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GROUP ACCIDENT INSURANCE CERTIFICATE OF COVERAGE 

RELIASTAR LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY 
250 Marquette Avenue, Suite 900, Minneapolis, Minnesota 55401 

Claims: 888-238-4840 Customer Service: 877-236-7564   

POLICYHOLDER: State of North Carolina 

GROUP POLICY NUMBER: 68077-0CAC 

POLICY EFFECTIVE DATE: January 1, 2018 

GOVERNING JURISDICTION: North Carolina 

THIS IS LIMITED BENEFIT INDEMNITY COVERAGE  
Benefits are paid for Covered Accidents as defined in the Certificate.  The Policy does not constitute 
comprehensive health insurance coverage (often referred to as “major medical insurance coverage”). In 
addition, the Policy does not satisfy the requirement of minimum essential coverage under the Affordable Care 
Act.  Benefits are paid under the Policy for Covered Accidents as indemnity insurance and are not intended to 
cover medical expenses. 

ReliaStar Life Insurance Company certifies that we have issued the group Policy listed above to the Policyholder.  The 
Policy is available for you to review if you contact the Policyholder for more information.  This is your Certificate as 
long as you are eligible for coverage and you become insured.  Please read it carefully and keep it in a safe 
place.   

READ YOUR CERTIFICATE CAREFULLY.  The Policy is a legal contract between the Policyholder and ReliaStar Life 
Insurance Company. This Certificate summarizes and explains the parts of the Policy which apply to you.  The 
Certificate is part of the group Policy but by itself is not a policy.  Your coverage may be changed under the terms and 
conditions of the Policy.  The Policy is delivered in and is governed by the laws of the governing jurisdiction and to the 
extent applicable by the Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974 (ERISA) and any amendments.  

IF A SICKNESS HOSPITAL CONFINEMENT RIDER IS INCLUDED, BENEFITS FOR A PRE-EXISTING CONDITION 
MAY BE LIMITED. 

Important Cancellation Information - Please Read The Provisions Entitled "TERMINATION OF COVERAGE" and 
“POLICY TERMINATION” Found in the General Provisions Section of the Certificate. 

For purposes of effective dates and ending dates under the Policy, all days begin at 12:01 a.m. standard time at the 
Policyholder's address and end at 12:00 midnight standard time at the Policyholder's address. 
 
The coverage under the Policy is conditionally renewable according to the terms and provisions of the Policy. 
 
In this Certificate, “you” and “your” refer to an Employee who is eligible for coverage under the Policy; “we”, “us” and 
“our” refer to ReliaStar Life Insurance Company. 

Exclusions may apply.  Please read your Certificate carefully. 
 

THIS CERTIFICATE IS NOT A MEDICARE SUPPLEMENT POLICY OR CONTRACT. If you are 
eligible for Medicare, review the Guide to Health Insurance for People with Medicare available from 
the company. 

Signed for ReliaStar Life Insurance Company at its home office in Minneapolis, Minnesota on the Policy effective date. 

 

 

 

 Robert L. Grubka 
  President 

   Melissa A. O'Donnell 
   Secretary 
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SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS 
 

 

 

 

 

 
ELIGIBILITY WAITING PERIOD 

 

 

 

 

ACCIDENT BENEFITS  

ACCIDENT HOSPITAL CARE  

Surgery - open abdominal, thoracic $2,500 

Surgery - exploratory or without repair $500 

Blood, Plasma, Platelets $650 

Hospital Admission $2,000 

Hospital Confinement $300  

Critical Care Unit (CCU) Confinement $500 

Coma $20,000 

WAIVER OF ELIGIBILITY WAITING PERIOD  
If you have been continuously employed by the Employer for a period of time equal to your Eligibility Waiting Period, 
we will waive your Eligibility Waiting Period when you enter an eligible class. 
 

REHIRE  
If your employment with the Employer ends and you are rehired within 31 days, your previous Active Employment 
while in an eligible class will apply toward the Eligibility Waiting Period. All other Policy provisions apply. 
 

CREDIT FOR PRIOR SERVICE  
We will apply any prior period of work with the Employer toward the Eligibility Waiting Period to determine your 
eligibility date. 
 

WHO PAYS FOR THE COVERAGE 
You pay the cost of your coverage. 
 
 

For persons in an eligible class on or before the Policy effective date: End of the month in which you begin Active 
Employment. 

For persons entering an eligible class after the Policy effective date: End of the month in which you begin Active 
Employment. 
 

MINIMUM HOURS REQUIREMENT  
Employees: 20 hours per week. 
 

 
ELIGIBLE CLASS(ES) 
Employees of participating State government departments, institutions, agencies, who hold a permanent, 
probationary or time-limited position, working at least 20 hours per week and who are in Active Employment with the 
Employer in the United States. 

You must be an Employee of the Employer and in an eligible class.  
Temporary and seasonal workers are excluded from coverage.  
 

EMPLOYER: State of North Carolina 

GROUP POLICY NUMBER: 68077-0CAC 
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Transportation $840  

Lodging $225  

 

 

 

COMMON INJURIES  

Burns  

2nd degree - at least 36% of the 
body $1,750 
3rd degree - at least 9 but less than 

35 square inches of the body $10,000 
3rd degree - 35 or more square 
inches 

of the body $22,000 

Skin Grafts 50% of Burn Benefit 

Emergency Dental Work  

Crown $525 
Extraction $180 

Eye Injury  
Surgery $420 

Medical Equipment $500 

Physical or Occupational Therapy $75  

Speech Therapy $75 

Prosthetic Device - one $1,500 

Prosthetic Device - 2 or more $2,400 

Major Diagnostic exams  

CT (computerized tomography) or CAT 
scan (computerized axial tomography) 

 
$500 

MRI (magnetic resonance imaging) $500 

EEG (electroencephalogram) $500 

PET (positron emission tomography) 
 scan 

$500 

Outpatient Surgery $300 

X-ray $100 
 

ACCIDENT CARE  

Initial Doctor Visit $120 

Emergency Room Treatment $400 

Ambulance  

Ground $600 
Air $2,500 

Follow-Up Doctor Treatment $120 

Chiropractic Treatment $75 
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Removal of foreign object $120 

Torn Knee Cartilage  
Surgery with no repair or if 
cartilage is shaved $280 
Surgical repair $1,000 

Laceration (total of all lacerations)  
treated, no sutures $80 
sutures, up to 2 inches $120 
sutures, 2 to 6 inches $480 
sutures, over 6 inches $960 

Ruptured Disk - surgical repair $1,000 

Tendon/Ligament/Rotator Cuff  
One, surgical repair $1,275 

2 or more, surgical repair $1,900 

Exploratory Arthroscopic 
Surgery 
with no repair $900 

Concussion $525 

Paralysis  
Quadriplegia $30,000 
Paraplegia $20,000 

 

