We will pay for Covered Services.

**Dental Hygienist** means a person trained to:

- remove calcareous deposits and stains from the surfaces of teeth; and
- provide information on the prevention of oral disease.

**Dentally Necessary** means that a dental service or treatment is performed in accordance with generally accepted dental standards as determined by Us and is:

- necessary to treat decay, disease or injury of the teeth; or
- essential for the care of the teeth and supporting tissues of the teeth.

#### **Dentist** means:

- a person licensed to practice dentistry in the jurisdiction where such services are performed; or
- any other person whose services, according to applicable law, must be treated as Dentist's services for purposes of the Group Policy. Each such person must be licensed in the jurisdiction where the services are performed and must act within the scope of that license. The person must also be certified and/or registered if required by such jurisdiction.

For purposes of Dental Insurance, the term will include a Physician who performs a Covered Service.

**Dentures** means fixed partial dentures (bridgework), removable partial dentures and removable full dentures.

Dependent(s) means Your Spouse and/or Child.

**Domestic Partner** means each of two people, one of whom is an employee of the Policyholder, who:

- have registered as each other's domestic partner, civil union partner or reciprocal beneficiary with a government agency where such registration is available; or
- are of the same or opposite sex and have a mutually dependent relationship so that each has an
  insurable interest in the life of the other. Each person must be:
  - 1. 18 years of age or older;
  - 2. unmarried;
  - 3. the sole domestic partner of the other;
  - 4. sharing a primary residence with the other; and
  - 5. not related to the other in a manner that would bar their marriage in the jurisdiction in which they reside.

A Domestic Partner affidavit attesting to the existence of an insurable interest in one another's lives must be completed and Signed by the employee.

**Emergency Dental Condition** means a dental condition the onset of which is sudden, that manifests itself by symptoms of sufficient severity, including, but not limited to, bleeding, swelling or severe pain, that a prudent layperson, possessing an average knowledge of dentistry and health, could reasonably expect the absence of immediate dental attention to result in:

- placing the health of the person afflicted with such condition in serious jeopardy;
- serious impairment to such person's bodily functions;
- serious impairment or dysfunction of any bodily organ or part of such person; or
- serious disfigurement of such person.

## **DEFINITIONS** (continued)

**In-Network Dentist** means a Dentist who participates in the Preferred Dentist Program and has a contractual agreement with Us to accept the Maximum Allowed Charge as payment in full for a dental service.

### Maximum Allowed Charge means the lesser of:

- the amount charged by the Dentist; or
- the maximum amount which the In-Network Dentist has agreed with Us to accept as payment in full for the dental service.

Out-of-Network Dentist means a Dentist who does not participate in the Preferred Dentist Program.

#### Physician means:

- a person licensed to practice medicine in the jurisdiction where such services are performed; or
- any other person whose services, according to applicable law, must be treated as Physician's services for purposes of the Group Policy. Each such person must be licensed in the jurisdiction where he performs the service and must act within the scope of that license. He must also be certified and/or registered if required by such jurisdiction.

**Proof** means Written evidence satisfactory to Us that a person has satisfied the conditions and requirements for any benefit described in this certificate. When a claim is made for any benefit described in this certificate, Proof must establish:

- the nature and extent of the loss or condition;
- Our obligation to pay the claim; and
- the claimant's right to receive payment.

Proof must be provided at the claimant's expense.

## Reasonable and Customary Charge is the lowest of:

- the Dentist's actual charge for the services or supplies (or, if the provider of the service or supplies is not a Dentist, such other provider's actual charge for the services or supplies) (the 'Actual Charge'); or
- the usual charge by the Dentist or other provider of the services or supplies for the same or similar services or supplies (the 'Usual Charge'); or
- the usual charge of other Dentists or other providers in the same geographic area equal to the 70th percentile of charges as determined by MetLife based on charge information for the same or similar services or supplies maintained in MetLife's Reasonable and Customary Charge records (the 'Customary Charge'). Where MetLife determines that there is inadequate charge information maintained in MetLife's Reasonable and Customary Charge records for the geographic area in question, the Customary Charge will be determined based on actuarially sound principles.

An example of how the 70th percentile is calculated is to assume one hundred (100) charges for the same service are contained in MetLife's Reasonable and Customary charge records. These one hundred (100) charges would be sorted from lowest to highest charged amount and numbered 1 through 100. The 70th percentile of charges is the charge that is equal to the charge numbered 70.

**Signed** means any symbol or method executed or adopted by a person with the present intention to authenticate a record, which is on or transmitted by paper or electronic media which is acceptable to Us and consistent with applicable law.

## **DEFINITIONS**

**Spouse** means Your lawful spouse. Whenever the term 'Spouse" appears in the certificate it shall, unless otherwise specified, be read to include Your Domestic Partner.

For the purposes of determining who may become covered for insurance, the term does not include any person who:

- is on active duty in the military of any country or international authority; however, active duty for this
  purpose does not include weekend or summer training for the reserve forces of the United States,
  including the National Guard; or
- is insured under the Group Policy as an employee.

We, Us and Our mean MetLife.

**Written** or **Writing** means a record which is on or transmitted by paper or electronic media which is acceptable to Us and consistent with applicable law.

Year or Yearly, for Dental Insurance, means the 12 month period that begins January 1.

**You** and **Your** mean an employee who is insured under the Group Policy for the insurance described in this certificate.

## **ELIGIBILITY PROVISIONS: INSURANCE FOR YOU**

#### **ELIGIBLE CLASS(ES)**

All Actively at Work University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill employees in a permanent, probationary or time-limited position of the Policyholder working 20 hours or more per month who elect the Classic Dental Plan.

#### DATE YOU ARE ELIGIBLE FOR INSURANCE

You may only become eligible for the insurance available for Your eligible class as shown in the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS.

If You are in an eligible class on January 1, 2020, You will be eligible for the insurance described in this certificate on that date.

If You enter an eligible class after January 1, 2020, You will be eligible for insurance on the first day of the month following the date You enter that class.

#### **ENROLLMENT PROCESS FOR DENTAL INSURANCE**

If You are eligible for insurance, You may enroll for such insurance by completing the required form in Writing. If You enroll for Contributory Insurance, You must also give the Policyholder Written permission to deduct premiums from Your pay for such insurance. You will be notified by the Policyholder how much You will be required to contribute.

The Dental Insurance has a regular enrollment period established by the Policyholder. Subject to the rules of the Group Policy, You may enroll for Dental Insurance only when You are first eligible, during an annual enrollment period or if You have a Qualifying Event. You should contact the Policyholder for more information regarding the flexible benefits plan.

## DATE YOUR INSURANCE TAKES EFFECT

#### **Enrollment When First Eligible**

If You complete the enrollment process within 31 days of becoming eligible for insurance, such insurance will take effect on the date You become eligible, provided You are Actively at Work on that date.

If You are not Actively at Work on the date the insurance would otherwise take effect, the insurance will take effect on the day You resume Active Work.

#### If You Do Not Enroll When First Eligible

If You do not complete the enrollment process within 31 days of becoming eligible, You will not be able to enroll for insurance until the next annual enrollment period for Dental Insurance, as determined by the Policyholder, following the date You first become eligible. At that time You will be able to enroll for insurance for which You are then eligible.

## **Enrollment During an Annual Enrollment Period**

During any annual enrollment period as determined by the Policyholder, You may enroll for insurance for which You are eligible or choose a different option than the one for which You are currently enrolled. The changes to Your insurance made during an enrollment period will take effect on the first day of the calendar year following the enrollment period, if You are Actively at Work on that date.

If You are not Actively at Work on the date the insurance would otherwise take effect, insurance will take effect on the date You resume Active Work.

## **ELIGIBILITY PROVISIONS: INSURANCE FOR YOU (continued)**

## **Enrollment Due to a Qualifying Event**

You may enroll for insurance, for which You are eligible, or change the amount of Your insurance between annual enrollment periods only if You have a Qualifying Event.

If You have a Qualifying Event, You will have 30 days from the date of that change to make a request. This request must be consistent with the nature of the Qualifying Event. The insurance enrolled for, or changes to Your insurance made as a result of a Qualifying Event, will take effect on the first day of the month following the date of Your request, if You are Actively at Work on that date.

If You are not Actively at Work on the date the insurance would otherwise take effect, insurance will take effect on the day You resume Active Work.

## **Qualifying Event** includes:

- marriage;
- the birth, adoption or placement for adoption of a dependent child;
- · divorce, legal separation or annulment;
- the death of a dependent;
- a change in Your or Your dependent's employment status, such as beginning or ending employment, strike, lockout, taking or ending a leave of absence, changes in worksite or work schedule, if it causes You or Your dependent to gain or lose eligibility for group coverage;
- Your taking leave under the United States Family and Medical Leave Act;
- Your dependent's ceasing to qualify as a dependent under this insurance or under other group coverage;
- You previously did not enroll for Dental Insurance for You or Your dependent because You had other group coverage, but that coverage has ceased due to one or more of the following reasons:
  - 1. loss of eligibility for the other group coverage;
  - 2. termination of employer contributions for the other group coverage; or
  - 3. COBRA Continuation of the other group coverage was exhausted;
- a judgment, decree or order resulting from a divorce, legal separation, annulment or change in legal custody that requires either:
  - You to provide health coverage for Your child or dependent foster child; or
  - Your spouse, former spouse or other individual to provide coverage for Your child or foster child if that
    other person does in fact provide that coverage;
- You or Your dependent become entitled to Medicare or Medicaid coverage (other than coverage solely for pediatric vaccines);
- You or Your dependent lose entitlement to Medicare or Medicaid eligibility; or
- Your or Your dependent's loss of coverage under any group health coverage sponsored by a governmental or educational institution.

