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Policy

Vacation leave is credited to employees who are in pay status (working, on paid
leave or on workers’ compensation leave) for one-half or more of the regularly scheduled

workdays and holidays in the pay period in accordance with the provisions outlined below.

Purpose
The primary purpose of paid vacation is to allow employees to renew their physical
and mental capabilities and to remain a fully productive employee. Employees are

encouraged to request leave during each year in order to achieve this purpose.
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Covered Employees and Vacation Leave Credits
Full-time permanent, probationary, and time-limited employees are granted leave
based on length of total State service as shown in Table I. (Part-time employees who work
half-time or more are granted prorated leave.)

Temporary and part-time (less than half-time) are not granted leave.

Uses of Leave

Vacation leave may be used for:

e vacation,

» other periods of absence for personal reasons,

» absences due to adverse weather conditions,

» personal illness (in lieu of sick leave),

* illness in the immediate family, and

« time lost for late reporting; however, deductions should be made from the
employee’s pay where excessive tardiness or absenteeism occurs.

» donations to an employee who is an approved voluntary shared leave recipient.
Options for use of vacation leave under the Workers’ Compensation Policy, Family
and Medical Leave Policy, and Military Leave Policy are included in these respective

policies.

Table | - Leave Credits

Years of Total State Service | Hours Granted Hours Granted Days Granted
Each Each Each
Month Year Year
Less than 5 years 9 hrs. 20 mins. 112 14
5 but less than 10 years 11 hrs. 20 mins 136 17
10 but less than 15 years 13 hrs. 20 mins. 160 20
15 but less than 20 years 15 hrs. 20 mins. 184 23
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20 years or more

17 hrs. 20 mins.

208

26

Total State A full month of credit is given for total State service, both subject to and

exempt Service Defined from the Human Resources Act if:

the appointment is:

AND the appointment is:

AND the employee is:

 Full-time, or
« Part-time (half-time or

more)

« Permanent,
« Probationary, or

« Time limited

in pay status for
one half or more of
the regularly
scheduled
workdays and
holidays in the pay
period, or

is on authorized

military leave

Other Credit for Total State Service

Credit shall also be given for employment with:

» other governmental units that are now State agencies;

» the county Cooperative Extension Service, Community College System and the

public school system of North Carolina, with the provision that a school year is

equivalent to one full year,

* alocal Mental Health, Public Health, or Social Services if such employment is

SHRA.

+ alocal Emergency Management Agency in North Carolina that receives federal

grant-in-aid funds,

» the General Assembly (except for participants in the Legislative Intern Program and

pages). All of the time, both permanent and temporary, of the employees will be

counted; and the full legislative terms of the members,
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+ authorized military leave from any of the governmental units for which service
credit is granted, provided the employee is reinstated within the time limits outlined
in the State Military Leave policies,

« authorized workers’ compensation leave from any of the governmental units for

which service credit is granted

§ 6. Accounting for Creditable Service
The agency shall be responsible for informing each employee of the types of prior

service that are eligible to be counted as total State service. If the employee fails to
produce evidence of prior service at the time of employment and later produces such
evidence, it creates a cumbersome, time-consuming process to adjust leave records.
When this occurs, credit will be allowed for the service and the earnings rate will be
adjusted; however, retroactive adjustments will only be allowed for the previous twelve
months. Exceptions will be made if the agency is at fault or fails to properly detect prior

service.

§7. Scheduling Leave

Vacation leave shall be taken only upon authorization of the agency head (or
designee). Although approval of the use of vacation leave is discretionary, requests by an
employee to use vacation leave should be granted if the employee has sufficient accrued
vacation leave and the granting of the leave will not result in undue hardship on the
agency or its employees.

If an employee has holiday compensatory time, overtime compensatory time, gap
hours compensatory time, callback compensatory time, on-call compensatory time, travel
compensatory time, emergency closing compensatory time or incentive leave, it shall be

taken before vacation leave.

