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Policy
Vacation leave is credited to employees who are in pay status (working, on paid leave or
on workers’ compensation leave) for one-half or more of the regularly scheduled
workdays and holidays in the pay period in accordance with the provisions outlined
below.

Purpose
The primary purpose of paid vacation is to allow employees to renew their physical and
mental capabilities and to remain a fully productive employee. Employees are

encouraged to request leave during each year in order to achieve this purpose.

Covered Employees and Vacation Leave Credits
Full-time permanent, probationary, trainee and time-limited employees are granted leave
based on length of total State service as shown in Table |. (Part-time employees who

work half-time or more are granted prorated leave.)
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Temporary, intermittent and part-time (less than half-time) are not granted leave.

Uses of Leave
Vacation leave may be used for:
e vacation,
o other periods of absence for personal reasons,
e absences due to adverse weather conditions,
o personal illness (in lieu of sick leave),
e illness in the immediate family, and
o time lost for late reporting; however, deductions should be made from the
employee’s pay where excessive tardiness or absenteeism occurs.

e donations to an employee who is an approved voluntary shared leave recipient

Advisory Note: Although approval of the use of vacation leave is discretionary, requests by an
employee to use vacation leave for cultural and/or ethnic-related events should be granted if the
employee has accrued vacation leave and the granting of the leave will not result in undue

hardship on the agency or its employees.

Table | - Leave Credits

Years of Total State Service Hours Granted Each | Hours Granted Each | Days Granted Each
Month Year Year
Less than 5 years 9 hrs. 20 mins. 112 14
5 but less than 10 years 11 hrs. 20 mins 136 17
10 but less than 15 years 13 hrs. 20 mins. 160 20
15 but less than 20 years 15 hrs. 20 mins. 184 23
20 years or more 17 hrs. 20 mins. 208 26
Total State A full month of credit is given for total State service, both subject to and exempt from

Service Defined the Human Resources Act if:
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the appointment is:

AND the appointment is:

AND the employee is:

e Full-time, or
¢ Part-time (half-time or

more)

Permanent,

¢ Probationary,

Trainee, or

Time limited

¢ in pay status for one-
half or more of the
regularly scheduled

workdays and holidays

in the pay period, or

e is on authorized

military leave

Other Credit for Total State Service
Credit shall also be given for employment with:

o other governmental units which are now State agencies (e.g., county highway
maintenance, War Manpower Commission, Judicial System)

o the county Agricultural Extension Service, Community College System and the
public school system of North Carolina, with the provision that a school year is
equivalent to one full year,

e alocal Mental Health, Public Health, Social Services or Emergency Management
Agency in North Carolina if such employment is SPA.

o the General Assembly (except for participants in the Legislative Intern Program
and pages). All of the time, both permanent and temporary, of the employees will
be counted; and the full legislative terms of the members, and

e Authorized military leave from any of the governmental units for which service
credit is granted, provided the employee is reinstated within the time limits
outlined in the State Military Leave policies.

o Authorized worker's compensation leave from any of the governmental units for

which service credit is granted

Accounting for Creditable Service
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The agency shall be responsible for informing each employee of the types of prior
service which are eligible to be counted as total State service. If the employee fails to
produce evidence of prior service at the time of employment and later produces such
evidence, it creates a cumbersome, time-consuming process to adjust leave records.
When this occurs, credit will be allowed for the service and the earnings rate will be
adjusted; however, retroactive adjustments will only be allowed for the previous twelve
months. Exceptions will be made if the agency is at fault or fails to properly detect prior

service.

Scheduling Leave

Vacation leave shall be taken only upon authorization of the agency head (or designee).

Advisory Note for agencies using BEACON HR/Payroll System:
If an employee has holiday compensatory time, overtime compensatory time, gap hours
compensatory time, on-call compensatory time or travel compensatory time, it shall be

taken before vacation leave.