Dislocations (closed & open reduction) Closed Reduction 
/Open Reduction 

Hip Joint $5,000/$10,000 

Knee $3,750/$7,500 

Ankle or Foot Bone(s) other than 
toes $2,250/$4,500 

Shoulder $2,750/$5,500 

Elbow $1,875/$3,750 

Wrist $1,875/$3,750 

Finger/Toe $450/$900 

Hand Bone(s) other than fingers $1,875/$3,750 

Lower Jaw $1,875/$3,750 

Collarbone $1,875/$3,750 

Partial Dislocations 25% of Closed 
Reduction Amount 

 

Fractures (closed & open reduction) Closed Reduction/ 
Open Reduction 

Hip $6,000/$12,000 

Leg $3,500/$7,000 
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Ankle $3,125/$6,250 

Kneecap $3,125/$6,250 

Foot (excluding toes, heel) $3,125/$6,250 

Upper Arm $3,500/$7,000 

Forearm, Hand, Wrist (except 
fingers) 

 
$3,125/$6,250 

Finger, Toe $500/$1,000 

Vertebral Body $5,250/$10,500 

Vertebral Processes $2,500/$5,000 

Pelvis (except Coccyx) $5,000/$10,000 

Coccyx $625/$1,250 

Bones of Face (except nose) $1,750/$3,500 

Nose $950/$1,900 

Upper Jaw $2,200/$4,400 

Lower Jaw $2,500/$5,000 

Collarbone $2,500/$5,000 

Rib or Ribs $750/$1,500 

Skull - simple (except bones of 
face) 

 
$2,200/$4,400 

Skull - depressed (except bones of 
face) $6,250/$12,500 

Sternum $625/$1,250 

Shoulder Blade $3,125/$6,250 

Chip Fractures 25% of Closed 
Reduction Amount 

 

 

 

  

ADDITIONAL BENEFIT(S) 

 Sports Accident Benefit An additional 25% of the Accident Hospital Care, Accident Care, or 
Common Injuries benefit amount listed above, up to a maximum 
benefit of $1,000. 
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DEFINITIONS 
 
Accident or Accidental means an unforeseen event that results in a bodily Injury. 
 

Active Employment means you are working for the Employer for earnings that are paid regularly and you are 

performing the material and substantial duties of your regular occupation.  You must be working at least the 
minimum number of hours as described under the MINIMUM HOURS REQUIREMENT shown in the SCHEDULE OF 
BENEFITS.   
 
Your work site must be one of the following: 

 The Employer's usual place of business; 

 An alternative work site at the direction of the Employer, including your home; or 

 A location to which your job requires you to travel.  
 
Normal vacation is considered Active Employment.  
Temporary and seasonal workers are excluded from coverage. 
 

Certificate means the document that explains the parts of the Policy which apply to eligible Insured Persons. It may 

include riders, endorsements or amendments. 
 

Chip Fracture means a Fracture in which a piece of the bone is broken off near a joint at a place where a ligament 

is usually attached. 
 

Chiropractor means a person other than you or any family member, who is licensed to diagnose and treat 

neuromuscular disorders, with an emphasis on treatment through manual adjustment and/or manipulation of the spine, 
in the state in which treatment is received and providing treatment or advice in accordance with the license.   
 

Coma means a state of unconsciousness for 5 consecutive days due to a Covered Accident with: 
 no reaction to external stimuli, 

 no reaction to internal needs, and 

 the use of life support systems. 

 
Confined or Confinement means that on the advice of a Doctor, your assignment to a bed as a resident inpatient in 

a Hospital.  There must be a charge for room and board. 
 

Covered Accident means an Accident that: 
 occurs on or after your coverage effective date and the effective date of any riders, 

 occurs while your coverage is in force, and 

 is not excluded by name or specific description in the Policy. 
 

Critical Care Unit means a specifically designated part of a Hospital commonly referred to as an intensive care 

unit which meets all of the following requirements: 
 It provides the highest level of medical care and is restricted to patients who are critically ill or injured and who 

require intensive comprehensive observation and care. 

 It is separate and apart from the surgical recovery room and from rooms, beds and wards customarily used for 
patient confinement. 

 It is permanently equipped with special lifesaving equipment for the care of the critically ill or injured. 

 It is under constant and continuous observation by a specially trained nursing staff assigned exclusively to the 
intensive care unit on a 24 hour basis. 

 It is assigned a Doctor on a full-time basis. 
 
Critical Care Unit does not include a sub-acute intensive care unit that provides a level of medical care below 
intensive care, but above a regular private or semi-private room or ward such as a step-down unit. 
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Dislocation means a separated joint. 
 Open Reduction of Dislocation = surgical reduction of a completely separated joint. 

 Closed Reduction of Dislocation = non-surgical reduction of a completely separated joint. 

 Incomplete Dislocation = the joint is not completely separated. 
 

Doctor means a person other than you or any family member, who is licensed to practice medicine in the state in 

which treatment is received and providing treatment or advice in accordance with the license.  State law may require 
consideration of professional services of a practitioner other than a medical doctor.  If so, then this definition includes 
persons recognized as qualified to treat the condition for which claim is made by the state in which treatment is 
received. 
 

Eligibility Waiting Period means the continuous period of time (shown in the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS) that 

you must be in Active Employment in an eligible class before you are eligible for coverage under the Policy. 
 

Emergency Room means a specified area within a Hospital, or a standalone facility licensed as an emergency 

room with the state, that is designated for emergency care. 
 

Employee means a person who is a citizen or legal resident of the United States in Active Employment with the 

Employer in the United States. 
 

Employer means the Policyholder and includes any division, subsidiary or affiliated company named in the Policy. 
 

Eyelid means the moveable fold of skin and muscle that covers the eye. 
 

Fracture means a broken bone that can be seen by x-ray. 
 Open Reduction of Fracture = surgical. 

 Closed Reduction of Fracture = non-surgical. 
 

Hospital means an institution that is run for the care and treatment of sick or injured persons as in-patients and 

which, on its premises or in facilities available to the Hospital on a pre-arranged basis, fully meets each of the 
following requirements: 
 It is operated in accordance with the laws pertaining to hospitals in the jurisdiction in which it is located. 

 It is under the supervision of a medical staff and has one or more Doctors available at all times. 

 It provides 24 hours a day service by registered graduate nurses (RNs). 

