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Statutory Authority 

The North Carolina Workers’ Compensation Act (WC Act), Chapter 97 of the NC General 

Statutes, governs claims for compensation for injuries arising out of employment.  The North 

Carolina Industrial Commission (NCIC) maintains claim records, adjudicates disputes, and 

approves certain awards of benefits in accordance with the WC Act.  

The Office of State Human Resources (OSHR) pursuant to Chapter 143, Article 63 of the 

General Statutes, administers the State Workers’ Compensation Program (SWCP) for all 

claims arising in State agencies.  The State is self-insured for workers’ compensation 

liabilities.  OSHR contracts with vendor(s) to provide workers’ compensation claim 

administration and related services.  Each State agency is responsible for paying individual 

claim costs.  The SWCP covers all agency and university full-time, part-time, and temporary 

State employees and officers including all State elected officials, members of the General 

Assembly and those appointed to serve on a per diem, part-time or fee basis. 
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Special Considerations 

Claims of employees of the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction are 

administered through a separate workers’ compensation program per N.C.G.S. §115C-337. 

This policy applies to employees eligible for salary continuation pursuant to N.C.G.S. §143-

166.14 and §115C-338. 

Temporary employees are not eligible for leave; thus, leave related benefits described in this 

policy do not apply to temporary employee injuries. 

___________________________________________________________________________ 

Purpose  

The purpose of this policy is to provide a brief overview of the SWCP including the 

responsibilities of employees, employers, and OSHR.  It is the goal of the SWCP to 

consistently apply the WC Act, administrative rules, policies, and procedures to provide 

benefits to which an injured employee is entitled under the WC Act.   

___________________________________________________________________________ 

Employee Responsibility 

An injured employee is responsible for making a workers’ compensation claim pursuant to 

the WC Act.  In accordance with the WC Act, no compensation shall be payable unless 

written notice is given within 30 days unless reasonable excuse is made to the satisfaction 

of the NCIC for not giving such notice, and the NCIC is satisfied that the employer has not 

been prejudiced thereby.  

An injured employee or the employee’s legal representative shall: 

• give notice of an accident to the employee’s supervisor immediately following the 

accident; 

• give written notice of an accident to the employer within 30 days after occurrence of 

the accident or death; 

• obtain authorized medical treatment as directed by employer;   

• timely provide all written statements from authorized treating physician regarding the 

employee’s work status to supervisor; 

• cooperate with authorized medical providers, vendors, and employer; and 
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• if appropriate, file a claim with the NCIC within two years from the date of injury or 

knowledge of an occupational disease.  

___________________________________________________________________________  

Employer Responsibilities 

Each State agency is responsible for administering an effective and efficient workers’ 

compensation program. The agency shall ensure injured employees receive benefits which 

are paid with State funds to which the employee is entitled under the WC Act while 

controlling and containing claim costs.  To meet these objectives, each agency shall: 

• designate a Workers’ Compensation Administrator responsible for ensuring 

appropriate reporting and monitoring of all agency claims;  

• timely pay all claim costs;  

• communicate workers’ compensation policies and procedures to all employees and 

supervisors;  

• report injuries to the State’s claims administration vendor who shall make required 

injury reports to the NCIC within five days from knowledge of any claim that results in 

more than one day’s absence from work or if medical expenses exceed the 

reportable amount established by the NCIC;  

• communicate regularly with workers’ compensation vendors, OSHR, and the 

Attorney General’s office, if applicable, to assist in handling of claims; and 

• actively participate in claim related decision-making processes, mediations, NCIC 

hearings, settlement negotiations, and execution of settlement documents as 

needed.   

_________________________________________________________________________ 

Office of State Human Resources (OSHR) Responsibilities 

OSHR shall: 

• serve as SWCP information resource and liaison for employees and employers;  
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• provide consultation to agency staff in managing their workers’ compensation 

programs regarding application of WC Act requirements, administrative rules, 

policies and procedures to all claims;  

• measure and evaluate the effectiveness of agencies’ workers’ compensation 

programs and recommend changes to achieve optimum results;  

• engage in vendor contract oversight and monitoring, evaluate vendor effectiveness, 

and serve as liaison between all workers’ compensation vendors and State 

agencies; and  

• develop training and educational materials for use in training programs for the 

agencies and provide periodic training for agency workers’ compensation 

administrators. 