Accumulation
Vacation leave may be accumulated without any applicable maximum until December 31
of each year. However, if the employee separates from service, payment for

accumulated leave shall not exceed 240 hours.
On December 31 of each year any employee with more than 240 hours of accumulated
leave shall have the excess accumulation converted to sick leave so that only 240 hours

are carried forward to January 1 of the next calendar year.

Accumulation for part-time employees shall be prorated.

Advancement
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An employee may be advanced the amount of leave needed on an individual basis and

which can be credited during the remainder of the calendar year.

Advisory Note: If more leave is taken than can be credited during the calendar year, the balance

above the amount that can be advanced shall be deducted in the next paycheck.

Leave Charges
Leave shall be charged in units of time appropriate and consistent with the responsibility

of managing absences in keeping with operational needs.

Benefits Continue
When exhausting leave, the employee continues to accumulate leave, is eligible to take

sick leave, is entitled to holidays and is eligible for salary increases during that period.

Leave Transferable

When an employee THEN, leave... OR...

transfers from...

State SPA to SPA shall be transferred

State SPA to EPA may be transferred subject | employee shall be paid in a lump

to the receiving agency’s sum, not to exceed 240 hours

approval. (prorated for part-time).

State EPA to SPA may be transferred subject | employee shall be paid in

to the receiving agency’s accordance with existing leave

approval. policies.
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From a State agency to a: | may be transferred subject | the employee shall be paid in a lump

¢ Public schoal, to the receiving agency’s sum not to exceed 240 hrs. (prorated
e Community College approval. for part-time employees). If only a

e Technical Institute part of the leave is accepted, the

e Local Mental Health, combination cannot exceed 240 hrs.

Local Public Health

Local Social Services,

Local Emergency

Management

A local agency listed may be transferred subject | if any portion of leave is paid, the

above to a State agency | to the receiving agency’s combination cannot exceed 240 hrs.

approval.

Options During Leave without Pay
An employee going on leave without pay may exhaust vacation leave or may retain part
or all accumulated leave, except:
e When an employee requests leave for vacation purposes, all accumulated
vacation leave shall be exhausted before going on leave without pay, or
e When an employee requests leave for other personal reasons for a period not to
exceed 10 workdays, leave shall be used if available; however, if the leave is for
a period longer than 10 workdays, the employee may choose to use vacation

leave or retain it for future use.

Options for use of vacation leave under the Workers’ Compensation Policy, Family and

Medical Leave Policy, and Military Leave Policy are included in these respective policies.

Vacation Leave



STATE HUMAN RESOURCES MANUAL Leave
Section 5, Page 106
Revised: January 1, 2011

Vacation Leave

Separation — Pay for Leave

Lump sum payment for leave is made only at the time of separation.

When separation is due to... | Accumulated Vacation | THEN the employee and the date
Leave separated is:

¢ Resignation shall be paid in a lump | ceases to the last day of

e Dismissal, sum not to exceed e accumulate leave work.

e Death 240 hours (prorated ¢ be entitled to take sick | (See @ & ©
for part-time leave; exceptions
employees) ¢ be entitled to holidays. | below)

(See (M exception

below.)
¢ Service retirement, may be exhausted if | accrues benefits while | the last day of
e Early retirement, or the employee elects exhausting leave. leave. **See
¢ Reduction in force to do so. example

below.

(M When the last day(s) of the month is a holiday and the employee is in pay status through the

last available workday, the employee shall also receive pay for the holiday(s).

@ If an employee is exhausting approved sick/vacation leave for medical reasons and resigns or
dies before returning to work, the date separated shall be the date the employee resigns or

dies. This is subject to the approval of the Agency HR office.

@) If an employee gives notice of a resignation and becomes ill, the employee may exhaust
sick/vacation leave up until the date of the resignation. The date separated will be the date of

resignation. This is subject to the approval of the Agency HR office.

“ An employee retiring or being reduced in force effective 1-1-08 could establish the last day of
work as 12-14-07; then exhaust 64 hours of leave through the end of December and receive
the unused balance, up to 240 hours, in a lump sum. The date separated would be
December 31.