 It is not an institution or any part of an institution used as: a hospice unit, including any bed designated as a 
hospice or a swing bed; a convalescent home; a rest or nursing facility; a free-standing surgical center; a 
rehabilitative facility; an extended-care facility; a skilled nursing facility; or a facility primarily affording custodial, 
educational care, or care or treatment for persons suffering from mental diseases or disorders, or care for the 
aged, or drug or alcohol addiction. 

 

Injury means a bodily Injury that is the direct result of a Covered Accident and not related to any other cause.  

Injuries must be independent of Sickness, disease, bodily infirmity and other causes. 
 

Insured Person means an Employee who is eligible for coverage under the Policy, becomes covered according to 

the terms of the Policy, and whose coverage remains in effect according to the terms of the Policy. 
 

Occupational Therapist means a person other than you or any family member, who is a licensed health care 

professional in the state in which treatment is received and providing treatment or advice in accordance with the 
license. An occupational therapist provides services designed to restore self-care, work, and leisure skills to 
patients/clients who have specific performance incapacities or deficits that reduce their abilities to cope with the tasks 
of everyday living. An occupational therapist evaluates and treats problems arising from developmental deficits, 
physical illness or injury, emotional disorders, the aging process, and psychological or social disability. 
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Organized Sporting Activity means a competition or supervised organized practice for a competition. The 

competition must be governed by a set of written rules, be officiated by someone certified to act in that capacity, and 
overseen by a legal entity such as a public school system or sports conference. The legal entity must have a set of 
bylaws and competition must be on a regulation playing surface. Participation must be on an amateur basis. 
 

Outpatient Surgery means surgical services received at a Hospital or free-standing facility such as a surgical 

center licensed by the state to render Outpatient Surgery.  The surgical service must be performed by a board 
certified surgical specialist with anesthesia rendered by a separate provider. 
 

Paralysis means spinal cord Injuries sustained in a Covered Accident that result in the loss of use of two or more 

arms and legs. 
 Paraplegia = the complete and irreversible Paralysis of both legs. 

 Quadriplegia = the complete and irreversible Paralysis of both arms and both legs. 
 

Physical Therapist means a person other than you or any family member, who: 
 is licensed by the state to practice physical therapy 

 performs services within the scope of his/her license, and 

 practices according to the Code of Ethics of the American Physical Therapy Association. 
 

Policy means the written group insurance contract between us and the Policyholder. 
 

Policyholder means the Employer to whom the Policy is issued and who sponsors the coverage for its Employees. 
 

Sickness means illness, infection, disease or any other abnormal physical condition that is not due to an Injury.  

Sickness includes pregnancy, infection and any other abnormal physical condition that is not caused by an Accident. 
Pregnancy and complications of pregnancy are treated the same as any other Sickness under the Policy.  
Complications of pregnancy means concurrent disease or abnormal conditions significantly affecting the usual 
medical management of pregnancy.  A non-elective cesarean section is considered a complication of pregnancy. 
 

Speech Therapist means a person other than you or any family member, who is a licensed health care professional 

in the state in which treatment is received and providing treatment or advice in accordance with the license. The 
Speech Therapist is trained to evaluate and treat voice, speech, language, or swallowing disorders-eg, hearing 
impairment, that affect speech (oral-motor-work) and communication. 
 

GENERAL PROVISIONS 
ELIGIBILITY 
If you are working for the Employer in an eligible class (shown on the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS), the date you are 
eligible for coverage is the later of the following: 

 

 
EFFECTIVE DATE OF COVERAGE  

 

  

You will be covered at 12:01 a.m. standard time at the Policyholder’s address on the latest of the following: 

 The date you are eligible for coverage, if you apply for coverage on or before that date. 

 The first day of the month following the date you apply for coverage. For your initial eligibility period following your 
first day of Active Employment while the Policy is in force, this effective date will not be more than 90 days after 
your date of Active Employment. 

 The date you return to Active Employment, if you are not in Active Employment when your coverage would 
otherwise become effective.  Exception: Coverage starts on a non-working day if you were in Active Employment 
on your last scheduled working day before the non-working day.  Non-working days include time off for the 
following: vacations, personal holidays, weekends and holidays, approved nonmedical leave of absence and paid 
time off for nonmedical-related absences. 

 

 The Policy effective date.

 The day after you complete your Eligibility Waiting Period, unless waived.
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TERMINATION OF COVERAGE  

Your coverage under the Policy ends on the earliest of the following dates: 

 The date the Policy terminates. 

 The last day of the month during which you are no longer in an eligible class. 

 The last day of the month during which your eligible class is no longer covered. 

 The last day of the month during which you voluntarily cancel your coverage. 

 The end of the period for which you paid premiums, if you stop making a required premium contribution, subject to 
the grace period. 

 The end of the Policyholder's grace period, if the Policyholder does not remit premium to us by the end of such 
period. 

 The last day of the month during which you are no longer in Active Employment. 

We will provide coverage for a payable claim that occurs while you are covered under the Policy. 

 

 

 
We reserve the right to review and terminate all class(es) covered under the Policy if any class(es) cease(s) to be 
covered. 
 
If the Policyholder fails to pay the full premium due by the end of the grace period, the Policy will terminate according 
to the GRACE PERIOD provision.  
 
If we terminate the Policy for reasons other than the Policyholder's failure to pay premiums, written notice will be 
mailed to the Policyholder at least 60 days prior to the termination date. 
 
The Policyholder may terminate the Policy by written notice delivered to us at our home office prior to the termination 
date.  When both the Policyholder and we agree, the Policy can be terminated on an earlier date. 
 
If the Policyholder or we terminate the Policy, coverage will end at 12:00 midnight standard time at the Policyholder's 
address on the termination date. 
 
If the Policy is terminated, the termination will not affect a payable claim. 
 

POLICY TERMINATION 
The Policy can be terminated either by us or by the Policyholder. 

We may terminate the Policy for any of the following reasons: 

 The Policyholder does not promptly provide us with information that is reasonably required. 

 Fewer than 25 persons are insured under the Policy. 

 The premium is not paid in accordance with the provisions of the Policy. 

 We determine that there is a significant change in the size, occupation or age of the eligible class(es) as a result 
of a corporate transaction such as a merger, divestiture, acquisition, sale or reorganization of the Policyholder 
and/or its persons. 

 We stop providing the type of coverage under this Policy to all groups in the Policy issue state. 
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REPRESENTATIONS NOT WARRANTIES 
We consider any statements the Policyholder and you make in an application to be representations and not 
warranties.  No statements made by you will be used to reduce or deny any claim or to cancel your coverage unless 
both of the following are true: 

 The statement is in writing and is signed by you. 

 A copy of that statement is given to you or your personal representative. 
 

 

CLERICAL ERROR 
Clerical error or omission by us or by the Policyholder will not:  

 Prevent you from receiving coverage, if you are entitled to coverage under the terms of the Policy. 