## **ELIGIBILITY PROVISIONS: INSURANCE FOR YOU (continued)**

## DATE YOUR INSURANCE ENDS

Your insurance will end on the earliest of:

- 1. the date the Group Policy ends;
- 2. the date insurance ends for Your class;
- 3. the end of the period for which the last premium has been paid for You;
- 4. the last day of the calendar month in which Your employment ends; Your employment will end if You cease to be Actively at Work in any eligible class, except as stated in the section entitled CONTINUATION OF INSURANCE WITH PREMIUM PAYMENT; or
- 5. the last day of the calendar month in which You retire in accordance with the Policyholder's retirement plan.

In certain cases insurance may be continued as stated in the section entitled CONTINUATION OF INSURANCE WITH PREMIUM PAYMENT.

## **ELIGIBILITY PROVISIONS: INSURANCE FOR YOUR DEPENDENTS**

## **ELIGIBLE CLASS(ES) FOR DEPENDENT INSURANCE**

All Actively at Work University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill employees in a permanent, probationary or time-limited position of the Policyholder working 20 hours or more per month who elect the Classic Dental Plan.

#### DATE YOU ARE ELIGIBLE FOR DEPENDENT INSURANCE

You may only become eligible for the Dependent insurance available for Your eligible class as shown in the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS.

If You are in an eligible class on January 1, 2020, You will be eligible for Dependent insurance on the later of:

- 1. the first day of the month following the date You enter a class eligible for insurance;
- 2. the date You obtain a Dependent.

If You enter an eligible class after January 1, 2020, You will be eligible for Dependent insurance on the later of:

- 1. the first day of the month following the date You enter a class eligible for insurance; and
- 2. the date You obtain a Dependent.

No person may be insured as a Dependent of more than one employee.

#### **ENROLLMENT PROCESS FOR DEPENDENT DENTAL INSURANCE**

If You are eligible for Dependent Insurance, You may enroll for such insurance by completing the required form in Writing for each Dependent to be insured. If You enroll for Contributory Insurance, You must also give the Policyholder Written permission to deduct premiums from Your pay for such insurance. You will be notified by the Policyholder how much You will be required to contribute.

In order to enroll for Dental Insurance for Your Dependents, You must either (a) already be enrolled for Dental Insurance for You or (b) enroll at the same time for Dental Insurance for You.

The Dental Insurance has a regular enrollment period established by the Policyholder. Subject to the rules of the Group Policy, You may enroll for Dependent Dental Insurance only when You are first eligible, during an annual enrollment period or if You have a Qualifying Event. You should contact the Policyholder for more information regarding the flexible benefits plan.

## DATE DENTAL INSURANCE TAKES EFFECT FOR YOUR DEPENDENTS

#### **Enrollment When First Eligible**

If You complete the enrollment process within 31 days of becoming eligible for Dependent Insurance, such insurance will take effect on the date You become eligible, provided You are Actively at Work on that date.

If You are not Actively at Work on the date the insurance would otherwise take effect, the insurance will take effect on the day You resume Active Work.

## If You Do Not Enroll When First Eligible

If You do not complete the enrollment process within 31 days of becoming eligible, You will not be able to enroll for Dependent Insurance until the next annual enrollment period for Dental Insurance, as determined by the Policyholder, following the date You first become eligible. At that time You will be able to enroll for insurance for which You are then eligible.

## **ELIGIBILITY PROVISIONS: INSURANCE FOR YOUR DEPENDENTS (continued)**

## **Enrollment During an Annual Enrollment Period**

During any annual enrollment period as determined by the Policyholder, You may enroll for Dependent Insurance for which You are eligible or choose a different option than the one for which Your Dependents are currently enrolled. The changes to Your Dependent Insurance made during an enrollment period will take effect on the first day of the calendar year following the enrollment period, if You are Actively at Work on that date.

If You are not Actively at Work on the date the insurance would otherwise take effect, insurance will take effect on the date You resume Active Work.

## **Enrollment Due to a Qualifying Event**

You may enroll for Dependent Insurance for which You are eligible or change the amount of Your Dependent Insurance between annual enrollment periods only if You have a Qualifying Event.

If You have a Qualifying Event, You will have 30 days from the date of that change to make a request. This request must be consistent with the nature of the Qualifying Event. The insurance enrolled for or changes to Your insurance made as a result of a Qualifying Event will take effect on the first day of the month following the date of Your request, if You are Actively at Work on that date.

If You are not Actively at Work on the date the insurance would otherwise take effect, insurance will take effect on the day You resume Active Work.

#### **Qualifying Event** includes:

- marriage;
- the birth, adoption or placement for adoption of a dependent child;
- divorce, legal separation or annulment;
- the death of a dependent;
- a change in Your or Your dependent's employment status, such as beginning or ending employment, strike, lockout, taking or ending a leave of absence, changes in worksite or work schedule, if it causes You or Your dependent to gain or lose eligibility for group coverage;
- Your taking leave under the United States Family and Medical Leave Act;
- Your dependent's ceasing to qualify as a dependent under this insurance or under other group coverage;
- You previously did not enroll for Dental Insurance for You or Your dependent because You had other group coverage, but that coverage has ceased due to one or more of the following reasons:
  - loss of eligibility for the other group coverage;
  - 2. termination of employer contributions for the other group coverage;
  - 3. COBRA Continuation of the other group coverage was exhausted;
- a judgment, decree or order resulting from a divorce, legal separation, annulment or change in legal custody that requires either:
  - You to provide health coverage for Your child or dependent foster child; or
  - Your spouse, former spouse or other individual to provide coverage for Your child or foster child if that other person does in fact provide that coverage;
- You or Your dependent become entitled to Medicare or Medicaid coverage (other than coverage solely for pediatric vaccines);
- You or Your dependent lose entitlement to Medicare or Medicaid eligibility; or
- Your or Your dependent's loss of coverage under any group health coverage sponsored by a governmental or educational institution.

## **ELIGIBILITY PROVISIONS: INSURANCE FOR YOUR DEPENDENTS (continued)**

Once You have enrolled one Child for Dependent Insurance, each succeeding Child will automatically be insured for such insurance on the date the Child qualifies as a Dependent.

## DATE YOUR INSURANCE FOR YOUR DEPENDENTS ENDS

A Dependent's insurance will end on the earliest of:

- 1. the date You die;
- 2. the date Dental Insurance for You ends;
- 3. the date the Group Policy ends;
- 4. the date insurance for Your Dependents ends under the Group Policy;
- 5. the date insurance for Your Dependents ends for Your class;
- 6. the last day of the calendar month in which Your employment ends; Your employment will end if You cease to be Actively at Work in any eligible class, except as stated in the section entitled CONTINUATION OF INSURANCE WITH PREMIUM PAYMENT;
- 7. the end of the period for which the last premium has been paid;
- 8. the last day of the calendar month the person ceases to be a Dependent; or
- 9. the last day of the calendar month in which You retire in accordance with the Policyholder's retirement plan.

In certain cases insurance may be continued as stated in the section entitled CONTINUATION OF INSURANCE WITH PREMIUM PAYMENT.

# SPECIAL RULES FOR GROUPS PREVIOUSLY COVERED UNDER OTHER GROUP DENTAL COVERAGE

The following rules will apply if this Dental Insurance replaces other group dental coverage provided to You by the Policyholder.

**Prior Plan** means the group dental coverage provided to You by the Policyholder on the day before the Replacement Date.

Replacement Date means the effective date of this Dental Insurance under the Group Policy.

# Rules if You or You and Your Dependents were Covered Under the Prior Plan on the Day Before the Replacement Date:

- if You and Your Dependents were covered under the Prior Plan on the day before the Replacement Date, You will be eligible for this Dental Insurance on the Replacement Date if You are in an eligible class on such date;
- 2. if any of the following conditions occurred while coverage was in effect under the Prior Plan, We will treat such conditions as though they occurred while this Dental Insurance is in effect:
  - the loss of a tooth; and
  - the accumulation of amounts toward:
    - a) Annual Deductibles;
    - b) Annual Maximum Benefits;
    - c) Lifetime Maximum Benefits;
- 3. if a dental service was received while the Prior Plan was in effect and such service would be a Covered Service subject to frequency and/or time limitations if performed while this Dental Insurance is in effect, the receipt of such prior service will be counted toward the time and frequency limitations under this Dental Insurance;
- 4. if a government mandated continuation of coverage under the Prior Plan was in effect on the Replacement Date, such coverage may be continued under this Dental Insurance if the required payment is made for the cost of such coverage. In such case, benefits will be available under this Dental Insurance until the earlier of:
  - the date the continued coverage ends as set forth in the provisions of the government-mandated requirements; or
  - the date this Dental Insurance ends.

# Rules if You or You and Your Dependents were <u>NOT</u> covered under the Prior Plan on the Day Before the Replacement Date:

- 1. You will be eligible for this Dental Insurance when You meet the eligibility requirements for such insurance as described in ELIGIBILITY PROVISIONS: INSURANCE FOR YOU;
- Your Dependents will be eligible for this Dental Insurance when they meet the eligibility requirements for such insurance as described in ELIGIBILITY PROVISIONS: INSURANCE FOR YOUR DEPENDENTS; and
- 3. We will credit any time accumulated toward any eligibility waiting period under the Prior Plan to the satisfaction of any eligibility waiting period required to be met under this Dental Insurance.

## CONTINUATION OF INSURANCE WITH PREMIUM PAYMENT

#### FOR MENTALLY OR PHYSICALLY HANDICAPPED CHILDREN

Insurance for a Dependent Child may be continued past the age limit if the child is incapable of self-sustaining employment because of a mental or physical handicap as defined by applicable law. Proof of such handicap must be sent to Us within 31 days after the date the Child attains the age limit and at reasonable intervals after such date, but not more frequently than annually.

Subject to the DATE YOUR INSURANCE FOR YOUR DEPENDENTS ENDS subsection of the section entitled ELIGIBILITY PROVISIONS: INSURANCE FOR YOUR DEPENDENTS, insurance will continue while such Child:

- · remains incapable of self-sustaining employment because of a mental or physical handicap; and
- · continues to qualify as a Child, except for the age limit.