Overdrawn Leave
If an employee separates and is overdrawn on leave, it will be necessary to make

deductions from the final salary check.
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Pay rolling Leave

Payment for leave may be made on the regular payroll.

To calculate the amount of payment, divide the annual salary by 2080 (the number of
work hours in a year) and multiply by the number of vacation hours to be paid.

Example:

$32,000 /2080 = $15.38
$15.38 x 240 = $3691.20

Retirement Contribution

Retirement deductions shall be made from all leave payments.

Payment to Estate
In the case of a deceased employee, payment for unpaid salary, leave, and travel must
be made, upon establishment of a valid claim, to the deceased employee’s administrator
or executor. In the absence of an administrator or executor, payment must be made to

the Clerk of Superior Court of the county of the deceased employee’s residence.

Leave Records
It is the responsibility of each agency to maintain leave records for each employee.
Leave records shall be balanced at least at the end of each calendar year. Agencies
should assume responsibility for notifying employees of leave balances at least once

each year.

Agencies must retain leave records for all separated employees for a period of at least

five years from the date of separation.

Advisory Note: If leave records are kept electronically, the agency does not need to keep paper

copies.
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BONUS LEAVE

Amount and The General Assembly provided bonus leave as follows:
Eligibility
Amount of leave Effective Date Eligibility
80 hours September 30, 2002 All employees except:

¢ Employees who do not earn leave, and

e Employees paid on the Teacher Salary
Schedule or the School Based
Administrator Salary Schedule.

80 hours July 1, 2003 All employees except:

e Employees who do not earn leave,

e Employees of the State Highway Patrol
who receive an automatic increase, and

e Employees paid on the Teacher Salary
Schedule or the School Based
Administrator Salary Schedule.

40 hours September 1, 2005 All employees except:

e Employees who do not earn leave, and

e Employees paid on the Teacher Salary
Schedule or the School Based
Administrator Salary Schedule.

Provisions for Part-Time and Leave without Pay
(1) Full-time employees who work less than 12 months shall receive a pro rata amount.
(2) Permanent part-time employees (half-time or more) shall receive a pro rata amount.
(3) Employees on leave without pay, other than workers’ compensation leave and
leave for reserve active duty, shall be credited with the bonus leave upon their return
based on their type of appointment at the time of leave without pay. If they do not
return, they are not eligible for the leave.
(4) Employees on workers’ compensation leave and leave for reserve active duty shall

be credited with bonus leave for use upon their return to work. If the employee does
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not return, the bonus leave shall be paid in addition to any other leave, in accordance

with the leave policies.

Scheduling Bonus Leave

(1) Bonus leave shall be taken only upon appropriate authorization.
Advisory Note: In the BEACON HR/Payroll System, it shall be used after holiday
compensatory time, over-time compensatory time, gap hours compensatory time, on-call
compensatory time, travel compensatory time, holiday compensatory time and vacation
leave.

(2) Bonus leave may be used for any purpose for which regular vacation leave is used.

(3) Bonus leave shall be charged in units of time consistent with regular vacation leave

guidelines.

Accounting for the Bonus Leave
(1) Bonus leave shall be accounted for separately from regular earned vacation leave.
(2) Any balance of bonus leave on December 31 will be retained by the employee and
transferred into the next calendar year. It will not be as part of the maximum 240
hours of vacation that can be retained.

(3) Bonus leave will not be subject to conversion to sick leave.

Transfer
Any balance of bonus leave will be transferred with the employee who transfers to

another State agency eligible for bonus leave.

Separation/Status Change
Bonus leave balance will be paid in addition to regular vacation leave if the employee
leaves state government or the appointment type changes to a non-leave earning status

(such as exempt, part-time, etc.).
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Miscellaneous Provisions
(1) Bonus leave may be applied to negative balances of regular earned leave with the
approval of the employee and the agency head (or designee).
(2) Bonus leave is available to be donated as vacation leave under the Voluntary
Shared Leave provisions.

(3) Agencies shall maintain records of bonus leave.
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