 Cause coverage to begin or continue for you when the coverage would not otherwise be effective. 

 
If the Policyholder gives us information about you that is incorrect, we will do both of the following: 

 Use the facts to decide whether you are eligible for coverage under the Policy and in what amounts. 

 Make a fair adjustment of the premium. 

INCONTESTABILITY 

No statement made by you in an application relating to your insurability will be used to contest the insurance for which 
the statement was made after the coverage has been in force for two years during your lifetime. 
 

GRACE PERIOD 

The Policyholder has a grace period of 75 days for the payment of any premium due except the first.  During the 
grace period the Policy will remain in force.  If full payment is not received by us by the end of the grace period, the 
Policy will automatically terminate at the end of the grace period.  The Policyholder is required to pay a pro rata 
premium for any period the Policy was in force during the grace period.  There is no grace period if the Policyholder 
gives us advance written notice of termination, or if we have given the Policyholder advance written notice of 
termination as described under the POLICY TERMINATION provision. 

If you are on portability, you also have a grace period of 31 days for the payment of any premium due. During the 
grace period your coverage will remain in force.  If full payment is not received by us by the end of the grace period, 
your coverage will automatically terminate at the end of the grace period.  A pro rata premium payment is required for 
any period your coverage was in force during the grace period. 
 

Coverage continued under this provision will end on the earliest of the following: 

 The end of the period for which you paid premiums, if you stop making a required premium contribution, subject to 
the grace period. 

 The date you die. 

 The date the Policy terminates and coverage for all Insured Persons under the Policy terminates, upon 60 days 
written notice of termination. 

 

PORTABILITY 

Portability means you have the option to continue your coverage after it would otherwise terminate, if certain 
conditions are met. You must elect portability before you reach age 70.  

To continue your coverage, you must apply for portability and pay the first premium within 31 days of the date your 
coverage would otherwise terminate due to any of the following: 

 You retire or terminate employment with the Employer, if coverage remains in effect under the Policy for other 
Insured Persons. 

 The Policyholder terminates coverage under the Policy for all Insured Persons, and does not replace it with a 
similar insurance plan. 

 You are no longer eligible for coverage under the Policy. 

Ported coverage is subject to all the terms of the Policy and this Certificate. 

Premiums will be billed directly to you.  Continued premium payment is required to keep coverage in force.  The initial 
premium will be based on the portability premium rates in effect at the time you apply for portability. We may change 
the portability premium rates at any time upon 60 days written notice to you. 
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ASSIGNMENT 
No assignment of benefits under the Policy is valid, unless otherwise specified in the Policy. 
 

AGENCY 
For purposes of the Policy, the Policyholder acts on its own behalf or as your agent.  Under no circumstances will 
the Policyholder be deemed our agent. 
 

CONFORMITY WITH STATE STATUTES 
Any provision of the Policy which, on the Policy effective date and each subsequent Policy anniversary date, 
conflicts with any law that applies in the jurisdiction where the Policy is issued, is automatically amended to conform 
to the minimum requirements of such law. 
 

CHANGES TO POLICY OR CERTIFICATE 
No agent, representative or employee of ours or of any other entity may change or waive the terms of the Policy, or of 
any Certificate or rider issued under it, except in a writing signed by one of our executive officers and endorsed or 
attached to the Policy.  
 
If there is a conflict between the terms of this Certificate or any attached rider and the Policy, the Policy controls. 
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ACCIDENT BENEFITS 
 
ACCIDENT HOSPITAL CARE BENEFITS 
We will pay an ACCIDENT HOSPITAL CARE benefit (as shown in the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS) if you receive 
any of the services or meet any of the conditions described below as the result of Injuries received in a Covered 
Accident. The Injury must occur while you are covered under the Policy. 

 
Blood, Plasma, Platelets:  Transfusion, administration, cross matching, typing and processing of blood, plasma, 
platelets administered within 90 days after a Covered Accident. This benefit is payable once per Covered Accident. 

 
Coma:  You have been in a Coma for at least 5 days. This benefit is payable once per Covered Accident. 

 
Critical Care Unit Confinement:  Confinement in a Critical Care Unit for at least 20 consecutive hours on an 
inpatient basis as the result of a Covered Accident. The Confinement must begin within 30 days after a Covered 
Accident.  Benefits are payable daily for up to 30 days for a Covered Accident.  Benefits are payable for only one 
Critical Care Unit Confinement at a time even if the Confinement is caused by more than one Covered Accident.  
Only one type of Confinement benefit is payable for each period of eligible Confinement. 
 
If you are discharged from the Critical Care Unit and then re-Confined within 30 days due to the same Covered 
Accident or due to a related condition, the re-Confinement will be considered part of the previous Critical Care Unit 
Confinement(s). 
 
Hospital Admission:  Admission to a Hospital as a result of a Covered Accident. The admission must begin within 6 
months after a Covered Accident.  This benefit is payable once per Covered Accident.  No benefit is payable for any 
of the following: 

 Emergency Room treatment. 

 Outpatient Surgery. 

 A stay of less than 20 hours in an observation unit. 
 
Hospital Confinement:  Confinement in a Hospital for at least 20 consecutive hours on an inpatient basis as the 
result of a Covered Accident.  The Hospital Confinement must begin within 6 months after a Covered Accident.  
Benefits are payable daily for up to 365 days for a Covered Accident.  Benefits are payable for only one Hospital 
Confinement at a time even if the Confinement is caused by more than one Covered Accident.  Only one type of 
Confinement benefit is payable for each period of eligible Confinement. 
 
If you are discharged from the Hospital and then re-Confined within 30 days due to the same Covered Accident or 
due to a related condition, the re-Confinement will be considered part of the previous Hospital Confinement(s). 
 
Lodging:  Hotel/motel stay by your companion while you are Confined in a Hospital.  The Hospital must be more than 
100 miles from your home. The companion must be 18 years of age or older.  This benefit is payable for up to 30 days 
per Covered Accident. 
 
Surgery:  The surgery must take place within 30 days after a Covered Accident.  The benefit amount varies based on 
the type of services received (refer to the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS).  This benefit is payable once per Covered 
Accident. If your surgery meets more than one of the surgery classifications, the higher amount will be payable. No 
benefit is payable for hernia repair. 
 
Transportation:  Transportation for you for special treatment and Confinement in a Hospital.  The special treatment 
must be prescribed by a Doctor and not available locally.  The transportation must be more than 100 miles one way.  
This benefit is payable up to 3 trips per Covered Accident.  No benefit is payable for transportation by ground 
ambulance or air ambulance.  
 

