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Purpose  

The Office of State Human Resources has established this policy to allow State Agencies 

to offer a Paid Parental Leave pilot program. Paid Parental Leave is designed to promote 

families’ physical and mental health, increase worker retention, and improve worker 

productivity and morale. In accordance with G.S. 126-1, the Office of State Human 

Resources has established the following policy to provide guidance to agencies in 

developing Paid Parental Leave pilot programs.  

_________________________________________________________________________  

Covered Employees  

An employee’s eligibility for Paid Parental Leave shall be made based on the employee’s 

months of service and hours of work as of the date of the qualifying life event.  Employees 

who become parents via childbirth, adoption, foster care or another legal placement are 

eligible if: 

 

• Employee is full-time or part-time (half-time or more) in a permanent, probationary, 

or time-limited position.  Leave for part-time employees will be awarded on a pro-

rated basis corresponding to the percentage of hours they normally are scheduled 

to work. 

• Employee has been continuously employed by the State of North Carolina for the 

immediate twelve (12) preceding months. 

• Employee must be eligible for Family and Medical Leave (FML) by being in pay 

status for at least 1,040 hours in the previous twelve-month period. 
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Temporary and part-time (less than half-time) employees are not eligible to participate in 

this program.  

The decision whether to allow a position or an employee to use Paid Parental Leave is 

wholly within management discretion and is not appealable to the Office of Administrative 

Hearings. 

______________________________________________________________________

Definitions  

For purposes of this policy, the terms below mean the following:  

State Agency - Any North Carolina department, agency, board, commission, committee 

or University with employees subject to the State Human Resources Act, G.S. 126. 

Eligible State Employee - A full-time, part-time (half-time or more) permanent, 

probationary, or time-limited employee who has been continuously employed by the 

State of North Carolina for the immediate twelve (12) preceding months and is eligible 

for Family and Medical Leave (FML) by being in pay status for at least 1,040 hours in 

the previous twelve-month period, as set forth in 25 N.C. Admin. Code 01 E .1402(a). 

Parent - A parent by childbirth, adoption, foster care, or other legal placement. 

 

Child - A newborn biological Child or a newly-placed adopted, foster or otherwise 

legally placed Child under the age of eighteen (18), whose Parent is an Eligible State 

Employee.  

Paid Parental Leave – 100% paid leave to be provided to an Eligible State Employee 

upon the Eligible State Employee giving birth for both recuperation during the disability 

period and bonding with a newborn Child, or leave provided to other Eligible State 

Employees to care for and bond with a newborn Child or newly adopted, foster or 

otherwise legally placed Child.  Note: Leave for a part-time (half-time or more) Eligible 

State Employee shall be on a prorated basis corresponding to the percentage of hours 

they are normally scheduled to work. Unless otherwise specified in this policy, Executive 

Order 95, Providing Paid Parental Leave to Eligible State Employees. or in OSHR 
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guidelines, leave for part-time State Agency employees shall be the same in all respects 

as Paid Parental Leave for Eligible State Employees.   

Note:  Agencies granting parental leave must uphold the principle of equal treatment 

established in Rotondo v. J.P. Morgan, 1:19 cv 408 (S.D. Ohio 2019),   For example, 

under Executive Order 95 the birth mother receives four (4) weeks for recuperation and 

recovery and four (4) weeks for parental bonding leave which is equal to the four (4) 

weeks the other parent receives for parental bonding leave.  The non-birth parent did 

not give birth so they are not receiving unequal treatment by not receiving recuperation 

and recovery leave.  Alternatively, equal treatment could be structured as both parents 

receiving eight (8) weeks of parental, bonding leave. 

Public Safety Concern - A significant impairment to the State Agency's ability to 

conduct its operations in a manner that protects the health and safety of North 

Carolinians. The extension of Paid Parental Leave to an Eligible State Employee may 

constitute a Public Safety Concern if: (1) the provision of Paid Parental Leave results 

in State Agency staffing levels below what is required by federal or state law to 

maintain operational safety or that may impact the health or safety of staff, patients, 

residents, offenders, or other individuals the State Agency is required by law to 

protect, and (2) the State Agency has been unable to secure supplemental staffing 

after requesting or diligently exploring alternative staffing options. 

Qualifying Event - The birth of a Child to an Eligible State Employee, or the adoption, 

foster care placement, or other legal placement of a Child with an Eligible State 

Employee. 

  

 

OSHR Responsibility  

The Office of State Human Resources will provide guidance to State Agencies developing 

Paid Parental Leave pilot programs.   

 

 

Agency Responsibilities 
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• Submit to the Office of State Human Resources a written request, signed by the 

Agency Head (or designee), to develop a Paid Parental Leave pilot program to include 

a copy of the policies and procedures for review. 

• Develop a written internal policy and procedure that identifies the criteria for the pilot 

to include the eligibility requirements for employees. Disseminate information 

concerning the Paid Parental Leave pilot program to new and existing employees. 

• Agencies shall report Paid Parental Leave activities to the Office of State Human 

Resources by August 1st of each year.   

_________________________________________________________________________ 

Designation of Terms or Paid Parental Leave Policy Arrangements  

All Paid Parental Leave arrangements shall be written and include the responsibilities of 

both the agency and the employee. Each participant in the Paid Parental Leave 

arrangement must sign the document that contains the terms of the Paid Parental Leave 

arrangement. At a minimum, the document shall define the parameters of the Paid 

Parental Leave arrangement and shall comply with the policy provisions below:  

1. Compensation and Benefits:  Each week of Paid Parental Leave will be compensated 

at 100% of the employee’s regular, straight-time weekly pay.  

2. Parents shall certify that Paid Parental Leave past the recuperation and recovery stage 

of childbirth is being utilized for bonding with the Child. 

3. Agencies shall provide eight (8) weeks (320 hours) of Paid Parental Leave to Eligible 

State Employees who have given birth for recuperation during the disability period and 

bonding with a newborn Child, and eight (8) weeks (320 hours) of Paid Parental Leave 

shall be provided to other Eligible State Employees to care for and bond with a 

newborn Child or newly adopted, foster or otherwise legally placed Child.  The amount 

of Paid Parental Leave awarded through this pilot program shall not exceed eight (8) 

weeks to Eligible State Employees for birth, adoption, foster or otherwise legal 

placement of a Child.  

 

Termination of Paid Parental Leave Arrangement  
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The agency may terminate the Paid Parental Leave pilot agreement at its discretion. 

Termination of a Paid Parental Leave pilot arrangement by management is not grievable 

to the Office of Administrative Hearings under personnel policies. All other grievable rights 

shall be set forth in agency policy.  

_________________________________________________________________________ 

Agencies Operating Under the Governor’s Oversight 

A cabinet agency may offer a Paid Parental Leave pilot program that is more generous than 

required in Executive Order 95, Providing Paid Parental Leave to Eligible State Employees, 

and may determine to discontinue an offered pilot program.  Nevertheless, all cabinet 

agencies must, at a minimum, comply with Executive Order 95 as long as the Executive Order 

is in effect. 