## FOR FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE

Certain leaves of absence may qualify for continuation of insurance under the Family and Medical Leave Act of 1993 (FMLA), or other legally mandated leave of absence or similar laws. Please contact the Policyholder for information regarding such legally mandated leave of absence laws.

#### **COBRA CONTINUATION FOR DENTAL INSURANCE**

If Dental Insurance for You or a Dependent ends, You or Your Dependent may qualify for continuation of such insurance under the Consolidated Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1985, as amended (COBRA). Please refer to the COBRA section of Your summary plan description or contact the Policyholder for information regarding continuation of insurance under COBRA.

#### AT THE POLICYHOLDER'S OPTION

The Policyholder has elected to continue insurance by paying premiums for employees who cease Active Work in an eligible class for any of the reasons specified below. You must make contributions for premiums during a period of continued insurance. If Your insurance is continued, insurance for Your Dependents may also be continued.

Insurance will continue for the following periods:

- 1. for the period You cease Active Work in an eligible class due to leave of absence, up to 24 months;
- 2. for the period You cease Active Work due to a military leave, up to 26 months; and
- 3. for the period You cease Active Work due to injury or sickness, for a period in accordance with the Policyholder's general practice for an employee in Your job class.

The Policyholder's general practice for employees in a job class determines which employees with the above types of absences are to be considered as still insured and for how long among persons in like situations.

At the end of any of the continuation periods listed above. Your insurance will be affected as follows:

- if You resume Active Work in an eligible class at this time, You will continue to be insured under the Group Policy;
- if You do not resume Active Work in an eligible class at this time, Your employment will be considered to
  end and Your insurance will end in accordance with the DATE YOUR INSURANCE ENDS subsection of
  the section entitled ELIGIBILITY PROVISIONS: INSURANCE FOR YOU.

If Your insurance ends, Your Dependents' insurance will also end in accordance with the DATE YOUR INSURANCE FOR YOUR DEPENDENTS ENDS subsection of the section entitled ELIGIBILITY PROVISIONS: INSURANCE FOR YOUR DEPENDENTS.

#### DENTAL INSURANCE

If You or a Dependent incur a charge for a Covered Service, Proof of such service must be sent to Us. When We receive such Proof, We will review the claim and if We approve it, will pay the insurance in effect on the date that service was completed.

This Dental Insurance gives You access to Dentists through the MetLife Preferred Dentist Program. Dentists participating in the MetLife Preferred Dentist Program have agreed to limit their charge for a dental service to the Maximum Allowed Charge for such service. Under the MetLife Preferred Dentist Program, We pay benefits for Covered Services performed by either In-Network Dentists or Out-of-Network Dentists. However, You may be able to reduce Your out-of-pocket costs by using an In-Network Dentist because Out-of-Network Dentists have not entered into an agreement with Us to limit their charges. You are always free to receive services from any Dentist. You do not need any authorization from Us to choose a Dentist.

The MetLife Preferred Dentist Program does not provide dental services. Whether or not benefits are available for a particular service, does not mean You should or should not receive the service. You and Your Dentist have the right and are responsible at all times for choosing the course of treatment and services to be performed. After services have been performed, We will determine the extent to which benefits, if any, are payable.

When requesting a Covered Service from an In-Network Dentist, We recommend that You:

- identify Yourself as an insured in the Preferred Dentist Program; and
- confirm that the Dentist is currently an In-Network Dentist at the time that the Covered Service is performed.

The amount of the benefit will not be affected by whether or not You identify Yourself as a member in the Preferred Dentist Program.

You can obtain a customized listing of MetLife's In-Network Dentists either by calling 1-855-676-9441 or by visiting Our website at www.metlife.com/dental.

#### **BENEFIT AMOUNTS**

We will pay benefits in an amount equal to the Covered Percentage for charges incurred by You or a Dependent for a Covered Service as shown in the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS, subject to the conditions set forth in this certificate.

### In-Network

If a Covered Service is performed by an In-Network Dentist, We will base the benefit on the Covered Percentage of the Maximum Allowed Charge.

If an In-Network Dentist performs a Covered Service, You will be responsible for paying:

- the Deductible; and
- any other part of the Maximum Allowed Charge for which We do not pay benefits.

#### **Out-of-Network**

If a Covered Service is performed by an Out-of-Network Dentist, We will base the benefit on the Covered Percentage of the Reasonable and Customary Charge.

Out-of-Network Dentists may charge You more than the Reasonable and Customary Charge. If an Out-of-Network Dentist performs a Covered Service, You will be responsible for paying:

- the Deductible; and
- any other part of the Reasonable and Customary Charge for which We do not pay benefits; and
- any amount in excess of the Reasonable and Customary Charge charged by the Out-of-Network Dentist.

## **DENTAL INSURANCE (continued)**

## **Emergency Dental Condition**

Benefits for Covered Services performed by an Out-of-Network Dentist for Emergency Dental Conditions will be paid as if the Covered Service had been performed by an In-Network Dentist.

#### Reasonable Access to an In-Network Dentist

If You do not have an In-Network Dentist within a reasonable driving distance or available without unreasonable delay of Your legal residence, You will be authorized to receive dental care from an Out-of-Network Dentist. In that event, the cost of Covered Services provided by an Out-of-Network Dentist will be paid at the same benefit level as an In-Network Dentist. In addition, You will not be responsible for additional costs beyond what they would have paid if You were able to see an In-Network Dentist.

In the event of a non-emergency, You must call us at 1-855-676-9441, and We will assist You before or after the services are rendered. If You sought care for an Emergency Dental Condition and the services have already occurred. You must call Us at 1-855-676-9441 or write to:

MetLife Group Claims Review PO Box 14589 Lexington, KY 40512

MetLife will review the request for authorization or the services rendered (in the case of an emergency) to determine if there is an In-Network Dentist within reasonable driving distance or without unreasonable delay from Your legal residence or place of work. If services occurred and it is determined that an In-Network Dentist was not reasonably available to You, We will acknowledge Your claim and pay that claim at the In-Network level, with no additional out-of-pocket expense to You. The claim will be paid directly to You, unless You indicate otherwise. The claim will be paid within 7 days after We acknowledge that You were required to see an Out-of-Network Dentist under these circumstances.

#### **Maximum Benefit Amounts**

The SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS sets forth Maximum Benefit Amounts We will pay for Covered Services received In-Network and Out-of-Network. We will never pay more than the greater of the In-Network Maximum Benefit Amount or the Out-of-Network Maximum Benefit Amount.

For example, if a Covered Service is received Out-of-Network and We pay \$300 in benefits for such service, \$300 will be applied toward both the In-Network and the Out-of-Network Maximum Benefit Amounts applicable to such service.

#### **Deductibles**

The Deductible amounts are shown in the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS.

The Yearly Individual Deductible is the amount that You and each Dependent must pay for Covered Services to which such Deductible applies each Year before We will pay benefits for such Covered Services.

We apply amounts used to satisfy Yearly Individual Deductibles to the Yearly Family Deductible. Once the Yearly Family Deductible is satisfied, no further Yearly Individual Deductibles are required to be met.

The amount We apply toward satisfaction of a Deductible for a Covered Service is the amount We use to determine benefits for such service. The Deductible Amount will be applied based on when Dental Insurance claims for Covered Services are processed by Us. The Deductible Amount will be applied to Covered Services in the order that Dental Insurance claims for Covered Services are processed by Us regardless of when a Covered Service is "incurred". When several Covered Services are incurred on the same date and Dental Insurance benefits are claimed as part of the same claim, the Deductible Amount is applied based on the Covered Percentage applicable to each Covered Service. The Deductible Amount will be applied in the order of highest Covered Percentage to lowest Covered Percentage.

## **DENTAL INSURANCE (continued)**

#### **Alternate Benefit**

If We determine that a service, less costly than the Covered Service the Dentist performed, could have been performed to treat a dental condition, We will pay benefits based upon the less costly service if such service:

- would produce a professionally acceptable result under generally accepted dental standards; and
- would qualify as a Covered Service.

## For example:

- when an amalgam filling and a composite filling are both professionally acceptable methods for filling a
  molar, We may base Our benefit determination upon the amalgam filling which is the less costly service;
- when a filling and an inlay are both professionally acceptable methods for treating tooth decay or breakdown. We may base Our benefit determination upon the filling which is the less costly service:
- when a filling and a crown are both professionally acceptable methods for treating tooth decay or breakdown, We may base Our benefit determination upon the filling which is the less costly service; and
- when a partial denture and fixed bridgework are both professionally acceptable methods for replacing
  multiple missing teeth in an arch, We may base Our benefit determination upon the partial denture which
  is the less costly service.

If We pay benefits based upon a less costly service in accordance with this subsection, the Dentist may charge You or Your Dependent for the difference between the service that was performed and the less costly service. This is the case even if the service is performed by an In-Network Dentist.

Certain comprehensive dental services have multiple steps associated with them. These steps can be completed at one time or during multiple sessions. For benefit purposes under this certificate, these separate steps of one service are considered to be part of the more comprehensive service. Even if the dentist submits separate bills, the total benefit payable for all related charges will be limited by the maximum benefit payable for the more comprehensive service. For example, root canal therapy includes x-rays, opening of the pulp chamber, additional x-rays, and filling of the chamber. Although these services may be performed in multiple sessions, they all constitute root canal therapy. Therefore, We will only pay benefits for the root canal therapy.

#### **Orthodontic Covered Services**

Orthodontic treatment generally consists of initial placement of an appliance and periodic follow-up visits.

The benefit payable for the initial placement will not exceed 20% of the Lifetime Maximum Benefit Amount for Orthodontia in effect when the course of treatment begins.

The benefit payable for the periodic follow-up visits will also be based on the Lifetime Maximum Benefit Amount for Orthodontia in effect when the course of treatment begins. It will be payable on a quarterly basis during the course of the orthodontic treatment if:

- Dental Insurance is in effect for the person receiving the orthodontic treatment; and
- Proof is given to Us that the orthodontic treatment is continuing.