ACCIDENT CARE BENEFITS 
We will pay an ACCIDENT CARE benefit (as shown in the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS) if you receive any of the 
services or meet any of the conditions described below as the result of Injuries received in a Covered Accident.  The 
Injury must occur while you are covered under the Policy. 
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Ambulance, Air:  Transport by a licensed professional air ambulance company to or from a Hospital or between 
medical facilities, for treatment of Injuries received as the result of a Covered Accident.  The transport must be within 
48 hours after the Covered Accident.  This benefit is payable once per Covered Accident. 
 
Ambulance, Ground:  Transport by a licensed professional ambulance company to or from a Hospital or between 
medical facilities, for treatment of Injuries received as the result of a Covered Accident.  The transport must be within 
90 days after the Covered Accident.  This benefit is payable once per Covered Accident. 
 
Chiropractic Treatment: Treatment must be received by a Chiropractor in a Chiropractor's office.  The treatment must 
begin within 90 days after a Covered Accident and be completed within 12 months after the Covered Accident.  This 
benefit is payable up to 6 times per Covered Accident. 
 
Emergency Room Treatment:  Examination and treatment by a Doctor in an Emergency Room within 7 days after a 
Covered Accident.  This benefit is payable once per Covered Accident.  Exception:  If you are also eligible for an 
Initial Doctor Visit benefit, the Initial Doctor Visit benefit amount will be subtracted from the Emergency Room 
treatment benefit.   
 
Follow-Up Doctor Treatment:  Follow-up treatment by a Doctor must begin within 180 days after a Covered Accident 
and be completed within 12 months after the Covered Accident. This benefit is only available if you are eligible for the 
Initial Doctor Visit benefit or the Emergency Room treatment benefit. This benefit is payable up to 6 times per Covered 
Accident. 
 
Initial Doctor Visit:  Examination and treatment by a Doctor within 14 days after a Covered Accident.  This benefit is 
payable once per Covered Accident.  Exception:  If you are also eligible for an Emergency Room treatment benefit, 
the Initial Doctor Visit benefit will be subtracted from the Emergency Room treatment benefit. 
 
Major Diagnostic Exams:  A major diagnostic exam must be prescribed by a Doctor and must occur within 6 months 
after the Covered Accident. This benefit is payable once per Covered Accident. 
 
Medical Equipment:  The medical equipment must be prescribed by a Doctor and use must begin within 6 months 
after the Covered Accident.  This benefit is payable once per Covered Accident.  The types of eligible equipment are: 

 Crutches. 

 Wheelchair. 

 Back Brace. 

 Leg Brace. 

 Walker. 
 
Outpatient Surgery: Miscellaneous surgery that is not covered by any other specific sum Injury benefit. The surgery 
must take place within 30 Days after a Covered Accident. Only one surgery benefit is payable per 24-hour period even 
though more than one surgical procedure may be performed. Only one surgery benefit is payable per Covered 
Accident.  No benefit is payable for hernia repair. 
 
Physical or Occupational Therapy:  Therapy must be prescribed by a Doctor and provided by a Physical Therapist 
or by an Occupational Therapist in an office or Hospital on an inpatient or outpatient basis. The therapy must begin 
within 180 days after a Covered Accident and be completed within 12 months after the Covered Accident. This benefit 
is payable up to 10 times per Covered Accident. 
 
Prosthetic Device:  You receive a prosthetic device prescribed by a Doctor for use following the loss of use of a 
hand, a foot or the sight of an eye.  The prosthetic device must be received within one year of a Covered Accident.  
The benefit amount varies based on the number of prosthetic devices received (refer to the SCHEDULE OF 
BENEFITS).  This benefit is payable once per Covered Accident.  Prosthetic devices do not include any of the 
following: 

 Hearing aids. 

 Dental aids including false teeth. 

 Eye-glasses. 

 Artificial joints. 

 Cosmetic prostheses such as hair wigs. 
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Speech Therapy: Therapy for the treatment of speech and communication disorders. The approach used varies 
depending on the disorder. It may include physical exercises to strengthen the muscles used in speech (oral-motor 
work), speech drills to improve clarity, or sound production practice to improve articulation. 
 
Speech therapy must be prescribed by a Doctor and provided by a Speech Therapist in an office or Hospital on an 
inpatient or outpatient basis.  The therapy must begin within 180 days after a Covered Accident and be completed 
within 12 months after the Covered Accident. This benefit is payable up to 6 times per Covered Accident. 
 
X-ray: An x-ray must be prescribed by a Doctor. This benefit is payable within 90 days of a Covered Accident and is 
payable once per Covered Accident. 
 

 

If you receive more than one Dislocation in the same Covered Accident, a benefit is payable for all Dislocations.  
However, the benefit will be no more than two times the benefit amount for the joint involved which pays the highest 
benefit amount. 
 
If you receive a Dislocation and a Fracture in the same Covered Accident, a benefit is payable for both.  However, 
the benefit will be no more than two times the amount for the bone or joint involved which pays the highest benefit 
amount. 
 
If you receive a Dislocation or a Fracture and you tear, rupture or sever a tendon/ligament/rotator cuff in the same 
Covered Accident, only one benefit is payable.  The benefit payable will be the largest of either the Dislocation, the 
Fracture or the tendon/ligament/rotator cuff benefit. 
 
This benefit is payable once per Covered Accident.  Exception: Subsequent Dislocations of the same joint in a 
different Covered Accident are not covered. 
 
Emergency Dental Work:  Natural teeth must be damaged due to a Covered Accident and either extracted or 
repaired by the placement of a crown.  The benefit amount varies based on the type of services received (refer to 
the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS).  This benefit is payable once per Covered Accident regardless of the number of 
teeth involved. 
 
Eye Injury:  The eye Injury must be treated by a Doctor within 90 days after a Covered Accident.  The Injury must 
require surgery or the removal of a foreign object by a Doctor.  The benefit amount varies based on the type of 
services received (refer to the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS).  This benefit is payable once per Covered Accident.  No 
benefit is payable for examination with anesthesia or for an Injury to the Eyelid. 
  

COMMON INJURIES BENEFITS 

We will pay a COMMON INJURIES benefit (as shown on the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS) if you receive any of the 
services or meet any of the conditions described below as the result of Injuries received in a Covered Accident.  The 
Injury must occur while you are covered under the Policy. 

Burns:  The burn must be treated by a Doctor within 72 hours after a Covered Accident.  The benefit amount varies 
based on the burn classification (refer to the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS).  If your burn meets more than one of the 
burn classifications, the higher amount will be payable.  This benefit is payable once per Covered Accident.  

Concussion:  The concussion must be diagnosed by a Doctor within 72 hours after a Covered Accident.  The 
diagnosis must be confirmed by the use of some type of medical imaging procedure; i.e. x-ray, CT scan or MRI. 

