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Note: The law on paid parental leave for state employees, G.S. 126-8.6, became effective July
1, 2023. Section 126-8.6 was revised by 2023 House Bill 190, Session Law 2023-65, before its
effective date. This version of the Paid Parental Leave Policy includes the effect of the House

Bill 190 revisions. Permanent rules were adopted effective August 1, 2024.

Purpose
Paid Parental Leave is designed to promote families’ physical and mental health,
increase worker retention, and improve worker productivity and morale. In accordance with
N.C.G.S. § 126-1 and 126-8.6, the Office of State Human Resources has established the
following policy to provide guidance to agencies regarding the Paid Parental Leave

programs.

Covered Employees
An employee’s eligibility for Paid Parental Leave shall be determined based on the
employee’s months of service and hours of work as of the date of the qualifying life event.
Employees who become parents via childbirth, adoption, foster care, or another legal

placement are eligible if:
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* Employee is full-time or part-time (regardless whether half-time or more) in a
permanent, probationary, or time-limited appointment.

* For the immediate 12 preceding months, employee has been employed without
a break in service' by the State of North Carolina in a permanent, time-limited,
or probationary appointment.

o Periods of worker’'s compensation or short-term disability in the 12
months preceding the qualifying events do not make the employee
ineligible for paid parental leave.

o Periods of leave without pay, as defined in 25 NCAC 01E .1100 and the
Leave Without Pay Policy, shall not constitute a break in service.?

+ Employee must be eligible for Family and Medical Leave (FML) by being in pay
status for at least 1,040 hours in the previous twelve-month period.

o Whether an employee exhausted FML does not affect eligibility for paid
parental leave.

Temporary employees are not eligible to participate in this program.

§3. Definitions
For purposes of this policy, the terms below mean the following:
State Agency: Any State agency, department, institution, office, board, or commission,
including institutions and offices of the University of North Carolina, but excluding the
legislative branch, the judicial branch, community college institutions, and public
schools. Whether an agency is covered by N.C.G.S § 126-8.6 and this Policy does not
depend on whether its employees are otherwise subject to the State Human Resources
Act, N.C.G.S. Chapter 126.

Eligible State Employee: A full-time or part-time employee in a permanent, probationary,

or time-limited appointment who has been employed without a break in service by the
State of North Carolina in a permanent, time-limited, or probationary appointment for

the immediate twelve (12) preceding months and who is eligible for Family and Medical

"Under 25 NCAC 01D .0114, “A break in service shall be deemed to occur when an employee is not in
pay status, as defined in 25 NCAC 01D .0105, for more than 31 calendar days.” Pay status is defined to
mean, “An employee shall be deemed to be in pay status when working, when on paid leave, when
exhausting vacation or sick leave, or when on workers' compensation leave.” 25 NCAC 01D .0105(a).
225 NCAC 01D .0114.
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Leave (FML) by being in pay status for at least 1,040 hours in the previous twelve-
month period, as set forth in 25 N.C. Admin. Code 01E .1402(a).

Parent: Either (a) the mother or father of a child through birth or legal adoption, or (b) an
individual who cares for a child through foster or other legal placement under the
direction of a government authority.

Child: A newborn biological Child or a newly-placed adopted, foster or otherwise legally
placed Child under the age of eighteen (18), whose Parent is an Eligible State Employee.
Paid Parental Leave: 100% paid leave to be provided to an Eligible State Employee

either (a) upon the Eligible State Employee giving birth for both recuperation during the
disability period and bonding with a newborn Child, or (b) to other Eligible State
Employees to care for and bond with a newborn Child or newly adopted, foster or
otherwise legally placed Child.

Note: Agencies granting parental leave must uphold the principle of equal treatment.
See Equal Employment Opportunity Commission, Enforcement Guidance on
Pregnancy Discrimination and Related Issues, Section I(C)(3) (June 25, 2015),

available at https://www.eeoc.gov/laws/qguidance/enforcement-guidance-pregnancy-

discrimination-and-related-issues. For example under G.S. 126-8.6, the birth mother

receives four (4) weeks for recuperation and recovery and four (4) weeks for parental
bonding leave, which is equal to the four (4) weeks the other parent receives for
parental bonding leave. The non-birth parent did not give birth, so they are not

receiving unequal treatment by not receiving recuperation and recovery leave.