## **DENTAL INSURANCE (continued)**

## Benefits for Orthodontic Services Begun Prior to this Dental Insurance

If the initial placement was made prior to this Dental Insurance being in effect, the benefit payable will be reduced by the portion attributable to the initial placement.

If the periodic follow-up visits commenced prior to this Dental Insurance being in effect:

- the number of months for which benefits are payable will be reduced by the number of months of treatment performed before this Dental Insurance was in effect; and
- the total amount of the benefit payable for the periodic visits will be reduced proportionately.

#### **Pretreatment Estimate of Benefits**

If a planned dental service is expected to cost more than \$300, You have the option of requesting a pretreatment estimate of benefits. The Dentist should submit a claim detailing the services to be performed and the amount to be charged. After We receive this information, We will provide You with an estimate of the Dental Insurance benefits available for the service. The estimate is not a guarantee of the amount We will pay. Under the Alternate Benefit provision, benefits may be based on the cost of a service other than the service that You choose. You are required to submit Proof on or after the date the dental service is completed in order for Us to pay a benefit for such service.

The pretreatment estimate of benefits is only an estimate of benefits available for proposed dental services. You are not required to obtain a pretreatment estimate of benefits. As always, You or Your Dependent and the Dentist are responsible for choosing the services to be performed.

### **Benefits We Will Pay After Insurance Ends**

We will pay benefits for a 31 day period after Your insurance ends for the completion of installation of a prosthetic device if:

- the Dentist prepared the abutment teeth or made impressions before Your insurance ends; and
- the device is installed within 31 days after the date the insurance ends.

We will pay benefits for a 31 day period after Your insurance ends for the completion of installation of a Cast Restoration if:

- the Dentist prepared the tooth for the Cast Restoration before Your insurance ends; and
- the Cast Restoration is installed within 31 days after the date the insurance ends.

We will pay benefits for a 31 day period after Your insurance ends for completion of root canal therapy if:

- the Dentist opened into the pulp chamber before Your insurance ends: and
- the treatment is finished within 31 days after the date the insurance ends.

## **DENTAL INSURANCE: DESCRIPTION OF COVERED SERVICES**

#### **Type A Covered Services**

- 1. Oral exams and problem-focused exams, but no more than two exams (whether these exams are oral exams or problem-focused exams) in a Year.
- 2. Screenings, including state or federally mandated screenings, to determine an individual's need to be seen by a dentist for diagnosis, but no more than twice in a Year.
- 3. Patient assessments (limited clinical inspection that is performed to identify possible signs of oral or systemic disease, malformation, or injury, and the potential need for referral for diagnosis and treatment), but no more than twice in a Year.
- 4. Full mouth or panoramic x-rays once every 5 Years.
- 5. Bitewing x-rays 1 set in a Year.
- 6. Intraoral-periapical x-rays.
- 7. X-rays, except as mentioned elsewhere.
- 8. Diagnostic casts.
- 9. Cleaning of teeth (oral prophylaxis) twice in a Year.
- 10. Emergency palliative treatment to relieve tooth pain.
- 11. Topical fluoride treatment for a Child under age 19 twice in a Year.
- 12. Space maintainers for a Child under age 19 once per lifetime per tooth area.
- 13. Sealants or sealant repairs for a Child under age 16 which are applied to non-restored, non-decayed first and second permanent molars, once per tooth every 3 Years.

## **Type B Covered Services**

- 1. Initial placement of amalgam fillings.
- 2. Replacement of an existing amalgam filling, but only if:
  - at least 24 months have passed since the existing filling was placed; or
  - a new surface of decay is identified on that tooth.
- 3. Initial placement of resin-based composite fillings.
- 4. Replacement of an existing resin-based composite filling, but only if:
  - at least 24 months have passed since the existing filling was placed; or
  - a new surface of decay is identified on that tooth.
- 5. Protective (sedative) fillings.
- 6. Oral surgery, except as mentioned elsewhere in this certificate.
- 7. Consultations for interpretation of diagnostic image by a Dentist not associated with the capture of the image, but not more than once in a 12 month period.
- 8. Other consultations, but not more than once in a 12 month period.
- 9. Root canal treatment, including bone grafts and tissue regeneration procedures in conjunction with periradicular surgery, but not more than once for the same tooth.
- 10. Other endodontic procedures, such as apicoectomy, retrograde fillings, root amputation, and hemisection.
- 11. Simple extractions. Extractions of primary teeth or adult teeth solely for orthodontic purposes will be treated as orthodontic services.
- 12. Pulp capping (excluding final restoration).
- 13. Therapeutic pulpotomy (excluding final restoration).
- 14. Pulp therapy.

## **DENTAL INSURANCE: DESCRIPTION OF COVERED SERVICES (continued)**

- 15. Apexification/recalcification.
- 16. Pulpal regeneration, but not more than once per lifetime.
- 17. Injections of therapeutic drugs.
- 18. Relinings and rebasings of existing removable Dentures:
  - if at least 6 months have passed since the installation of the existing removable Denture; and
  - not more than once in any 24 month period.
- 19. Re-cementing of Cast Restorations or Dentures, but not more than once in a 12 month period.
- 20. Adjustments of Dentures, if at least 6 months have passed since the installation of the Denture and not more than once in any 12 month period.
- 21. Tissue conditioning, but no more than once per lifetime.
- 22. Core buildup, but no more than once per tooth in a period of 5 Years.
- 23. Posts and cores, but no more than once per tooth in a period of 5 Years.
- 24. Application of desensitizing medicaments where periodontal treatment (including scaling, root planing, and periodontal surgery, such as osseous surgery) has been performed.
- 25. Simple repairs of Cast Restorations or Removable Dentures other than recementing, but not more than once in a 24 month period.

## **Type C Covered Services**

- 1. General anesthesia or intravenous sedation in connection with oral surgery, extractions or other Covered Services, when We determine such anesthesia is necessary in accordance with generally accepted dental standards.
- 2. Initial installation of full or partial Dentures (other than implant supported prosthetics).
- 3. Addition of teeth to a partial removable Denture.
- 4. Replacement of a non-serviceable fixed Denture if such Denture was installed more than 7 Years prior to replacement.
- 5. Replacement of a non-serviceable removable Denture if such Denture was installed more than 7 Years prior to replacement.
- 6. Replacement of an immediate, temporary, full Denture with a permanent, full Denture, if the immediate, temporary, full Denture cannot be made permanent and such replacement is done within 12 months of the installation of the immediate, temporary, full Denture.
- 7. Initial installation of Cast Restorations (except implant supported Cast Restorations).
- 8. Replacement of Cast Restorations (except an implant supported Cast Restoration) but only if at least 7 Years have passed since the most recent time that:
  - a Cast Restoration was installed for the same tooth; or
  - a Cast Restoration for the same tooth was replaced.
- 9. Prefabricated crown, but no more than one replacement for the same tooth per lifetime for a Child under age 15.
- 10. Periodontal scaling and root planing, but no more than once per quadrant in any 24 month period.
- 11. Full mouth debridements, but not more than once in any 3 Year period.
- 12. Periodontal surgery, including gingivectomy, gingivoplasty and osseous surgery, but no more than one surgical procedure per quadrant in any 36 month period.
- 13. Periodontal maintenance, where periodontal treatment (including scaling, root planing, and periodontal surgery, such as gingivectomy, gingivoplasty and osseous surgery) has been performed. Periodontal maintenance is limited to two times in any year.
- 14. Surgical extractions. Extractions of primary teeth or adult teeth solely for orthodontic purposes will be treated as orthodontic services.

# **DENTAL INSURANCE: DESCRIPTION OF COVERED SERVICES (continued)**

- 15. Implant services (including sinus augmentation and bone replacement and graft for ridge preservation), but no more than once for the same tooth position per lifetime.
- 16. Repair of implants, but no more than once per tooth per lifetime.
- 17. Implant supported Cast Restorations, but no more than once for the same tooth position per lifetime.
- 18. Implant supported fixed Dentures, but no more than once for the same tooth position per lifetime.
- 19. Implant supported removable Dentures, but no more than once for the same tooth position per lifetime.
- 20. Cleaning and inspection of a removable appliance once per lifetime.
- 21. Simple repairs of Fixed Dentures other than recementing, but not more than once in a 24 month period.

#### **Orthodontic Covered Services**

Orthodontia, for a Child under 19.

#### **DENTAL INSURANCE: EXCLUSIONS**

We will not pay Dental Insurance benefits for charges incurred for:

- 1. services which are not Dentally Necessary, or those which do not meet generally accepted standards of care for treating the particular dental condition;
- 2. services for which You would not be required to pay in the absence of Dental Insurance;
- 3. services or supplies received by You or Your Dependent before the Dental Insurance starts for that person;
- 4. services which are neither performed nor prescribed by a Dentist, except for those services of a licensed Dental Hygienist which are supervised and billed by a Dentist, and which are for:
  - scaling and polishing of teeth; or
  - fluoride treatments;
- 5. services which are primarily cosmetic, (For residents of Texas, see notice page section);
- 6. services or appliances which restore or alter occlusion or vertical dimension;
- 7. restoration of tooth structure damaged by attrition, abrasion or erosion, unless caused by disease;
- 8. restorations or appliances used for the purpose of periodontal splinting;
- 9. counseling or instruction about oral hygiene, plaque control, nutrition and tobacco;
- 10. personal supplies or devices including, but not limited to: water piks, toothbrushes, or dental floss;
- 11. decoration or inscription of any tooth, device, appliance, crown or other dental work;
- 12. missed appointments;
- 13. services paid under any worker's compensation, occupational disease or employer liability law as follows:
  - for persons who are covered in North Carolina for the treatment of an Occupational Injury or Sickness which are paid under the North Carolina Workers' Compensation Act only to the extent such services are the liability of the employee, employer or workers' compensation insurance carrier according to a final adjudication under the North Carolina Workers' Compensation Act or an order of the North Carolina Industrial Commission approving a settlement agreement under the North Carolina Workers' Compensation Act; or
  - for persons who are not covered in North Carolina, services paid or payable under any workers' compensation or occupational disease law;