Dislocations:  The Dislocation must be diagnosed by a Doctor within 90 days after a Covered Accident.  The 
Dislocation must require Open or Closed Reduction by a Doctor.  The benefit amount will vary based on the type of 
services received. 

 If the reduction is done without anesthesia, the benefit will be reduced to 25% of what would have been paid for 
a Closed Reduction of the same joint. 

 If the Dislocation is incomplete, the benefit will be reduced to 25% of what would have been paid for a Closed 
Reduction of the same joint. 
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Fractures:  The Fracture must be diagnosed by a Doctor within 90 days after a Covered Accident.  The Fracture 
must require Open or Closed Reduction by a Doctor. If the Doctor diagnoses the Fracture as a Chip Fracture, the 
benefit will be reduced to a percentage of what would have been paid for a Closed Reduction of the same bone.  
The benefit amount varies based on the type of services received (refer to the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS). 
 
If you receive more than one Fracture in a Covered Accident, a benefit is payable for all Fractures.  However, the 
benefit will be no more than two times the benefit amount listed for the bone which pays the highest benefit amount. 
 
If you receive a Fracture and a Dislocation in the same Covered Accident, a benefit is payable for both.  However, 
the benefit will be no more than two times the amount for the bone or joint involved which pays the highest benefit 
amount. 
 
If you receive a Fracture or a Dislocation and you tear, rupture or sever a tendon/ligament/rotator cuff in the same 
Covered Accident, only one benefit is payable.  The benefit payable will be the largest of either the Fracture, the 
Dislocation or the tendon/ligament/rotator cuff benefit. 
 

 

Tendon/Ligament/Rotator Cuff:  The tendon, ligament or rotator cuff must be torn, ruptured or severed and repaired 
through surgery within 90 days after a Covered Accident. The benefit amount varies based on the number of repairs 
required and the services received (refer to the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS). This benefit is payable once per Covered 
Accident. 
 
If you receive a Dislocation or a Fracture and you tear, rupture or sever a tendon/ligament/rotator cuff in the same 
Covered Accident, only one benefit is payable. The benefit payable will be the largest of either the Dislocation, the 
Fracture or the tendon/ligament/rotator cuff benefit. 
 
Torn Knee Cartilage:  You must receive surgical repair of torn knee cartilage.  The Injury must be treated by a Doctor 
within 60 days after a Covered Accident. Surgical repair of the tear must occur within 6 months after the Covered 
Accident.  The benefit amount varies based on the type of service received (refer to the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS).  
This benefit is payable once per Covered Accident. 
   

ADDITIONAL BENEFIT(S)  
   
Sports Accident Benefit: An additional percentage of the Accident Hospital Care, Accident Care or Common Injuries 
benefit amount is payable if the Covered Accident is the result of an Organized Sporting Activity. 
 
This benefit does not apply to any additional benefits provided under a separate rider. 

Laceration:  A laceration is a cut.  The laceration must be treated by a Doctor within 72 hours after a Covered 
Accident.  The benefit amount will be based on the total length of all lacerations requiring repair that are received in 
any one Covered Accident.  If the laceration is severe enough to require stitches but the Doctor chooses to repair it 
another way, the benefit will be determined as if the laceration was stitched.  This benefit is payable once per 
Covered Accident. 

Paralysis:  Paralysis must be confirmed by a Doctor and based on documented evidence of the Injury that caused 
the Paralysis.  The duration of the Paralysis must be at least 30 days and expected to be permanent.  The benefit 
amount varies based on the degree of Paralysis (refer to the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS).  This benefit is payable 
once per Covered Accident. 

Ruptured Disk:  You must receive surgical repair of a ruptured disk.  The ruptured disk must be treated by a Doctor 
within 90 days after a Covered Accident.  Surgical Repair by a Doctor is required within one year after the Covered 
Accident.  This benefit is payable once per Covered Accident. 

Skin Graft:  The skin graft is for a burn for which a benefit was paid under the burn benefit in this section.  This 
benefit is payable once per Covered Accident.  
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EXCLUSIONS 
Benefits are not payable for any loss caused in whole or directly by any of the following: 
 

 

 
 

CLAIMS 
 

NOTICE OF CLAIM 
Written notice of your claim should be given to us within 30 days after the date of loss.  The notice may be given to us 
at our home office or to our authorized agent or administrator.  Failure to give notice within this timeframe will not 
invalidate or reduce any payable claim if it can be shown that it was not reasonably possible to give such notice within 
that time and the notice was given as soon as reasonably possible. 
 

CLAIM FORM 
The claim form is available from the Employer or you can request a claim form from us. If you do not receive the form 
from us within 15 days of your request, you may send us written proof of loss without waiting for the form. If such 
written proof of loss covers the occurrence, character and extent of the loss within the time period below for proof of 
loss, you will be deemed to have complied with the requirements for providing proof of loss.  

The claim form(s) may require completion by you and the Employer and your attending Doctor. The completed form(s) 
and any attachments indicated on the form(s) as required should be sent directly to us at the address indicated on the 
form. 

PROOF OF LOSS 
You must send us written proof of your loss within 180 days after the date of loss.  Failure to give such proof within 
this timeframe will not invalidate or reduce any payable claim if it can be shown that it was not reasonably possible to 
give such proof within that time, and the proof was given as soon as reasonably possible.  However, in any event, you 
must provide proof of loss no later than one year after the time proof is otherwise required, except in the absence of 
legal capacity. 

PHYSICAL EXAMINATION 
We may require you to be examined by one or more Doctors or other medical practitioners of our choice. We will pay 
for this examination. We can require an examination as often as it is reasonable to do so while your claim is pending. 
We may also require you to be interviewed by our authorized representative. Failure to comply with this request may 
result in denial or termination of benefits. 

 Participation or attempt to participate in a felony or illegal activity. 

 An Accident while you are operating a motorized vehicle while intoxicated. Intoxication means your blood alcohol 
content meets or exceeds the legal presumption of intoxication under the laws of the state where the Accident 
occurred. 

 Suicide, attempted suicide or any intentionally self-inflicted Injury, while sane or insane. 

 War or any act of war, whether declared or undeclared (excluding acts of terrorism). 

 Loss sustained while on active duty as a member of the armed forces of any nation.  We will refund, upon Written 
notice of such service, any premium which has been accepted for any period not covered as a result of this 
exclusion.  

 Alcoholism, drug abuse, or misuse of alcohol or taking of drugs, other than under the direction of a Doctor.  

 Riding in or driving any motor-driven vehicle in a race, stunt show or speed test. 