§8. Accumulation
Vacation leave may accumulate without any applicable maximum until December
31 of each year. However, if the employee separates from service, payment for

accumulated leave shall not exceed 240 hours.
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On December 31 of each year any employee with more than 240 hours of
accumulated leave shall have the excess accumulation converted to sick leave so that

only 240 hours are carried forward to January 1 of the next calendar year.

Advisory Note:

Vacation leave for employees that plan to retire on January 1st will not automatically
rollover to sick leave on December 31st in the HR-Payroll System, therefore agencies
must account for vacation leave in excess of 240 hours for employees that plan to retire
effective January 1st. For these employees, to receive an accurate balance from the

HR-Payroll System, an agency must follow the steps in Job Aid PER-46.

This can be accomplished by forecasting leave earnings through December 31st, then
transferring vacation leave in excess of 240 hours to the employee’s sick leave balance.
Agencies must also consider the amount of vacation leave being exhausted and
document leave balances on Form 6 — “Claiming Your Monthly Retirement Benefit
(TSERS)”".

Accumulation for part-time employees shall be prorated.

§9. Advancement
An employee may be advanced the amount of vacation leave needed on an
individual basis and which can be credited during the remainder of the calendar year.
If more leave is taken than can be credited during the calendar year, the balance

above the amount that can be advanced shall be deducted in the next paycheck.

§10. Leave Charges
Leave shall be charged in units of time appropriate and consistent with the

responsibility of managing absences in keeping with operational needs.

§11. Continuation of Benefits
When exhausting leave, the employee continues to accumulate leave; is entitled to

holidays and is eligible for salary increases during that period.
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Leave Transferable

When an employee

transfers from...

THEN, leave...

OR...

State SHRA to SHRA

shall be transferred

State SHRA to EHRA

may be transferred
subject to the receiving

agency’s approval.*

employee shall be paid in a lump
sum, not to exceed 240 hours

(prorated for part-time).

State EHRA to SHRA

may be transferred
subject to the receiving

agency’s approval.

employee shall be paid in
accordance with existing leave

policies.

From a State agency to
a:
« Public school,

- Community College

Technical Institute

Local Mental Health,
Local Public Health

Local Social

Services,
+ Local Emergency

Management

may be transferred
subject to the receiving

agency’s approval.*

the employee shall be paid in a
lump sum not to exceed 240 hrs.
(prorated for part-time
employees). If only a part of the
leave is accepted, the
combination cannot exceed 240

hrs.

A local agency listed
above to a State

agency

may be transferred
subject to the receiving

agency'’s approval.

if any portion of leave is paid, the
combination cannot exceed 240

hrs.

receiving a lump sum payment of some of the leave.

the leave, the employee does not have an option of transferring some of the leave and

*Transfer and payment of leave is an agency decision. If the receiving agency accepts all of

Vacation Leave



§13.

STATE HUMAN RESOURCES MANUAL

Vacation Leave Policy (cont.)

Leave
Page 175

Effective: December 12, 2024

Separation — Pay for Leave

Lump sum payment for leave is made only at the time of separation.

When separation is due

Accumulated

THEN the employee

and the date

to... Vacation separated is:
Leave
 Resignation shall be paid in a ceases to the last day
+ Dismissal, lump sum not to « accumulate leave | of work.
- Death exceed 240 hours - be entitled to take | (See (2) &
(prorated for part- sick leave; (3)
time employees) - be entitled to exceptions
holidays. (See (" |below)
exception below.)
- Service retirement, may be exhausted if | accrues benefits while | the last day
- Early retirement, or the employee elects | exhausting leave. of leave.
+ Reduction in force to do so. **(4) See
example
below.

(M'When the last day(s) of the month is a holiday and the employee is in pay status
through the last available workday, the employee shall also receive pay for the
holiday(s).

@ If an employee is exhausting approved sick/vacation leave for medical reasons and
resigns or dies before returning to work, the date separated shall be the date the

employee resigns or dies. This is subject to the approval of the Agency HR office.