#### 14. services:

- for which the employer of the person receiving such services is required to pay; or
- received at a facility maintained by the Policyholder, labor union, mutual benefit association, or VA hospital;
- 15. services covered under other coverage provided by the Policyholder;
- 16. biopsies of hard or soft oral tissue;
- 17. temporary or provisional restorations;
- 18. temporary or provisional appliances;
- 19. prescription drugs;
- 20. services for which the submitted documentation indicates a poor prognosis;
- 21. the following, when charged by the Dentist on a separate basis:
  - claim form completion;
  - infection control, such as gloves, masks, and sterilization of supplies; or
  - local anesthesia, non-intravenous conscious sedation or analgesia, such as nitrous oxide;
- 22. dental services arising out of accidental injury to the teeth and supporting structures, except for injuries to the teeth due to chewing or biting of food;
- 23. caries susceptibility tests;

# **DENTAL INSURANCE: EXCLUSIONS (continued)**

- 24. pulp vitality, diagnostic photographs and bacteriological studies for determination of bacteriologic agents;
- 25. collection and preparation of genetic sample material for laboratory analysis and report;
- 26. preventive resin restorations;
- 27. interim caries arresting medicament application;
- 28. labial veneers;
- 29. local chemotherapeutic agents;
- 30. modification of removable prosthodontic and other removable prosthetic services;
- 31. occlusal adjustments;
- 32. fixed and removable appliances for correction of harmful habits;
- 33. appliances or treatment for bruxism (grinding teeth);
- 34. precision attachments associated with fixed and removable prostheses, except when the precision attachment is related to implant prosthetics;
- 35. adjustment of a Denture made within 6 months after installation by the same Dentist who installed it;
- 36. duplicate prosthetic devices or appliances;
- 37. replacement of a lost or stolen appliance, Cast Restoration or Denture;
- 38. replacement of an orthodontic device;
- 39. diagnosis and treatment of temporomandibular joint disorders and cone beam imaging associated with the treatment of temporomandibular joint disorders;
- 40. intra and extraoral photographic images.

## **DENTAL INSURANCE: COORDINATION OF BENEFITS**

When You or a Dependent incur charges for Covered Services, there may be other Plans, as defined below, that also provide benefits for those same charges. In that case, We may reduce what We pay based on what the other Plans pay. This Coordination of Benefits section explains how and when We do this.

## **DEFINITIONS**

In this section, the terms set forth below have the following meanings:

Allowable Expense means a necessary dental expense for which both of the following are true:

- a covered person must pay it; and
- it is at least partly covered by one or more of the Plans that provide benefits to the covered person.

If a Plan provides fixed benefits for specified events or conditions (instead of benefits based on expenses incurred), such benefits are Allowable Expenses.

If a Plan provides benefits in the form of services, We treat the reasonable cash value of each service performed as both an Allowable Expense and a benefit paid by that Plan.

#### The term does not include:

- expenses for services performed because of a Job-Related Injury or Sickness;
- any amount of expenses in excess of the higher reasonable and customary fee for a service, if two or more Plans compute their benefit payments on the basis of reasonable and customary fees;
- any amount of expenses in excess of the higher negotiated fee for a service, if two or more Plans compute their benefit payments on the basis of negotiated fees; and
- any amount of benefits that a Primary Plan does not pay because the covered person fails to comply with the Primary Plan's managed care or utilization review provisions, these include provisions requiring:
  - · second surgical opinions;
  - pre-certification of services;
  - use of providers in a Plan's network of providers; or
  - any other similar provisions.

We won't use this provision to refuse to pay benefits because an HMO member has elected to have dental services provided by a non-HMO provider and the HMO's contract does not require the HMO to pay for providing those services.

**Claim Determination Period** means a period that starts on any January 1 and ends on the next December 31. A Claim Determination Period for any covered person will not include periods of time during which that person is not covered under This Plan.

**Custodial Parent** means a Parent awarded custody, other than joint custody, by a court decree. In the absence of a court decree, it means the Parent with whom the child resides more than half of the Year without regard to any temporary visitation.

**HMO** means a Health Maintenance Organization or Dental Health Maintenance Organization.

## **DENTAL INSURANCE: COORDINATION OF BENEFITS (continued)**

Job-Related Injury or Sickness means any injury or sickness as follows:

- for persons who are covered in North Carolina for the treatment of an Occupational Injury or Sickness which are paid under the North Carolina Workers' Compensation Act only to the extent such services are the liability of the employee, employer or workers' compensation insurance carrier according to a final adjudication under the North Carolina Workers' Compensation Act or an order of the North Carolina Industrial Commission approving a settlement agreement under the North Carolina Workers' Compensation Act:
- for persons who are not covered in North Carolina, for which You are entitled to benefits under a workers' compensation or similar law or any other arrangement that provides for similar compensation; or
- arising out of employment for wage or profit.

**Parent** means a person who covers a child as a dependent under a Plan.

Plan means any of the following, if it provides benefits or services for an Allowable Expense:

- a group insurance plan;
- an HMO;
- uninsured arrangements of group or group type coverage;
- a group practice plan;
- a group service plan;
- a group prepayment plan;
- any other plan that covers people as a group;
- any other coverage required or provided by any law or any governmental program, except Medicaid.

## The term does not include any of the following:

- individual or family insurance or subscriber contracts;
- individual or family coverage through closed panel Plans or other prepayment, group practice or individual practice Plans;
- · hospital indemnity coverage;
- disability income protection coverage;
- accident only coverage;
- specified disease or specified accident coverage;
- · nursing home or long term care coverage; or
- any government program or coverage if, by state or Federal law, its benefits are excess to those of any private insurance plan or other non-government plan.

The provisions of This Plan, which limit benefits based on benefits or services provided under plans which the Policyholder (or an affiliate) contributes to or sponsors will not be affected by these Coordination of Benefits provisions.

Each policy, contract or other arrangement for benefits is a separate Plan. If part of a Plan reserves the right to reduce what it pays based on benefits or services provided by other Plans, that part will be treated separately from any parts which do not.

**This Plan** means the dental benefits described in this certificate, except for any provisions in this certificate that limit insurance based on benefits for services provided under plans which the Policyholder (or an affiliate) contributes to or sponsors.

**Primary Plan** means a Plan that pays its benefits first under the "Rules to Decide Which Plan Is Primary" section. A Primary Plan pays benefits as if the Secondary Plans do not exist.

## **DENTAL INSURANCE: COORDINATION OF BENEFITS (continued)**

**Secondary Plan** means a Plan that is not a Primary Plan. A Secondary Plan may reduce its benefits by amounts payable by the Primary Plan. If there are more than two Plans that provide coverage, a Plan may be Primary to some plans, and Secondary to others.

#### **RULES TO DECIDE WHICH PLAN IS PRIMARY**

When more than one Plan covers the person for whom Allowable Expenses were incurred, We determine which plan is primary by applying the rules in this section.

When there is a basis for claim under This Plan and another Plan, This Plan is Secondary unless:

- the other Plan has rules coordinating its benefits with those of This Plan; and
- this Plan is primary under This Plan's rules.

The first rule below, which will allow Us to determine which Plan is Primary, is the rule that We will use.

**Dependent or Non-Dependent**: A Plan that covers a person other than as a dependent (for example, as an employee, member, subscriber, or retiree) is Primary and shall pay its benefits before a Plan that covers the person as a dependent; except that if the person is a Medicare beneficiary and, as a result of federal law or regulations, Medicare is:

- Secondary to the Plan covering the person as a dependent; and
- Primary to the Plan covering the person as other than a dependent (e.g., a retired employee);

then the order of benefits between the two Plans is reversed and the Plan that covers the person as a dependent is Primary.

**Child Covered Under More Than One Plan – Court Decree**: When This Plan and another Plan cover the same Child as the Dependent of two or more Parents, and the specific terms of a court decree state that one of the Parents must provide health coverage or pay for the Child's health care expenses, that Parent's Plan is Primary, if the Plan has actual knowledge of those terms. This rule applies to Claim Determination Periods that start after the Plan is given notice of the court decree.

**Child Covered Under More Than One Plan – The Birthday Rule**: When This Plan and another Plan cover the same Child as the Dependent of two or more Parents, the Primary Plan is the Plan of the Parent whose birthday falls earlier in the Year if:

- the Parents are married; or
- the Parents are not separated (whether or not they have ever married); or
- a court decree awards joint custody without specifying which Parent must provide health coverage.

If both Parents have the same birthday, the Plan that covered either of the Parents longer is the Primary Plan.

However, if the other Plan does not have this rule, but instead has a rule based on the gender of the parent, and if, as a result, the Plans do not agree on the order of benefits, the rule in the other Plan will determine the order of benefits.

**Child Covered Under More than One Plan – Custodial Parent:** When This Plan and another Plan cover the same Child as the Dependent of two or more Parents, if the Parents are not married, or are separated (whether or not they ever married), or are divorced, the Primary Plan is:

- the Plan of the Custodial Parent; then
- the Plan of the spouse of the Custodial Parent; then
- the Plan of the non-custodial Parent; and then
- the Plan of the spouse of the non-custodial Parent.

## **DENTAL INSURANCE: COORDINATION OF BENEFITS (continued)**

**Active or Inactive Employee**: A Plan that covers a person as an employee who is neither laid off nor retired is Primary to a Plan that covers the person as a laid-off or retired employee (or as that person's Dependent). If the other Plan does not have this rule and, if as a result, the Plans do not agree on the order of benefits, this rule is ignored.

**Continuation Coverage**: The Plan that covers a person as an active employee, member or subscriber (or as that employee's Dependent) is Primary to a Plan that covers that person under a right of continuation pursuant to federal law (e.g., COBRA) or state law. If the Plan that covers the person has not adopted this rule, and if, as a result, the Plans do not agree on the order of benefits, this rule shall not apply.