Public Safety Concern: A significant impairment to the State Agency's ability to conduct its

operations in a manner that protects the health and safety of North Carolinians. The

extension of Paid Parental Leave to an Eligible State Employee may constitute a Public

Safety Concern if:

(1) Providing the Paid Parental Leave would result results in State Agency staffing levels
below what is required by federal or state law to maintain operational safety; or

(2) Providing Paid Parental Leave may impact the health or safety of staff, patients,
residents, offenders, or other individuals the State Agency is required by law to protect;

and
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(3) The State Agency has been unable to secure supplemental staffing after requesting or

diligently exploring alternative staffing options.

Qualifying Event: When an Eligible State Employee becomes a Parent to a Child. This

includes miscarriage or stillbirth that occurs after the 12" completed week of pregnancy but

before childbirth is complete.

§4. OSHR Responsibilities

Develop and disseminate the rule and policy on the administration of Paid Parental
Leave to include how this leave interacts with FML and other leave as applicable.
Collaborate with State Agencies to ensure State Agency employees, management and
staff receive information about and understand the obligations and rights contained in
the Paid Parental Leave Policy.

Report to the Office of the Governor on usage of Paid Parental Leave by September 1
of each year.

Initiate any additional steps necessary to provide guidance in administering Paid

Parental Leave.

§5. Agency Responsibilities

Provide the required documentation to employees for completion of the certification
process.

Upon receiving a request for Paid Parental Leave and documentation from the
Eligible State Employee, the agency must respond within 5 business days. See §
9.3 of this Policy for how the agency must respond.

There can be no disciplinary actions taken against the employee for being absent
while on paid parental leave. However, this provision does not prevent the
employee from receiving disciplinary actions for conduct/performance as long as it
is not related to the four or eight weeks of paid parental leave unless there is
evidence of fraudulent use.

Employees that have begun approved paid parental leave should not be required to
return to work early due to staffing issues.

Disseminate information concerning the Paid Parental Leave Program to new and

existing employees.
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* Agencies shall report Paid Parental Leave activities to the Office of State Human
Resources by August 15t of each year.

» If the State Agency delays or denies any Paid Parental Leave requests due to
Public Safety Concerns, the State Agency must develop a written internal policy and
procedure that identifies the criteria that the State Agency will use to provide

consistent treatment for all similarly situated employees.

§6. Employee Responsibilities
- Whenever possible, employees shall be required to submit a written request to notify

their Employing State Agency ten (10) weeks in advance of their intention to use Paid

Parental Leave so that the State Agency may secure backfill coverage.
. Employees may withdraw their request for Paid Parental Leave at any time.

. Employees shall be required to comply with agency leave request procedures, absent

unusual circumstances.

. Employees shall be required to submit documentation as listed in § 7 below. State
Agencies may take appropriate action if there is evidence that the employee
fraudulently requested, used, or otherwise abused Paid Parental Leave. This action

may include revoking approval and disciplinary action up to and including dismissal.

§7. Certification of Eligibility for Paid Parental Leave
Eligible State Employees shall be required to certify that they will use Paid Parental

Leave to give birth to a Child, recover from miscarriage or stillbirth, or will use Paid Parental
Leave to care for or bond with a Child.

Employees may be required to submit documentation of the birth, miscarriage or
stillbirth, or placement (if applicable). The initial certification form may be required before the

Qualifying Event (unless a birth comes unexpectedly, including events of a miscarriage or
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stillbirth), while the documentation of the birth or placement will be required at a reasonable

time after the Qualifying Event. Official documents may include but are not limited to:

Qualifying Event Acceptable Documentation
Adoption * Adoption Order
* Proof of Placement
Birth » Birth Certificate or Report of Birth

* Certified DNA Results

* Custody Order

Foster Placement * Foster Care Placement Agreement
* Custody Order

*  Proof of Placement

Other Legal Placements * Custody Order

*  Proof of Placement
Miscarriage or stillbirth after the 12" * Note from medical professional or
completed week of pregnancy (birth parent other medical documentation showing
only) the event occurred after the 121"

completed week of pregnancy.

Documents provided must show the date of birth, miscarriage, stillbirth, or date of
placement, if placement was a date other than the date of birth. The name of the legal
Parent must appear on some legal document establishing the birth or placement, such as
the birth certificate, a legal document establishing paternity, or a legal document

establishing adoption.

§8. Leave Available
Unless otherwise stated, the amounts of leave listed below are for a full-time
employee. See the section on part-time employees below for the leave available to part-

time employees.