®)If an employee gives notice of a resignation and becomes ill, the employee may
exhaust sick/vacation leave up until the date of the resignation. The date separated
will be the date of resignation. This is subject to the approval of the Agency HR

office and requires medical documentation to certify the iliness.
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® An employee retiring or being reduced in force effective January 1% of a given year
could establish the last day of work as December 14 (for example); then exhaust 64
hours of leave through the end of December and receive the unused balance, up to

240 hours, in a lump sum. The date separated would be December 31,

Overdrawn Leave
If an employee separates and is overdrawn on leave, it will be necessary to make

deductions from the final salary check.

Retirement Contribution

Retirement deductions shall be made from all leave payments.

Payment to Estate
In the case of a deceased employee, payment for unpaid salary, leave, and travel
must be made, upon establishment of a valid claim, to the deceased employee’s
administrator or executor. In the absence of an administrator or executor, payment must be

made to the Clerk of Superior Court of the county of the deceased employee’s residence.

Leave Records

It is the responsibility of each agency to maintain vacation leave records for each
employee. Leave records shall be balanced at least at the end of each calendar year.
Agencies should assume responsibility for notifying employees of leave balances at least
once each year.

Agencies must retain leave records for all separated employees for a period of at
least five years from the date of separation.

If leave records are kept electronically, the agency does not need to keep paper

copies.

Bonus Leave
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§18.1. Amount and Eligibility

The General Assembly has approved the following bonus leave:

Amount of leave

Effective Date

Eligibility

80 hours

September 30, 2002

All employees except:
« Employees who do not earn leave,
and
« Employees paid on the Teacher
Salary Schedule or the School Based

Administrator Salary Schedule.

80 hours

July 1, 2003

All employees except:

« Employees who do not earn leave,

« Employees of the State Highway
Patrol who receive an automatic
increase, and

« Employees paid on the Teacher
Salary Schedule or the School Based

Administrator Salary Schedule.

40 hours

September 1, 2005

All employees except:

« Employees who do not earn leave,
and

« Employees paid on the Teacher
Salary Schedule or the School Based

Administrator Salary Schedule.

40 hours

September 1, 2014

All employees except:

* Employees who do not earn leave

§18.2. Provisions for Part-Time Employment and Leave without Pay

(1) Full-time employees who work less than 12 months shall receive a pro rata

amount.
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(2) Permanent part-time employees (half-time or more) shall receive a pro rata
amount.

(3) Employees on leave without pay, other than workers’ compensation leave and
leave for reserve active duty, shall be credited with the bonus leave upon their
return based on their type of appointment at the time of leave without pay began. If
they do not return to work, they are not eligible for the leave.

(4) Employees on workers’ compensation leave and leave for reserve active duty shall
be credited with bonus leave for use upon their return to work. If the employee
does not return, the bonus leave shall be paid in addition to any other leave, in

accordance with the leave policies.

§18.3. Scheduling Bonus Leave

(1) Bonus leave shall be taken only upon appropriate authorization.

(2) Bonus leave shall be used after holiday compensatory time, over-time
compensatory time, gap hours compensatory time, callback compensatory time,
on-call compensatory time, travel compensatory time, and_emergency closing
compensatory time.

(3) Bonus leave may be used for any purpose for which regular vacation leave is used.

(4) Bonus leave shall be charged in units of time consistent with regular vacation leave

guidelines.

§ 18.4. Accounting for the Bonus Leave
(1) Bonus leave shall be accounted for separately from regular earned vacation leave.
(2) Any balance of bonus leave on December 31 will be retained by the employee and
transferred into the next calendar year. It will not be as part of the maximum 240
hours of vacation that can be retained.

(3) Bonus leave will not be subject to conversion to sick leave.
§18.5. Transferring Bonus Leave

Any balance of bonus leave will be transferred with the employee who transfers to

another State agency eligible for bonus leave.

Vacation Leave
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§ 18.6. Separation/Status Change
Bonus leave balance will be paid in addition to regular vacation leave if the

employee leaves state government or the appointment type changes to a non-leave
earning status (such as exempt, part-time, etc.).