**Longer/Shorter Time Covered**: If none of the above rules determine which Plan is Primary, the Plan that has covered the person for the longer time shall be Primary to a Plan that has covered the person for a shorter time.

**No Rules Apply**: If none of the above rules determine which Plan is Primary, the Allowable Expenses shall be shared equally between all the Plans. In no event will This Plan pay more than it would if it were Primary.

## **EFFECT ON BENEFITS OF THIS PLAN**

If This Plan is Secondary, when the total Allowable Expenses incurred by a covered person in any Claim Determination Period are less than the sum of:

- the benefits that would be payable under This Plan without applying this Coordination of Benefits provision; and
- the benefits that would be payable under all other Plans without applying Coordination of Benefits or similar provisions;

then We will reduce the benefits that would otherwise be payable under This Plan. The sum of these reduced benefits, plus all benefits payable for such Allowable Expenses under all other Plans, will not exceed the total of the Allowable Expenses. Benefits payable under all other Plans include all benefits that would be payable if the proper claims had been made on time.

#### RIGHT TO RECEIVE AND RELEASE NEEDED INFORMATION

We need certain information to apply the Coordination of Benefits rules. We have the right to decide which facts We need. We may get facts from or give them to any other organization or person. We do not need to tell, or get the consent of, any person or organization to do this. To obtain all benefits available, a covered person who incurs Allowable Expenses should file a claim under each Plan which covers the person. Each person claiming benefits under This Plan must give Us any facts We need to pay the claim.

## **FACILITY OF PAYMENT**

A payment made under another Plan may include an amount which should have been paid under This Plan. If it does, We may pay that amount to the organization which made that payment. That amount will then be treated as though it were a benefit paid under This Plan. We will not have to pay that amount again. The term "payment made" includes benefits provided in the form of services, in which case We may pay the reasonable cash value of the benefits provided in the form of services.

# **DENTAL INSURANCE: COORDINATION OF BENEFITS (continued) RIGHT OF RECOVERY**

If the amount We pay is more than We should have paid under this Coordination of Benefits provision, We may recover the excess from one or more of:

- the person We have paid or for whom We have paid;
- insurance companies; or
- other organizations.

The amount of the payment includes the reasonable cash value of any benefits provided in the form of services.

#### **FILING A CLAIM**

The Policyholder should have a supply of claim forms. Obtain a claim form from the Policyholder and fill it out carefully. Return the completed claim form with the required Proof to the Policyholder. The Policyholder will certify Your insurance under the Group Policy and send the certified claim form and Proof to Us.

For Dental Insurance, all claim forms needed to file for benefits under the group insurance program can be obtained by calling MetLife at 1-855-676-9441. Dental claim forms can also be downloaded from www.metlife.com/dental. The instructions on the claim form should be followed carefully. This will expedite the processing of the claim.

When We receive the claim form and Proof, We will review the claim and, if We approve it, We will pay benefits subject to the terms and provisions of this certificate and the Group Policy.

#### **CLAIMS FOR DENTAL INSURANCE BENEFITS**

When a claimant files a claim for Dental Insurance benefits described in this certificate, both the notice of claim and the required Proof should be sent to Us within 180 days of the date of a loss.

Claim and Proof may be given to Us by following the steps set forth below:

#### Step 1

A claimant can request a claim form by calling Us at 1-855-676-9441.

#### Step 2

We will send a claim form to the claimant within 15 days of the request. The instructions on the claim form should be followed carefully. This will expedite the processing of the claim.

#### Step 3

When the claimant receives the claim form, the claimant should fill it out as instructed and return it with the required Proof described in the claim form.

#### Step 4

The claimant must give Us Proof not later than 180 days after the date of the loss.

If notice of claim or Proof is not given within the time limits described in this section, the delay will not cause a claim to be denied or reduced if such notice and Proof are given as soon as is reasonably possible.

**Time Limit on Legal Actions.** A legal action on a claim may only be brought against Us during a certain period. This period begins 60 days after the date Proof is filed and ends 3 years after the date such Proof is required.

#### DENTAL INSURANCE: PROCEDURES FOR DENTAL CLAIMS

#### **Procedures for Presenting Claims for Dental Insurance Benefits**

All claim forms needed to file for Dental Insurance benefits under the group insurance program can be obtained from the Employer who can also answer questions about the insurance benefits and to assist You or, if applicable, Your beneficiary in filing claims. Dental claim forms can also be downloaded from <a href="https://www.metlife.com/dental">www.metlife.com/dental</a>. The instructions on the claim form should be followed carefully. This will expedite the processing of the claim. Be sure all questions are answered fully.

#### **Routine Questions on Dental Insurance Claims**

If there is any question about a claim payment, an explanation may be requested from MetLife by dialing 1-855-676-9441.

#### **Claim Submission**

For claims for Dental Insurance benefits, the claimant must complete the appropriate claim form and submit the required Proof as described in the FILING A CLAIM section of the certificate.

Claim forms must be submitted in accordance with the instructions on the claim form.

#### **Initial Determination**

After You submit a claim for Dental Insurance benefits to MetLife, MetLife will review Your claim and notify You of its decision to approve or deny Your claim.

Such notification will be provided to You within a 30 day period from the date You submitted Your claim; except for situations requiring an extension of time of up to 15 days because of matters beyond the control of MetLife. If MetLife needs such an extension, MetLife will notify You prior to the expiration of the initial 30 day period, state the reason why the extension is needed, and state when it will make its determination. If an extension is needed because You did not provide sufficient information or filed an incomplete claim, the time from the date of MetLife's notice requesting further information and an extension until MetLife receives the requested information does not count toward the time period MetLife is allowed to notify You as to its claim decision. You will have 90 days to provide the requested information from the date You receive the notice requesting further information from MetLife.

If MetLife denies Your claim in whole or in part, the notification of the claims decision will state the reason why Your claim was denied and reference the specific Plan provision(s) on which the denial is based. If the claim is denied because MetLife did not receive sufficient information, the claims decision will describe the additional information needed and explain why such information is needed. Further, if an internal rule, protocol, guideline or other criterion was relied upon in making the denial, the claims decision will state the rule, protocol, guideline or other criteria or indicate that such rule, protocol, guideline or other criteria was relied upon and that You may request a copy free of charge.

#### **Appealing the Initial Determination**

If MetLife denies Your claim, You may take two appeals of the initial determination. Upon Your written request, MetLife will provide You free of charge with copies of documents, records and other information relevant to Your claim. You must submit Your appeal to MetLife at the address indicated on the claim form within 180 days of receiving MetLife's decision. Appeals must be in writing and must include at least the following information:

- Name of Employee
- Name of the Plan
- Reference to the initial decision
- Whether the appeal is the first or second appeal of the initial determination
- An explanation why You are appealing the initial determination.

As part of each appeal, You may submit any written comments, documents, records, or other information relating to Your claim.

# **DENTAL INSURANCE: PROCEDURES FOR DENTAL CLAIMS (continued)**

After MetLife receives Your written request appealing the initial determination or determination on the first appeal, MetLife will conduct a full and fair review of Your claim. Deference will not be given to initial denials, and MetLife's review will look at the claim anew. The review on appeal will take into account all comments, documents, records, and other information that You submit relating to Your claim without regard to whether such information was submitted or considered in the initial determination. The person who will review Your appeal will not be the same person as the person who made the initial decision to deny Your claim. In addition, the person who is reviewing the appeal will not be a subordinate of the person who made the initial decision to deny Your claim. If the initial denial is based in whole or in part on a medical judgment, MetLife will consult with a health care professional with appropriate training and experience in the field of dentistry involved in the judgment. This health care professional will not have consulted on the initial determination, and will not be a subordinate of any person who was consulted on the initial determination.

MetLife will notify You in writing of its final decision within 30 days after MetLife's receipt of Your written request for review, except that under special circumstances MetLife may have up to an additional 30 days to provide written notification of the final decision. If such an extension is required, MetLife will notify You prior to the expiration of the initial 30 day period, state the reason(s) why such an extension is needed, and state when it will make its determination.

If MetLife denies the claim on appeal, MetLife will send You a final written decision that states the reason(s) why the claim You appealed is being denied and references any specific Plan provision(s) on which the denial is based. If an internal rule, protocol, guideline or other criterion was relied upon in denying the claim on appeal, the final written decision will state the rule, protocol, guideline or other criteria or indicate that such rule, protocol, guideline or other criteria was relied upon and that You may request a copy free of charge. Upon written request, MetLife will provide You free of charge with copies of documents, records and other information relevant to Your claim.

#### **GENERAL PROVISIONS**

#### **Assignment**

The rights and benefits under the Group Policy are not assignable prior to a claim for benefits, except as required by law. We are not responsible for the validity of an assignment.

Upon receipt of a Covered Service, You may assign Dental Insurance benefits to the Dentist providing such service.

#### **Dental Insurance: Who We Will Pay**

If You assign payment of Dental Insurance benefits to Your or Your Dependent's Dentist, We will pay benefits directly to the Dentist. Otherwise, We will pay Dental Insurance benefits to You.

#### **Entire Contract**

Your insurance is provided under a contract of group insurance with the Policyholder. The entire contract with the Policyholder is made up of the following:

- 1. the Group Policy and its Exhibits, which include the certificate(s);
- 2. the Policyholder's application; and
- 3. any amendments and/or endorsements to the Group Policy.

# Incontestability: Statements Made by You

Any statement made by You will be considered a representation and not a warranty.

Evidence of insurability will not be required nor will any statement made by You, which relates to insurability, be used:

- 1. to contest the validity of the insurance benefits; or
- 2. to reduce the insurance benefits.

#### **Conformity with Law**

If the terms and provisions of this certificate do not conform to any applicable law, this certificate shall be interpreted to so conform.

## **Overpayments**

#### **Recovery of Dental Insurance Overpayments**

We have the right to recover any amount that We determine to be an overpayment, whether for services received by You or Your Dependents.