____________________________________________________________________________ 

Leave on Day of Injury   

An injured employee receives usual pay and no leave is charged for the day of injury if the 

employee is treated by an authorized treating physician who instructs the employee not to 

return to full duty or restricted duty work.  

When an injured employee is treated by an authorized treating physician who instructs the 

employee to return to full duty or restricted duty work on the date of injury, the injured 

employee will not be charged leave for time spent obtaining authorized medical treatment. 

An injured employee shall obtain a written statement from the authorized treating physician 

indicating that the employee was instructed not to return to full duty or restricted duty work 

on the date of injury and present it to the supervisor as soon as practical thereafter. 

____________________________________________________________________________ 

Leave During Seven-Day Waiting Period  

During the seven-day waiting period required by N.C.G.S. §97-28, an injured employee 

must select one of the options listed below.  Once an election is made, it may not be 

rescinded for the duration of the claim.   

Option 1: Employee may use available sick, vacation, bonus, or compensatory leave if 

applied within the time frames provided under the Hours of Work and Overtime 

Compensation policy.  
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Option 2: Employee may go on leave without pay.   

If the injury results in disability of more than seven days, the weekly disability compensation 

benefit shall be allowed from the first date of disability.  If this occurs in the case of an 

employee who elected to use leave during the waiting period, no adjustment shall be made 

for leave used for these days.  

___________________________________________________________________________ 

Workers’ Compensation Leave of Absence 

After the N.C.G.S. §97-28 waiting period is satisfied, an injured employee who is full-time or 

part-time (half-time or more) permanent, probationary, trainee, or time limited and is unable 

to return to full duty or restricted duty work as certified by a written statement from the 

authorized treating physician will be placed on workers’ compensation leave.   

____________________________________________________________________________

Use of Supplemental Leave  

After an injured employee has been placed on workers’ compensation leave (i.e. waiting 

period is exhausted), an employee may supplement weekly disability compensation by use 

of leave (sick, vacation, or bonus) earned prior to the injury in accordance with a schedule 

published by OSHR each year.  Compensatory leave may also be used if applied within the 

timeframes provided under the Hours of Work and Overtime Compensation policy.  An 

injured employee may be eligible for transferred/donated leave for use as supplemental 

leave.  

Supplemental leave is paid at the employee’s hourly rate of pay and is subject to State and 

Federal withholding taxes and Social Security, but not subject to retirement withholding.   

____________________________________________________________________________

No Leave Required for Follow-up Authorized Medical Treatment After Return To Work 

An injured employee that has returned to work is not charged leave for time lost from work 

for authorized injury related medical treatment that occurs during regularly scheduled work 

hours.  However, time away from work attending authorized medical treatment shall be 

noted in the injured employee’s payroll records.  Paid time is limited to reasonable time for 

medical treatment and travel.  Any excess time away from work shall be unpaid or recorded 

as leave without pay or charged to earned leave (sick, vacation, or bonus) or compensatory 
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leave if applied within the time frames provided under the Hours of Work and Overtime 

Compensation policy.   

If an employee previously incurred a compensable injury while working for another State 

employer, the workers’ compensation administrator or human resources representative of 

the current employing agency shall contact the prior State employer to confirm employee’s 

attendance at authorized injury related medical appointments.  The injured employee is not 

charged leave for time lost from work for authorized injury related medical treatment related 

to the previously occurring injury in accordance with guidelines described above.   

A State employee injured while working for a non-State employer is charged leave for time 

away from work for medical treatment.   

____________________________________________________________________________  

Attending Workers’ Compensation Legal Proceedings  

Employees as follows are not charged leave for reasonable time away from work attending 

workers’ compensation related legal proceedings 

• Injured employee, witness, or other employee requested to attend by the Attorney 

General’s office;  

• Employee subpoenaed by either party; 

• Employee whose attendance is approved by their employing agency. 

____________________________________________________________________________  

Vacation and Sick Leave Credits Continue  

While on workers’ compensation leave, an injured employee continues accumulating 

vacation and sick leave to be credited to the employee’s account for use upon return to 

work. 