§18.7. Miscellaneous Provisions
(1) Bonus leave may be applied to negative balances of regular earned leave with the
approval of the employee and the agency head (or designee).
(2) Bonus leave is available to be donated as vacation leave under the Voluntary
Shared Leave provisions.
(3) Agencies shall maintain records of bonus leave_for each employee.
§19. Sources of Authority
This policy is issued under any and all of the following sources of law:
e N.C.G.S. §126-4(5)
It is compliant with the Administrative Code rules at:
e 25 NCAC 01E .0200

§20. History of This Policy

Date Version

January 1, 1949 Annual leave granted at 1 1/4 calendar days per month, cumulative
to 30 days.

July 28, 1949 Established a policy stating that unused annual leave accrued be paid

estate of the employees. (Rescinded at 10-27-49 meeting)

October 28, 1949 Established policy of granting only annual leave in cases of serious
illness of immediate family.

Approved payment of accrued annual leave to employees dismissed
for misconduct, for failing to report for work and for failure to give any

advance notice of separation.

November 1, 1949 Approved policy of limiting petty leave to period of not more than 2

hours in any working day.

Vacation Leave
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April 1, 1950

Employee may accumulate unused annual leave with no maximum,
provided that no more than 30 days leave may be taken and/or paid
for in any one calendar year.

Adopted policy stating that full-time permanent employees must be in
full pay status during the entire month in order to earn either sick or

annual leave.

June 16, 1950

Revised policy so that full-time permanent employees who are in pay
status during one-half or more of the scheduled working days in a

month shall earn full sick and annual leave credits for the month.

August 10, 1951

Unused annual leave accrued to employee to be paid to the estate

of the employee upon death of the employee.

November 29, 1951

Annual leave to be calculated based on three times the number of
days an employee is scheduled to work each week.

In case of death, employee’s estate shall be paid for accumulated
and currently earned annual leave not to exceed the maximum of 45

days.

December 1, 1951

Annual leave can be accumulated to a maximum of 45 days, but
cannot take more than 30 in any calendar year. Employee resigns,
is dismissed, dies, or goes on military leave without pay, the
employee or estate shall be paid for all accumulated and currently

earned annual leave up to a maximum of 45 days.

March 13, 1952

Rescinded previous policy whereby an employee could accrue

annual leave during period of terminal leave.

September 18, 1953

New policy on maternity leave required annual leave to be paid in a

lump sum before employee goes on leave without pay.

October 1, 1953

Adopted policy for terminal leave which states that employees cease
to earn leave, be entitled to holidays and cease to be eligible for

salary increments or promotional increases.

January 1, 1954

Reduced maximum accumulation of annual leave from 45 to 30

days. When annual leave accumulated to maximum of 30 days,

Vacation Leave
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additional leave cannot be earned or have additional leave

advanced until some of the 30 days have been taken.

January 1, 1955

Employee granted leave-without-pay may not take or be paid for
more than 30 days annual leave in any calendar year. Any amount
in excess of 30 days to the employee’s credit would not be available

to the employee if and when he returned to State employment.

January 28, 1955

Leave charges covering absences during unusual situation

(weather).

May 1, 1959 Employee shall be paid for or allowed to exhaust only that
accumulated annual leave which is payable in the calendar year in
which they separate from service.

April 15, 1960 Employees cannot take or be paid for more than 30 days annual

leave in any consecutive twelve months period.

December 1, 1960

An employee may take earned and unused leave regardless of the
amount taken previously during the calendar year. An employee,
upon separation, shall be paid for all earned and unused annual
leave regardless of the amount already taken but for not more than
30 days.

December 15, 1969

When going on leave without pay for educational purposes, annual
leave may be exhausted, paid in a lump sum or retained for future

use.

January 1, 1970

Extended to part-time employees in permanent positions eligibility for
sick and annual leave, holidays, and salary increments which apply

to full-time permanent employees — earned on a pro-rata basis.

July 1, 1970 An employee may exhaust annual leave rather than be paid in a
lump sum when retiring due to disability.
April 1, 1971 Unused annual leave shall be transferred when an employee

transfers between State agencies. Annual leave may be transferred
to local county mental health, public health, social services or civil
defense agency, if county willing to accept. Otherwise pay in a lump

sum.

Vacation Leave
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When to State, annual leave (not to exceed 30 days) or any portion
of unused leave may be transferred to the State.