In situations where leave is not available under this policy, agencies can allow

adequate time to parents or the persons who would have become parents for recovery or
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bereavement, using sick leave, vacation leave, bonus leave, compensatory time, and any

other leave options, including leave without pay, that may be available to the employee.

Leave Available Under N.C.G.S. § 126-8.6

As a minimum, the leave provided under this § 8.1 of this Policy must be

provided by all State Agencies to their Eligible State Employees who are subject to
N.C.G.S. § 126-8.6.

All Paid Parental Leave arrangements shall be written and include the

responsibilities of both the agency and the employee. Each participant in the Paid

Parental Leave arrangement must sign the document that contains the terms of the

Paid Parental Leave arrangement. At a minimum, the document shall define the

parameters of the Paid Parental Leave arrangement and shall comply with the policy

provisions below:

1.

Compensation and Benefits: Each week of Paid Parental Leave will be
compensated at 100% of the employee’s regular, straight-time weekly pay (to
exclude shift differential, premium pay, or overtime).

State Agencies shall provide four (4) weeks (160 hours) of Paid Parental Leave

to Eligible State Employees who have given birth for recuperation during the

disability period. This also includes birth parents whose child is given up for
adoption or placed in foster care.

State agencies shall provide four (4) weeks (160 hours) of Paid Parental Leave

to Eligible State Employees for recuperation who were pregnant who then

experienced a miscarriage or stillbirth after the 12th completed week of
pregnancy.

a When a fetus dies before 12 weeks of the pregnancy were complete, it is not
a qualifying event for paid parental leave.

b Neither parent shall receive the paid parental leave for bonding with a child
in the event of a miscarriage or stillbirth after the 12" completed week of
pregnancy.

In addition, State Agencies shall provide four (4) weeks (160 hours) of Paid

Parental Leave to Eligible State Employees for bonding with a newborn child.
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Parents are not eligible for bonding leave if the child was given up for adoption
or placed in foster care.

5. When a child dies after childbirth is complete, each parent of the child who
otherwise meets the eligibility requirements in this policy shall receive the full
paid parental leave for which they are eligible. The paid parental leave will not
be ended at the time of the child's death.

6. When an employee who is a prospective adoptive parent or foster parent
expects an adoption or placement, but it does not occur, the employee is not
eligible for leave under this policy.

7. With the exception of use of leave in number 5, above, Parents shall certify that
Paid Parental Leave past the recuperation and recovery stage of childbirth is
being utilized for bonding with the Child.

§8.2. Leave for Part-Time Employees
Leave for part-time employees will be prorated from the State Agency’s standard
amount of Paid Parental Leave, as listed above, corresponding to the percentage of hours

they normally are scheduled to work.

Note on Effective Date of this Section:

The changes to Section 8.3 of this policy, on the amount of leave for part-time
employees, reflect the changes to the paid parental leave law, G.S. 126-8.6, that were
made by 2023 House Bill 190, Session Law 2023-65. Therefore, the changes to this
section (and this section only) are retroactive to House Bill 190’s effective date, July 1,
2023. The changes made by House Bill 190 removed the “not to exceed” limit in G.S.
126-8.6 that would have caused some part-time employees to receive less than a

prorated amount of leave.

§09. Requesting Use of Paid Parental Leave

§9.1. Type of Leave
Eligible State Employees may take Paid Parental Leave in one continuous
period or may take intermittent use of Paid Parental Leave. Requests for intermittent

use of paid parental leave are subject to the agency’s approval as stated below.
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Notification about Intent to Use Leave
Whenever possible, Eligible State Employees shall notify their employing
agencies at least 10 weeks in advance of their intention to use Paid Parental Leave.

This requirement is so that agencies can secure backfill coverage.

Agency Response

The agency shall respond in writing to the employee as promptly as possible, and in
no fewer than two weeks from the date of receipt.

For employees who gave birth -- The agency shall not deny, delay, or require
intermittent use of paid parental leave to Eligible State Employees who have given birth, so
long as they seek to use the paid parental leave in one continuous period. If an employee
who gave birth wishes to use intermittent, rather than continuous, Paid Parental Leave, the
agency may work with the employee on timing as listed below.

For all other employees — This paragraph applies only to Eligible State
Employees who either (1) are not birthing parents or (2) are seeking intermittent leave.

For these parents, the agency may delay providing Paid Parental Leave or may provide
Paid Parental Leave intermittently if it determines that providing the leave will cause a
Public Safety Concern.