____________________________________________________________________________ 

Leave Payout if Employee Does Not Return to Work 

If an injured employee does not return to work following workers’ compensation leave, the 

employee shall be paid a lump sum for unused vacation and bonus leave eligible for payout 

already earned as of the date of injury, unused vacation and sick leave accumulated only 

during the first 12 months of workers’ compensation leave, and any unused bonus leave 

eligible for payout on or after the date of injury.  
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____________________________________________________________________________ 

Vacation Leave in Excess of 240 Hours  

When an injured employee returns to work following a period of workers’ compensation 

leave, the employee’s vacation leave balance may exceed the 240-hour maximum as the 

employee has been unable to exhaust leave during the period of workers’ compensation 

leave.  This shall be handled as follows: 

• The 240-hour maximum to be carried forward to the next calendar year may be 

exceeded by the amount of vacation accumulated during workers’ compensation 

leave. The excess vacation leave may be used after returning to work or carried on 

the leave account until the end of the calendar year at which time any vacation leave 

exceeding the 240-hour maximum shall be converted to sick leave.   

• If the employee separates for any reason during the period (i.e. calendar year) that 

excess vacation is allowed, the employee shall be paid a lump sum for unused 

vacation and bonus leave eligible for payout already earned as of the date of injury, 

unused vacation leave accumulated during the first twelve months of workers’ 

compensation leave, and unused bonus leave eligible for payout granted on or after 

the date of injury.  

____________________________________________________________________________ 

Health Insurance  

While on workers’ compensation leave prior to separation, an injured employee may elect to 

continue or not continue health insurance coverage under the State Health Plan or other 

employer-based health plan.  All injured employees are responsible for paying directly the 

employee’s share of monthly premiums for the employee coverage and premiums for any 

dependent coverage.  Employers should provide detailed information to all injured 

employees regarding health insurance coverage continuation and premium payments while 

an injured employee is receiving weekly disability compensation.   

____________________________________________________________________________

Retirement Service Credit  

While on workers’ compensation leave, an injured employee does not receive retirement 

service credit.  After returning to work, an injured employee may purchase service credits for 
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the time period on workers’ compensation leave. Upon employee request, the Retirement 

System will provide a statement of the cost and date by which purchase must be made.  If 

purchase is not made by the deadline date, the cost must be recomputed.  

____________________________________________________________________________ 

Total State Service Credit  

While on workers’ compensation leave, an injured employee remains in pay status and 

continues to receive total state service credit.    

____________________________________________________________________________ 

Longevity Pay  

While on workers’ compensation leave, an injured employee remains in pay status and 

continues to receive longevity credit.  Injured employees eligible for longevity pay receive 

their annual payments.  

____________________________________________________________________________  

Severance Salary Continuation Eligibility 

While on workers’ compensation leave, an injured employee is not excluded from eligibility 

for severance salary continuation if the employee otherwise meets the eligibility 

requirements set forth in 25 NCAC 01D .2702.  

____________________________________________________________________________

Reinstatement of Salary  

Upon return to work following a period of workers’ compensation leave, an employee’s 

salary shall be computed based on the last salary plus any legislative increase to which 

entitled. Any performance increase which would have been given had the employee been 

working may be included in the reinstatement of salary, or it may be given on any payment 

date following reinstatement. 

____________________________________________________________________________ 

Return to Work  

When an injured employee is released to return to work by the authorized treating physician 

and the employee has not been separated, the employer should act as follows:  

1. If  an injured employee has reached maximum medical improvement and has been 

released to return to work by the authorized treating physician without restrictions or 
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with restrictions that can be accommodated, the agency shall return the employee to 

the same position held prior to the period of workers’ compensation leave.  

2. If an injured employee has reached maximum medical improvement and has been 

released to return to work by the authorized treating physician but has been 

assigned work restrictions which cannot be accommodated in the previous position, 

the agency shall attempt to place the employee in another position that is suitable to 

the employee’s capacity.  

3. If an injured employee has not reached maximum medical improvement but is able to 

return to work with restrictions assigned by the authorized treating physician, the 

agency shall provide a work assignment suitable to the employee’s capacity and 

approved by the treating physician if such work is available.  

Advisory Note: The WC Act does not prohibit the separation of an employee in receipt of 

workers’ compensation benefits.  Employees should not be separated in retaliation for 

filing a workers’ compensation claim.  Separation may occur anytime in accordance with 

25 NCAC 01C .1007 Separation. 

____________________________________________________________________________ 

Refusal of Suitable Employment  

If an employee who is released to return to work by written statement of the authorized 

treating physician refuses suitable employment, the employer shall request termination of 

disability compensation payments and implement separation procedures. 

 

 

   