An overpayment occurs if We determine that:

- the total amount paid by Us on a claim for Dental Insurance is more than the total of the benefits due to You under this certificate; or
- payment We made should have been made by another group plan.

If such overpayment occurs, You have an obligation to reimburse Us.

# **GENERAL PROVISIONS (continued)**

# **How We Recover Overpayments**

We may recover the overpayment from You by:

- stopping or reducing any future benefits payable for Dental Insurance;
- demanding an immediate refund of the overpayment from You; and
- taking legal action.

If the overpayment results from Our having made a payment to You that should have been made under another group plan, We may recover such overpayment from one or more of the following:

- any other insurance company;
- any other organization; or
- any person to or for whom payment was made.

# THE PRECEDING PAGE IS THE END OF THE CERTIFICATE. THE FOLLOWING IS ADDITIONAL INFORMATION.



Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Metropolitan Tower Life Insurance Company SafeGuard Health Plans, Inc. Delaware American Life Insurance Company MetLife Health Plans, Inc. SafeHealth Life Insurance Company

# **Our Privacy Notice**

We know that you buy our products and services because you trust us. This notice explains how we protect your privacy and treat your personal information. It applies to current and former customers. "Personal information" as used here means anything we know about you personally.

#### 1.Plan Sponsors and Group Insurance Contract Holders

This privacy notice is for individuals who apply for or obtain our products and services under an employee benefit plan, group insurance or annuity contract, or as an executive benefit. In this notice, "you" refers to these individuals.

#### 2.Protecting Your Information

We take important steps to protect your personal information. We treat it as confidential. We tell our employees to take care in handling it. We limit access to those who need it to perform their jobs. Our outside service providers must also protect it, and use it only to meet our business needs. We also take steps to protect our systems from unauthorized access. We comply with all laws that apply to us.

#### 3. Collecting Your Information

We typically collect your name, address, age, and other relevant information. We may also collect information about any business you have with us, our affiliates, or other companies. Our affiliates include life, car, and home insurers. They also include a legal plans company, and a securities broker-dealer. In the future, we may also have affiliates in other businesses.

#### **4.How We Get Your Information**

We get your personal information mostly from you. We may also use outside sources to help ensure our records are correct and complete. These sources may include consumer reporting agencies, employers, other financial institutions, adult relatives, and others. These sources may give us reports or share what they know with others. We don't control the accuracy of information outside sources give us. If you want to make any changes to information we receive from others about you, you must contact those sources.

We may ask for medical information. The Authorization that you sign when you request insurance permits these sources to tell us about you. We may also, at our expense:

- Ask for a medical exam
- Ask for blood and urine tests
- Ask health care providers to give us health data, including information about alcohol or drug abuse

We may also ask a consumer reporting agency for a "consumer report" about you (or anyone else to be insured). Consumer reports may tell us about a lot of things, including information about:

Reputation

Driving record

Finances

- Work and work history
- Hobbies and dangerous activities

The information may be kept by the consumer reporting agency and later given to others as permitted by law. The agency will give you a copy of the report it provides to us, if you ask the agency and can provide adequate identification. If you write to us and we have asked for a consumer report about you, we will tell you so and give you the name, address and phone number of the consumer reporting agency.

Another source of information is MIB Group, Inc. ("MIB"). It is a non-profit association of life insurance companies. We and our reinsurers may give MIB health or other information about you. If you apply for life or health coverage from another member of MIB, or claim benefits from another member company, MIB will give that company any information that it has about you. If you contact MIB, it will tell you what it knows about you. You have the right to ask MIB to correct its information about you. You may do so by writing to MIB, Inc., 50 Braintree Hill, Suite 400, Braintree, MA 02184-8734, by calling MIB at (866) 692-6901, or by contacting MIB at <a href="https://www.mib.com">www.mib.com</a>.

#### **5.Using Your Information**

We collect your personal information to help us decide if you're eligible for our products or services. We may also need it to verify identities to help deter fraud, money laundering, or other crimes. How we use this information depends on what

products and services you have or want from us. It also depends on what laws apply to those products and services. For example, we may also use your information to:

- administer your products and services
- perform business research
- market new products to you
- comply with applicable laws

- process claims and other transactions
- confirm or correct your information
- help us run our business

### **6.Sharing Your Information With Others**

We may share your personal information with others with your consent, by agreement, or as permitted or required by law. We may share your personal information without your consent if permitted or required by law. For example, we may share your information with businesses hired to carry out services for us. We may also share it with our affiliated or unaffiliated business partners through joint marketing agreements. In those situations, we share your information to jointly offer you products and services or have others offer you products and services we endorse or sponsor. Before sharing your information with any affiliate or joint marketing partner for their own marketing purposes, however, we will first notify you and give you an opportunity to opt out.

Other reasons we may share your information include:

- doing what a court, law enforcement, or government agency requires us to do (for example, complying with search warrants or subpoenas)
- telling another company what we know about you if we are selling or merging any part of our business
- giving information to a governmental agency so it can decide if you are eligible for public benefits
- giving your information to someone with a legal interest in your assets (for example, a creditor with a lien on your account)
- giving your information to your health care provider
- having a peer review organization evaluate your information, if you have health coverage with us
- those listed in our "Using Your Information" section above

#### 7.HIPAA

We will not share your health information with any other company – even one of our affiliates – for their own marketing purposes. The Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act ("HIPAA") protects your information if you request or purchase dental, vision, long-term care and/or medical insurance from us. HIPAA limits our ability to use and disclose the information that we obtain as a result of your request or purchase of insurance. Information about your rights under HIPAA will be provided to you with any dental, vision, long-term care or medical coverage issued to you.

You may obtain a copy of our HIPAA Privacy Notice by visiting our website at <a href="www.MeLife.com">www.MeLife.com</a>. For additional information about your rights under HIPAA; or to have a HIPAA Privacy Notice mailed to you, contact us at <a href="https://hipaaprivacyAmericasUS@metlife.com">https://hipaaprivacyAmericasUS@metlife.com</a>, or call us at telephone number (212) 578-0299.

# **8.Accessing and Correcting Your Information**

You may ask us for a copy of the personal information we have about you. Generally, we will provide it as long as it is reasonably locatable and retrievable. You must make your request in writing listing the account or policy numbers with the information you want to access. For legal reasons, we may not show you privileged information relating to a claim or lawsuit, unless required by law.

If you tell us that what we know about you is incorrect, we will review it. If we agree, we will update our records. Otherwise, you may dispute our findings in writing, and we will include your statement whenever we give your disputed information to anyone outside MetLife.

#### 9. Questions

We want you to understand how we protect your privacy. If you have any questions or want more information about this notice, please contact us. When you write, include your name, address, and policy or account number.

# Send privacy questions to:

MetLife Privacy Office P. O. Box 489 Warwick, RI 02887-9954 privacy@metlife.com

We may revise this privacy notice. If we make any material changes, we will notify you as required by law. We provide this privacy notice to you on behalf of the MetLife companies listed at the top of the first page.

#### PLAN PRIVACY INFORMATION

Notwithstanding any other Plan provision in this or other sections of this Plan, the Plan will operate in accordance with the HIPAA privacy laws and regulations as set forth in 45 CFR Parts 160 and 164, and as they may be amended ("HIPAA") with respect to protected health information ("PHI") as that term is defined therein. The Plan Administrator and/or his or her designee retains full discretion in interpreting these rules and applying them to specific situations. All such decisions shall be given full deference unless the decision is determined to be arbitrary and capricious.

The term "Plan Sponsor" means North Carolina Office of State Human Resources.

The term "Plan Administrator" means the entity designated as Plan Administrator by the Plan documents pursuant to which the plan is operated. If a Plan Administrator is not designated by the plan documents, the Plan Sponsor shall be deemed to the Plan Administrator.

# I. Permitted Uses and Disclosures of PHI by the Plan and the Plan Sponsor

The Plan and the Plan Sponsor are permitted to use and disclose PHI for the following purposes, to the extent they are not inconsistent with HIPAA:

- For general plan administration, including policyholder service functions, enrollment and eligibility functions, reporting functions, auditing functions, financial and billing functions, to assist in the administration of a consumer dispute or inquiry, and any other authorized insurance or benefit function.
- As required for computer programming, consulting or other work done in respect to the computer programs or systems utilized by the Plan.
- Other uses relating to plan administration which are approved in writing by the Plan Administrator.
- At the request of an individual, to assist in resolving an individual's benefit or claim issues.

# II. Uses and Disclosures of PHI by the Plan and the Plan Sponsor for Required Purposes

The Plan and Plan Sponsor may use or disclose PHI for the following required purposes:

- Judicial and administrative proceedings, in response to lawfully executed process such as a court order or subpoena.
- For public health and health oversight activities and other governmental activities accompanied by lawfully executed process.
- As otherwise may be required by law.