If the State Agency determines that it must delay Paid Parental Leave, or make
Paid Parental Leave intermittent, because of a Public Safety Concern, the agency shall
provide Paid Parental Leave as soon as practical following the Qualifying Event.

If both parents are Eligible State Employees, each may receive Paid Parental
Leave. Both parents may take their leave simultaneously or at different times, pending

no Public Safety Concern.

Leave Usage

- Paid Parental Leave may be used only once within a twelve-month period. The fact that

a multiple birth, adoption or other legal placement occurs (e.g., the birth of twins or
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option of siblings) does not increase the total amount of paid parental leave granted for

that event.®

« Unused Paid Parental Leave is forfeited twelve (12) months from the date of the

Qualifying Event.
- Paid Parental Leave shall not accrue or be donated to another state employee.

- Eligible State Employees may not use accrued sick leave, annual leave or other leave in

lieu of Paid Parental Leave.

« Paid Parental Leave shall not be counted against or deducted from the eligible state

employee’s accrued leave balances.

« Employees shall not be paid for the leave provided by this Section upon separation from
the employer. The leave provided by this Section shall not be used for calculating an
employee’s retirement benefits and shall not accrue or be donated as voluntary shared

leave.
« Leave usage must be recorded in same required increments as all other time.

- Paid parental leave provided under this Section shall be reported separately from all
other paid leave. Employees and supervisors are responsible for accurate reporting of

the use of this leave on the employee’s time record.

- If the employee requires leave before the actual birth or adoption due to medical reasons
or to fulfill legal adoption obligations, other available leave balances shall be utilized in
accordance with the State Agency’s leave policies. Paid Parental Leave shall not be

used prior to the Qualifying Event.

3 If, within a 12 month period, an employee experiences a qualifying event for which they are eligible for
eight (8) weeks of leave subsequent to experiencing a qualifying event for which they were eligible for
four (4) weeks of leave, the employee may utilize the remaining 4 weeks of leave. For example, if an
employee adopted a child on January 1, 2024 and utilized four weeks of paid parental leave for bonding
with the child, and that same employee becomes a birth parent on September 1, 2024, the employee may
utilize four weeks of paid parental leave for recovery from birth but does not receive another four weeks
for bonding with the child. This amounts to “using the leave once” during a 12 month period.
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§11. Relationship to Family and Medical Leave
+ Employees using Paid Parental Leave are afforded the remaining job protection under
Family and Medical Leave (FML) for an absence up to a total of twelve (12) weeks (480
hours). They may charge personal leave or take leave without pay to cover the

additional absence.

+ An employee shall be eligible for Paid Parental Leave even if the employee has

exhausted FML time consistent with the law covering FML.

+ If an employee becomes eligible for FML while on Paid Parental Leave, the employee

must apply for and use FML and the leave runs concurrently with FML.

§12. Sources of Authority
This policy is issued under any and all of the following sources of law:
N.C.G.S. § 126-8.6 (N.C. Session Law 2023-14 @ page 30)
It is compliant with the Administrative Code rules at:
« 25 NCAC 01E .1901-.1910

§13. History of This Policy

Date Version

August 1, 2019 First version. Pilot of Paid Parental leave Policy aligned with
Executive Order 95, "Providing Paid Parental Leave to eligible state
employees," signed by Governor Roy Cooper on May 23, 2019,
provides eight (8) weeks of fully paid parental leave to eligible state
employees who have given birth to a child and four ( 4) weeks of
fully paid parental leave to eligible state employees in other
circumstances involving the birth of a child to those employees, or
the adoptive, foster or other legal placement of a child with an

eligible state employee.

October 7, 2021 Update the policy to exclude the work “probationary” from the body
of the policy as related to “Covered Employees” to alleviate

confusion of who is eligible to be awarded the benefit.
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June 13, 2023
(effective July 1,
2023)

Added to the policy material from the existing OSHR guidelines
establishing implementation procedures. In addition, revised the
policy to reflect the terms of new G.S. 126-8.6, which becomes
effective July 1, 2023. The new law generally matches Paid
Parental Leave policies and procedures under Executive Order 95
and the previous version of this policy. The primary differences are
in Paid Parental Leave for part-time employees; to reflect these
differences, the policy terms on part-time employees have been
revised to reflect the terms of G.S. 126-8.6. The new law requires
OSHR to adopt “rules and policies” on Paid Parental Leave. As a
result, OSHR will engage in temporary and permanent rulemaking
on Paid Parental Leave, and this policy will be updated after rules go

into effect.