If person request and is paid for annual leave at the time of transfer
to or from — will not preclude consideration for transferring sick

leave.

October 1, 1971

Revised to allow annual leave for absences as a result of adverse

weather conditions.

June 20, 1972

Revised — annual leave to be exhausted rather than paid in a lump
sum before an employee goes on leave without pay for maternity
purposes. If annual leave overlaps with temporary disability in which

sick leave is used, exhaust annual leave before and after.

July 1, 1973

Adopted graduated annual leave plan. Also allowed annual leave to
be taken in one-hour units. Used same definition for aggregate
service as in the longevity policy.

Less than 2 yrs - 80 hours per year

2 but less than 5 - 96 hours

5 but less than 10 - 120 hours

10 but less than 15 - 144 hours

15 but less than 20 - 168hours

20 or more - 192 hours

August 3, 1973

Aggregate service to include permanent part-time employment.

December 13, 1974

Aggregate service amended to include County Agricultural Extension

Service.

March 1, 1975

Revised payment of annual leave - annual leave to be paid or that
annual and sick leave be exhausted through the last full hour of
unused leave. Overdrawn leave would be deducted in full hour units,

i.e., a full hour for any part of an hour overdrawn.

January 1, 1976

Revised leave charges to provide that petty leave may be taken in
units of 5 minutes and that it may be used in combination with sick or

annual leave.
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January 1, 1978

Maximum annual leave accumulation - annual leave may be
accumulated without any applicable maximum until December 31 of
each calendar year. On December 31 any accumulated over 240

hours shall be canceled.

March 1, 1978

Added provision for choosing options during leave without pay.
Annual leave may be used to account for the hours that no work is
performed when the time is changed from Eastern Standard Time to

Day Light Savings Time.

October 1, 1982

Aggregate service amended to include former employment in the

General Assembly.

December 1, 1982

Aggregate service credit - clarified that permanent part-time
employees are credited with aggregate service on a pro rata

basis.

January 1, 1983

1. Changed name from ANNUAL leave to VACATION leave.

2. New purpose statement to reinforce the primary philosophy of
vacation and to reflect the secondary purpose; paid leave for
personal time away from work

3. Expand uses to allow employee a choice of using this leave or
sick leave for illness of family.

4. Present PETTY LEAVE combined with Annual Leave into
Vacation Leave. The 14 hours petty leave added to annual
leave provides from 11 % days to 25 % days.

5. Formerly, minimum annual leave charge was one hour. With the
combination of petty leave, the minimum is left to discretion of

each agency.

July 1, 1983

Revised the definition for granting vacation leave. Part-time (half
time or more) would be counted as full service for purposes of
earning leave. Amount earned would be based on total state

service - amount would be pro-rated but the service would not be

prorated.
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December 1, 1983

Allows for transfer of vacation leave to and from the public school

system and community college and technical institutes.

April 1, 1984

Clarified revision in the transfer of vacation leave between public
schools and community colleges. Provided that if the employing
agency will accept the leave, an employee may transfer all
accumulated leave. However, in cases where an employing agency
will not accept the total amount, the portion paid for in combination

with the amount transferred may not exceed 240 hours.

August 1, 1986

Added paragraph about accounting for creditable service.

July 1, 1987

Added legislative terms of members to creditable service.

January 1, 1989

Pay status change to half the workdays and holidays.

December 1, 1993

Revised to conform to the revision to G.S. 126-8 which states that
on December 31 of each year, any employee who has vacation
leave in excess of the allowed accumulation shall have that leave
converted to sick leave.

Included time-limited appointment for eligibility to earn leave.

July 1, 1995

Changed the deduction for overdrawn leave from a full hour unit to
the unit nearest to a tenth of an hour.

Changed the method of paying terminal leave from a full hour unit to
the nearest tenth of an hour.

Changed the retention of leave records from four to five years.

Effective date changed to July by Rules Review Commission.

January 1, 2002

Revised to include an omission: Add Workers' Comp Leave under

creditable total state service.

September 30, 2002

Revised to include Bonus Leave Guidelines.