 Operating, or training to operate, or service as a crew member of, or jumping, parachuting or falling from, any 
aircraft or hot air balloon, including those which are not motor-driven.  Flying as a fare-paying passenger is not 
excluded. 

 Engaging in hang-gliding, bungee jumping, parachuting, sailgliding, parasailing, parakiting, kitesurfing or any 
similar activities. 

 Practicing for, or participating in, any semi-professional or professional competitive athletic contests for which any 
type of compensation or remuneration is received. 

 Any Sickness or declining process caused by a Sickness. 
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PAYMENT OF CLAIMS 
Benefits are payable to you unless otherwise specified. Once a claim has been approved, we will make payment 
immediately upon receipt of proof of loss. Any accrued benefits that are payable at your death will be paid to the first 
survivor(s) who is/are living on the date of your death, in the following order: 
 
1. Your spouse. 
2. Your natural and adopted children, in equal shares. 
3. Your grandchildren, in equal shares. 
4. Your parents, in equal shares. 
5. Your siblings, in equal shares. 
6. Your estate.  
 
If a survivor entitled to receive a payment dies before receiving it, we will make payment to that person’s estate. 
 
"Spouse” in this provision means your lawful spouse.  
 
Any payment we make in good faith will discharge our liability as to the extent of such payment. We will pay the 
benefits in one sum or in a method comparable to one sum.   

LEGAL ACTION 
You can start legal action regarding a claim no earlier than 60 days after written proof of loss has been given to us, 
and no later than three years from the time proof of loss is required, unless otherwise provided under federal law.  
Nothing in this provision waives, extends or tolls any applicable statute of limitations governing any claim relating in 
any way to your coverage. 
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CERTIFICATE AMENDMENT 

RELIASTAR LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY 
250 Marquette Avenue, Suite 900, Minneapolis, Minnesota 55401 

POLICYHOLDER: State of North Carolina 

GROUP POLICY NUMBER: 68077-0CAC 

 
The group Certificate issued to the Policyholder is amended as indicated below.  This amendment is made a part of the 
Policy, and the provisions of this amendment apply in lieu of any Policy provisions to the contrary.  Unless expressly 
changed by this amendment, the terms used in this amendment have the same meaning as in the Certificate. 

 
DEFINITIONS 

 
Hospital means an institution, whether tax-supported or otherwise, that is run for the care and treatment of sick or 

injured persons as in-patients and which, on its premises or in facilities available to the Hospital on a pre-arranged 
basis, fully meets each of the following requirements: 
 It is operated in accordance with the laws pertaining to hospitals in the jurisdiction in which it is located. 

 It is under the supervision of a medical staff and has one or more Doctors available at all times. 

 It provides 24 hours a day service by registered graduate nurses (RNs). 

 Unless it is a duly licensed State tax-supported institution, a  Hospital is not an institution or any part of an institution 
used as: a hospice unit, including any bed designated as a hospice or a swing bed; a convalescent home; a rest or 
nursing facility; a free-standing surgical center; a rehabilitative facility; an extended-care facility; a skilled nursing 
facility; or a facility primarily affording custodial, educational care, or care or treatment for persons suffering from 
mental diseases or disorders, or care for the aged, or drug or alcohol addiction. 

 
Executed at our Home Office: 
250 Marquette Avenue, Suite 900 
Minneapolis, MN  55401 
 

 

 

 

 Robert L. Grubka 
  President 

   Melissa A. O'Donnell 
   Secretary 
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SPOUSE ACCIDENT RIDER 

RELIASTAR LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY 
20 Washington Avenue South, Minneapolis, Minnesota 55401 

POLICYHOLDER: State of North Carolina 

GROUP POLICY NUMBER: 68077-0CAC 

This rider is made a part of the Accident Insurance Certificate and is subject to all of the provisions, limitations and 
exclusions of the Policy and Certificate, unless changed by this rider.  Unless expressly changed by this rider, the 
terms used in this rider have the same meaning as in the Certificate. 
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ACCIDENT BENEFITS  
The benefit amounts for your Spouse are the same as the benefit amounts for you as shown in the SCHEDULE OF 
BENEFITS section of the Certificate, based on your Spouse's Covered Accident. 
 

 

DEFINITIONS 
General terms defined in the DEFINITIONS section of the Certificate regarding medical conditions and eligibility 
apply to your Spouse. 

Spouse means your lawful spouse. 
 

SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS 

WHO PAYS FOR THE COVERAGE 
You pay the cost of coverage under this rider. 
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PORTABILITY  
If you are approved by us to continue your coverage under the Certificate's PORTABILITY provision, then this rider 
can also be continued during portability. 
 

PORTABILITY FOLLOWING DEATH OR DIVORCE  
If you die or divorce, your Spouse can apply to continue Spouse coverage if certain conditions are met. Your Spouse 
must have been insured under this rider on the date of your death or divorce, your Spouse must be under age 70 
and your Spouse must apply for portability and pay the first premium within 31 days of the date of your death or 
divorce. 
 
If your Spouse is approved by us for portability, your Spouse will become the owner of the Spouse coverage that 
was previously provided under this rider. Ported coverage is subject to all the terms of the Policy and Certificate. 
 
Premiums will be billed directly to your Spouse.  Continued premium payment is required to keep coverage in force.  
The initial premium will be based on the portability premium rates in effect at the time your Spouse applies for 
portability. Each Premium due will include a billing fee as indicated with the portability application or subsequent 
notice. We may change the portability premium rates at any time upon 60 days written notice to your Spouse. 

GENERAL PROVISIONS 

ELIGIBILITY 
If you are covered under the Policy, then your Spouse is eligible under this Rider on the latest of the following: 

 The Policy effective date. 

 The date this rider is available to the eligible class of Insured Persons to which you belong. 

 Your Accident coverage effective date. 

 The date of your marriage. 

If your Spouse is covered under the Policy as an Employee, then your Spouse is not eligible for coverage under this 
rider.  

EFFECTIVE DATE 

Your Spouse will be covered at 12:01 a.m. standard time at the Policyholder’s address on the latest of the following: 

 The date your Spouse is eligible for coverage, if you apply for Spouse coverage on or before that date. 

 The first day of the month following the date you apply for Spouse coverage. For your initial eligibility period 
following your first day of Active Employment while the Policy is in force, this effective date will not be more than 
90 days after your date of Active Employment. 

 The date you return to Active Employment, if you are not in Active Employment when your Spouse’s coverage 
would otherwise become effective. Exception: Coverage starts on a non-working day if you were in Active 
Employment on your last scheduled working day before the non-working day. Non-working days include time off 
for the following: vacations, personal holidays, weekends and holidays, approved nonmedical Leave of Absence 
and paid time off for nonmedical-related absences. 