#### III. Sharing of PHI With the Plan Sponsor

As a condition of the Plan Sponsor receiving PHI from the Plan, the Plan Documents have been amended to incorporate the following provisions, under which the Plan Sponsor agrees to:

- Not use or further disclose PHI other than as permitted or required by the plan documents in Sections I and II above:
- Ensure that any agents to whom it provides PHI received from the Plan agree to the same restrictions and conditions that apply to the Plan Sponsor;
- Not use or disclose PHI for employment-related actions or decisions or in connection with any other benefit or employee benefit plan of the Plan Sponsor;

- Report to the Plan any use or disclosure of PHI that is inconsistent with the permitted uses or disclosures
  of which it becomes aware;
- Make PHI available to Plan participants for the purposes of the rights of access and inspection, amendment, and accounting of disclosures required by HIPAA;
- Make its internal practices, books and records relating to the use and disclosure of PHI received from the Plan available to the Secretary of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services for purposes of determining compliance by the Plan with HIPAA;
- If feasible, return or destroy all PHI received from the Plan that the sponsor still maintains in any form and retain no copies when no longer needed for the purpose for which disclosure was made, except that, if return or destruction is not feasible, limit further uses and disclosures to those purposes that make the return or destruction of the information infeasible:
- Ensure adequate separation between the Plan and Plan Sponsor in accordance with the following requirements:
  - (A) <u>Employees to be Given Access to PHI</u>: The following employees (or class of employees) of the Plan Sponsor are the only individuals that may access PHI provided by the Plan:

#### **OSHR Benefits Division, HR Generalist**

- (B) <u>Restriction to Plan Administration Functions</u>: The access to and use of PHI by the employees of the Plan Sponsor designated above will be limited to plan administration functions that the Plan Sponsor performs for the Plan.
- (C) <u>Mechanism for Resolving issues of Noncompliance</u>: If the Plan Administrator determines that an employee of the Plan Sponsor designated above has acted in noncompliance with the plan document provisions outlined above, then the Plan Administrator shall take or seek to have taken appropriate disciplinary action with respect to that employee, up to and including termination of employment as appropriate. The Plan Administrator shall also document the facts of the violation, actions that have been taken to discipline the offending party, and the steps taken to prevent future violations.
- Certify to the Plan, prior to the Plan permitting disclosure of PHI to the Plan Sponsor, that the Plan Documents have been amended to incorporate the provisions of this Section III.

## IV. Security

As a condition of the Plan Sponsor receiving electronic PHI ("ePHI") from the Plan, the Plan Documents have been amended to incorporate the following provisions, under which the Plan Sponsor agrees to:

- Implement administrative, physical, and technical safeguards that reasonably and appropriately protect the confidentiality, integrity, and availability of the ePHI that it creates, receives, maintains, or transmits on behalf of the Plan:
- Ensure that the adequate separation between the Plan and the Plan Sponsor, which is required by the applicable section(s) of the Plan relating to the sharing of PHI with the Plan Sponsor, is supported by reasonable and appropriate security measures;
- Ensure that any agent to whom it provides ePHI agrees to implement reasonable and appropriate security measures to protect the information; and
- Report to the Plan any security incident of which it becomes aware. In this context, the term "security
  incident" means the attempted or successful unauthorized access, use, disclosure, modification, or
  destruction of information or interference with system operations in information systems such as
  hardware, software, information, data, applications, communications, and people.

#### **Uniformed Services Employment And Reemployment Rights Act**

This section describes the right that you may have to continue coverage for yourself and your covered dependents under the Uniformed Services Employment and Reemployment Rights Act of 1994 (USERRA).

#### **Continuation of Group Dental Insurance:**

If you take a leave from employment for "service in the uniformed services," as that term is defined in USERRA, and as a consequence your dental insurance coverage under your employer's group dental insurance policy ends, you may elect to continue dental insurance for yourself and your covered dependents, for a limited period of time, as described below.

The law requires that your employer notify you of your rights, benefits and obligations under USERRA including instructions on how to elect to continue insurance, the amount and procedure for payment of premium. If permitted by USERRA, your employer may require that you elect to continue coverage within a period of time specified by your employer.

You may be responsible for payment of the required premium to continue insurance. If your leave from employment for service in the uniformed services lasts less than 31 days, your required premium will be no more than the amount you were required to pay for dental insurance before the leave began; for a leave lasting 31 or more days, you may be required to pay up to 102% of the total dental insurance premium, including any amount that your employer was paying before the leave began.

Your and your covered dependents' insurance that is continued pursuant to USERRA will end on the earliest of the following:

- the end of 24 consecutive months from the date your leave from employment for service in the uniformed services begins; or
- the day after the date on which you fail to apply for, or return to employment, in accordance with USERRA.

You and your covered dependent may become entitled to continuation of coverage under the Consolidated Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act ("COBRA") while you have dental insurance coverage under your employer's group dental insurance policy pursuant to USERRA. Contact your employer for more information.

#### NOTICE OF YOUR RIGHTTO COBRA CONTINUATION COVERAGE

COBRA is a federal law that requires most group health plans to give their employees and their dependents the opportunity to continue coverage when coverage is terminated due to certain specific events. If your employment terminates for any reason other than your gross misconduct, or if your hours worked are reduced so that your coverage terminates, you may be able to continue coverage under This Plan for a period of up to 18 months. If it is determined under the terms of the Social Security Act that you is disabled within the first 60 days of COBRA coverage, you may be able to continue coverage under This Plan for an additional 11 months after the expiration of the 18 month period. Group health plans for employers with fewer than 20 employees, church plans, and plans established and maintained by the federal government are not subject to COBRA continuation requirements.

During the continuation period, a child of yours that is (1) born; (2) adopted by you; or (3) placed with you for adoption, will be treated as if the child were a covered dependent at the time coverage was lost due to an event described above.

This continuation will terminate on the earliest of:

- a. the end of the 18, 29 or 36 month continuation period, as the case may be:
- b. the date of expiration of the last period for which the required payment was made;
- c. the date, after to continue coverage, that you covered under another group health plan as long as the new plan does not contain any exclusion or limitation with respect to your preexisting condition:
- d. the date your employer ceases to provide any group health plan for its employees.

Notice will be given when entitled to continue coverage under This Plan. You will then have 60 days to elect to continue coverage. If you do not notify your Employer within the 60-day election period, you will lose the option to elect continuation coverage.

Each person who is eligible for COBRA coverage is entitled to make a separate election of COBRA coverage. Any person who elects to continue coverage under This Plan must pay the full cost of that coverage (including both the share you now pay and the share your Employer now pays), plus any additional amounts permitted by law. Your payments for continued coverage must be made on the first day of each month in advance.

If you do not elect COBRA coverage, your coverage will end. However, if you initially waive COBRA continuation coverage before the end of the 60-day election period, you may change your election by sending the completed election form to the Plan Administrator and postmarking it no later than the last day of the 60-day election period.

#### **Qualifying Event Due To Bankruptcy Of Employer**

Sometimes, filing a proceeding in bankruptcy under title 11 of the United States Code can be a qualifying event. If a proceeding in bankruptcy is filed with respect to the Employer, and that bankruptcy results in the loss of coverage of any retired employee covered under This Plan, the retired employee will become a qualified beneficiary with respect to the bankruptcy. The retired employee's covered spouse and covered dependent children will also become qualified beneficiaries if bankruptcy results in the loss of their coverage under This Plan.

#### If You Elect COBRA

If you choose COBRA coverage and pay the required premiums, you are entitled to coverage which, as of the time coverage is being provided, is identical to the coverage provided by the Employer to similarly situated active Employees. This means that if the coverage for similarly situated Employees changes, coverage will change for those who elected COBRA coverage.

#### **Duration Of COBRA Coverage**

The law requires that you be given the opportunity to maintain COBRA coverage for 36 months from the date coverage ends as a result of the qualifying event unless you lost coverage because of the covered Employee's termination of employment or reduction in hours. In that case, the required COBRA coverage period is 18 months from the date you lose coverage as a result of the termination of employment or reduction in hours. However, the 18-month coverage period may be extended under the following circumstances:

**Disability.** If any person entitled to COBRA coverage (the covered Employee) is determined by the Social Security Administration to have been disabled at any time during the first 60 days of COBRA coverage period and the disability lasts at least until the end of the 18 month period of continuation coverage, then all such persons entitled to elect COBRA coverage may be able to continue coverage for up to 29 months, rather than 18 months.

In order to be eligible for the additional 11 months of COBRA coverage, the covered Employee must notify the Employer's COBRA Administrator within 60 days of the **latest** of: (1) the Social Security Administration's determination of disability; (2) the date of the qualifying event; (3) the date on which the covered Employee's coverage initially was or will be lost; or (4) the date a person entitled to COBRA coverage is informed of this obligation by being provided the initial COBRA notice for the applicable group health plan. Written notice to the COBRA Administrator must be received before the end of the initial 18-month coverage period. A copy of the Social Security Administration's determination must be provided to the COBRA Administrator. **If these procedures are not followed, there will be no disability extension of COBRA.** 

During the additional 11 months of coverage, your cost for that coverage will be approximately 50% higher than it was during the preceding 18 months.

The additional 11 months of coverage provided on account of a disability will end as of the earlier of:

- The first day of the month beginning more than 30 days after a final determination by the Social Security Administration that the disability no longer exists; or
- The last day of the 29th month of total coverage.

A person entitled to COBRA coverage must notify the COBRA Administrator within 30 days if the Social Security Administration determines that the disabled person is no longer disabled. This Plan reserves the right to retroactively cancel COBRA coverage, and will require reimbursement of all benefits paid for claims incurred after coverage terminates.

**Subsequent Qualifying Events.** If, during the 18-month period of COBRA coverage (or within the 29-month maximum coverage period in the case of a disability extension), the covered Employee and the spouse divorce, the covered Employee dies, the covered Employee becomes entitled to Medicare, or a dependent ceases to be an eligible dependent under the terms of This Plan, then the covered spouse and/or covered dependent child(ren) (as applicable) may be able to extend COBRA coverage for up to 36 months from the date of the termination of employment or reduction in hours.

A person entitled to COBRA coverage must notify the Employer's COBRA Administrator of the subsequent event no later than 60 days after its occurrence. If such notification is not given, the covered spouse and/or covered dependent child will not be entitled to the additional COBRA coverage.

#### **Premiums For COBRA Coverage**

A person entitled to COBRA coverage is entirely responsible for paying the premiums for COBRA coverage. The required payment for each continuation coverage period for each option will be described in the notice that is sent when an individual experiences a qualifying event.

# **Initial Premium Payment**

If continuation of coverage is elected, payment for continuation coverage must be made no later than 45 days after the date of such election. (This is the date the election notice is post-marked, if mailed.) If the first payment for continuation coverage is not made in full by the 45th day after the date of election, continuation coverage under This Plan will end. A person entitled to COBRA coverage is responsible for making sure that the amount of the first payment is correct.

After the first payment for continuation coverage, the amount due for each coverage period for each qualified beneficiary will be provided when coverage is elected.