August 7, 2023

» Set a sunset date of February 16, 2024 for the alternative Paid
Parental Leave structure provided in Section 8.2 of the policy.
See the note at the beginning of Section 8 describing the reasons
for this change.

* |In Section 8.3, changed the Paid Parental Leave formula for
part-time employees to reflect statutory revisions in 2023 House
Bill 190, Session Law 2023-65. The changes to Section 8.2 (and
only those changes) are retroactive to the House Bill 190 effective
date, July 1, 2023.

» In Section 9.3, clarified that the agency must respond in writing to

an employee who has requested Paid Parental Leave.

October 17, 2024

» The policy was updated to incorporate the rule on leave for
adoption and foster care placements, 25 NCAC 01E .1909.
including:

* Added a statement to Section 8.1, Leave Available under G.S.
126-8.6, that the four weeks of leave for recuperation was

available to eligible birth parents whose child was given up for

adoption or placed in foster care.
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* The policy was updated to incorporate the new rules on
miscarriage and stillbirth, 25 NCAC 01E .1910, including:

Added a statement to Section 8.1, Leave Available under G.S.
126-8.6, that the four weeks of leave for bonding with the child
was not available to employees whose child was given up for
adoption or placed in foster care.

Added a statement to Section 8.1, Leave Available under G.S.
126-8.6, that when an employee who is a prospective adoptive
parent or foster parent expects an adoption or placement, but
it does not occur, the employee is not eligible for leave under

this policy.

Added reference to miscarriage and stillbirth to the definition of
Qualifying event.

Added references to miscarriage and stillbirth to Section 7,
Certification of Eligibility for Paid Parental Leave,

Added the four (4) weeks of leave for miscarriage and stillbirth
to Section 8.1, Leave Available under G.S. 126-8.6.

Added that the leave for miscarriage or stillbirth was not
available in the event the fetus died before the 12th completed
week of pregnancy to Section 8.1, Leave Available under G.S.
126-8.6.

Added that neither parent shall receive the paid parental leave
for bonding with a child in the event of a miscarriage or
stillbirth after the 12" completed week of pregnancy to Section
8.1, Leave Available under G.S. 126-8.6.

Added “When a child dies after childbirth is complete, each
parent of the child who meets the eligibility requirements in
this policy shall receive the full paid parental leave for which
they are eligible. The paid parental leave will not be ended at
the time of the child's death.” To Section 8.1, Leave Available
under G.S. 126-8.6.
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+ Clarified that employees did not have to certify that four weeks
of the leave was being used for bonding with the child if the
child had died following childbirth.

* Added a statement to Section 8, Leave Available that states In
situations where leave is not available under this policy, agencies
can allow adequate time to parents or the persons who would
have become parents for recovery or bereavement, using sick
leave, vacation leave, bonus leave, compensatory time, and any
other leave options that may be available to the employee.

* Removed the reference to the rule process in the note at the
beginning of the policy. Added a statement that the permanent
rules were adopted effective August 1, 2024.

* Removed references to the Additional Leave under the optional
authority previously provided by this policy that sunset on
February 16, 2024, including:

* |In the Note in the Definition Section, removed the sentence
that stated equal treatment could be structured as both
parents receiving 8 weeks of leave,

* In Section 5, Agency Responsibility, removed reference to
the additional leave under the optional authority provided in
policy.

* |n Section 8, Leave Available, removed Note on Sunset Date
of Section 8.2 of this policy.

* Removed Section 8.2, Optional Alternative Parental Leave
Program (available only for qualifying events on or before
February 16, 2024).

* In Section 10, Leave Usage, remove “for a qualifying event” for
consistency with code.

* In Section 10, Leave Usage, added a footnote to explain If, within
a 12 month period, an employee experiences a qualifying event

for which they are eligible for eight (8) weeks of leave subsequent

to experiencing a qualifying event for which they were eligible for
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four (4) weeks of leave, the employee may utilize the remaining 4
weeks of leave. For example, if an employee adopted a child on
January 1, 2024 and utilized four weeks of paid parental leave for
bonding with the child, and that same employee becomes a birth
parent on September 1, 2024, the employee may utilize four
weeks of paid parental leave for recovery from birth but does not
receive an another four weeks for bonding with the child. This

amounts to “using the leave once” during a 12 month period.
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