OUTSTANDING GOVERNMENT SERVICE



KELLY MCIVER TEAM AWARD Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, IMPEC Grant Program

In July 2020, the North Carolina General Assembly allocated \$10 million in funding to the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services for the Increasing Meat Production, Efficiency and Capacity (IMPEC) Grant Program. The purpose of this program was to stimulate North Carolina commerce by increasing small-scale livestock and seafood processing efficiency and capacity with the goal of combating food insecurity and addressing vulnerabilities caused by the pandemic. The seven individuals that worked on this project ranged in roles from managing grant programs to marketing North Carolina's meat and seafood products.

The IMPEC team completed their program duties on top of their already busy workload – and without using any allocated funds to cover administrative costs, ensuring that the dollars went directly to eligible North Carolina processors. Their hard work led to quick, impactful results across the state. Within three months of the program's launch in July 2020, this dedicated team contacted companies, personally visited business locations, processed applications, verified paperwork and awarded funding to accepted organizations. By December 2020, 57 grants were awarded through the IMPEC program. The program's funding was later expanded to \$20.25 million to continue the team's work.

As the program progressed, the IMPEC team was diligent in its management of this important work. Grant recipients saw positive results, including one organization that used the funding to increase its capacity and sales by over 20 percent in 2021.

The tireless efforts of these seven individuals benefited all citizens of North Carolina. The IMPEC program enhanced livestock and seafood processing firms across the state, allowing more products to safely enter the marketplace in a time of scarcity. The State of North Carolina is grateful to Pete Anderson, John Aydlett, Sam Brake, Joe Hampton, Kelly McIver, Allison Medlin and Jack Nales for their outstanding government service.