February 21, 2003

Deleted provision that provided that vacation leave, except for

immediate family, could only be shared within the parent agency.

July 1, 2003

Revised to incorporate 2003 bonus leave.

May 1, 2004

1) Clarify policy on transfer of leave from SHRA to EHRA and vice

versa.
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2) Add Advisory Note regarding the use of vacation leave for
ethnic/cultural events.

3) Add paragraph to Bonus Leave to clarify that employees on
workers’ compensation leave and leave for reserve active duty

shall be paid for the bonus leave if they do not return.

September 1, 2005

Revised to include bonus leave provisions eff 9-1-05.
Corrected Bonus Leave Chart to indicate the employees who were

not eligible for the 2002 bonus.

January 1, 2007

(1) Added Advisory Note under “Advancement” to clarify that if more
leave is taken than can be credited during the calendar year, the
balance above the amount that can be advanced shall be
deducted in the next paycheck.

(2) Changed Leave Records Section to clarify that leave records
shall be balanced at least at the end of each calendar year.

(3) Added note to clarify that if leave records are kept electronically,

the agency does not have to keep a paper copy.

October 1, 2007

1) Under the paragraph Scheduling Leave, added an Advisory Note
stating that for agencies using BEACON HR/Payroll System:

* If an employee has holiday compensatory time, overtime
compensatory time or on-call compensatory time it shall be taken
before vacation leave.

* Hours worked in excess of the employee’s established work
schedule will be used to offset leave reported in the same
workweek. Leave will be restored to the employee’s balance for
later use.

2) Under the paragraphs Leave Charges, Overdrawn Leave and Pay
rolling Leave, deleted the sentence that stated that leave to be
paid as terminal leave or to be exhausted shall be in units of one-
tenth of an hour.

3) Under the paragraph Scheduling Bonus Leave, added Advisory
Note stating that in the BEACON HR/Payroll System, bonus leave

shall be used after holiday compensatory time, over-time
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compensatory time, on-call compensatory time and vacation
leave.
5) Deleted Item No. 4 giving the employee the option to use

vacation leave or bonus leave.

June 1, 2008

Changed policy to allow an employee who is reduced in force to
exhaust vacation leave after their last day of work and still be paid

for up to 240 hours of leave in a lump sum.

October 1, 2008

Under Separation — Pay for Leave — clarified exceptions/procedures

when employee is exhausting sick leave.

July 1, 2009

Revises Advisory Note to add gap hours compensatory time and
travel compensatory time to leave hierarchy used in the BEACON

HR/Payroll System.

January 1, 2011

(1) Combines the 0-2 years with 2 but less than 5 years to create a
less than 5 years category.

(2)Increases the annual accrual rate by 2 hours per year for each of
the years of total state service category.

(3)Advisory Note about Leave Offsetting deleted and placed in

General Leave Policies.

September 1, 2014

SB744 (S.L. 2014-100) the Appropriations Act of 2014 awarded
bonus leave to employees who were eligible to earn vacation leave
as of September 11, 2014. Also removed the requirement for
vacation leave to be used prior to bonus leave. The following
additional changes were made to the policy:

* In “scheduling leave” section, removed the reference to BEACON
agencies when requiring employees to use compensatory time
earned prior to using vacation leave. This now applies to all
agencies and universities.

+ Added a note in the “leave transferring” section that the employee
does not have the option of transferring some of the leave and

receiving a lump sum payment of a portion of the leave if the

receiving agency will accept all of the leave.

Vacation Leave
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Vacation Leave Policy (cont.)

» Added a note in the “separation-pay for leave” section clarifying
that medical certification should be required if an employee gives
notice of resignation and then becomes ill and cannot work during
the notice period.

» Deleted the “Options during LWOP” section since this is a
duplication of the LWOP policy.

» Deleted the “Payrolling Leave” section.

September 7, 2017 Policy revised to delete all reference to trainee appointments, per

appointment types and career status.

December 12, 2024 Added in Section 8 “Accumulation” an advisory note to manually

update vacation leave balances for January 1% retirees.

Vacation Leave
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