TERMINATION 
This rider terminates on the earliest of the following: 

 The date your Certificate terminates. 

 The date this rider is terminated for all Insured Persons under the Policy. 

 The last day of the month during which you voluntarily cancel this rider. 

 The last day of the month during which your Spouse is no longer an eligible Spouse as defined by this rider. See 
the PORTABILITY FOLLOWING DEATH OR DIVORCE provision below. 

 The end of the period for which premiums are paid, if the next required premium contribution is not paid, subject 
to the grace period. 
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EXCLUSIONS 
Benefits are not payable for any loss caused in whole or directly by any of the following: 

 Participation or attempt to participate in a felony or illegal activity. 

 An Accident while your Spouse is operating a motorized vehicle while intoxicated.  Intoxication means your 
Spouse's blood alcohol content meets or exceeds the legal presumption of intoxication under the laws of the state 
where the Accident occurred. 

 Suicide, attempted suicide or any intentionally self-inflicted Injury, while sane or insane. 

 War or any act of war, whether declared or undeclared (excluding acts of terrorism). 

 Loss sustained while on active duty as a member of the armed forces of any nation.  We will refund, upon written 
notice of such service, any premium which has been accepted for any period not covered as a result of this 
exclusion. 

 Alcoholism, drug abuse, or misuse of alcohol or taking of drugs, other than under the direction of a Doctor. 

 Riding in or driving any motor-driven vehicle in a race, stunt show or speed test. 

 Operating, or training to operate, or service as a crew member of, or jumping, parachuting or falling from, any 
aircraft or hot air balloon, including those which are not motor-driven. Flying as a fare-paying passenger is not 
excluded.  

 Engaging in hang-gliding, bungee jumping, parachuting, sailgliding, parasailing, parakiting, kitesurfing or any 
similar activities. 

 Practicing for, or participating in, any semi-professional or professional competitive athletic contests for which any 
type of compensation or remuneration is received. 

 Any Sickness or declining process caused by a Sickness. 

 

ACCIDENT BENEFITS 
The benefits for your Spouse are the same as the benefits for you as shown in the ACCIDENT BENEFITS section of 
the Certificate, based on your Spouse's Covered Accident. 

 

Coverage continued under this provision will end on the earliest of the following: 

 The end of the period for which your Spouse paid premiums, if your Spouse stops making a required premium 
contribution, subject to the grace period. 

 The date your Spouse dies. 

 The date the Policy terminates and coverage for all Insured Persons under the Policy terminates, upon 60 days 
written notice of termination. 
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Executed at our Home Office: 
20 Washington Avenue South 
Minneapolis, MN 55401 
 
 

               
  Robert L. Grubka                      Melissa A. O'Donnell 
  President                   Secretary 
 

PAYMENT OF CLAIMS 
Benefits under this rider are payable to you. Once a claim has been approved, we will make payment immediately 
upon receipt of proof of loss. Any accrued benefits that are payable at your death will be paid according to the 
PAYMENT OF CLAIMS provision in the Certificate. For Portability Following Death or Divorce, any accrued benefits 
that are payable at the time of your Spouse’s death will be paid to your Spouse’s estate. 
 
Any payment we make in good faith will discharge our liability as to the extent of such payment. 
 
 

CLAIMS 
Additional general claim provisions are described in the CLAIMS section of the Certificate. 

 
CLAIM FORMS 
The claim form is available from the Employer or you can request a claim form from us.  If you do not receive the form 
from us within 15 days of your request, you may send us written proof of loss without waiting for the form.  If such 
written proof of loss covers the occurrence, character and extent of the loss within the time period noted in the 
Certificate for proof of loss, you will be deemed to have complied with the requirements for providing proof of loss. 
 
The claim form(s) may require completion by you and the Employer and your Spouse's attending Doctor. The 
completed form(s) and any attachments indicated on the form(s) as required should be sent directly to us at the 
address indicated on the form. 

 
PHYSICAL EXAMINATION 
We may require your Spouse to be examined by one or more Doctors or other medical practitioners of our choice.  
We will pay for this examination.  We can require an examination as often as it is reasonable to do so while the claim 
is pending.  We may also require your Spouse to be interviewed by our authorized representative. Failure to comply 
with this request may result in denial or termination of benefits. 
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CHILDREN'S ACCIDENT RIDER  

RELIASTAR LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY 
20 Washington Avenue South, Minneapolis, Minnesota 55401 

POLICYHOLDER: State of North Carolina 

GROUP POLICY NUMBER: 68077-0CAC 

This rider is made a part of the Accident Insurance Certificate and is subject to all of the provisions, limitations and 
exclusions of the Policy and Certificate, unless changed by this rider.  Unless expressly changed by this rider, the 
terms used in this rider have the same meaning as in the Certificate. 

 

            CONTENTS 

Section Page 

Schedule of Benefits.................................................   1 

Definitions.................................................................  1 

General Provisions....................................................   2 

Accident Benefits...................................................... 3 

Exclusions................................................................     3 

Claims.......................................................................   4 

 
 

 

 
 

DEFINITIONS 
 

General terms defined in the DEFINITIONS section of the Certificate regarding medical conditions and eligibility 
apply to your Children. 

Child or Children means a child from birth but less than 26 years of age who is one of the following: 

 Your natural child or stepchild. 

 Your adopted child (including a child placed for adoption) or foster child from the date of placement. 

 A child for whom you are required to provide Accident coverage under a court order. 
 
The child must also meet all of the following conditions: 

 Be unmarried. 

 Not be on full-time active duty in the armed forces of any country or subdivision thereof. 

 Legally reside in the United States or its territories or possessions. 

 Not be insured under the Policy as an Employee or Spouse. 

SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS 

WHO PAYS FOR THE COVERAGE 
You pay the cost of coverage under this rider. 

ACCIDENT BENEFITS  
The benefit amounts for your Children are the same as the benefit amounts for you as shown in the SCHEDULE OF 
BENEFITS section of the Certificate, based on your Child’s Covered Accident. 
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This definition includes your Child age 26 or older who is incapable of self-sustaining employment due to physical or 
intellectual disability. Written proof of the Child's incapacity must be furnished to us at our home office within 31 days 
after the Child reaches the limiting age. We may require, at reasonable intervals, but not more than once a year after 
the two year period following attainment of the limiting age, evidence satisfactory to us that the incapacity is 
continuing. 
 
Coverage will continue while the Child remains incapable of self-sustaining employment due to physical or intellectual 
disability and continues to meet the definition of Child except for the age limit.  

Spouse means your lawful spouse. 

 
 

GENERAL PROVISIONS 

ELIGIBILITY 
If you are covered under the Policy, then your Children are eligible under this rider on the latest of the following: 

 The Policy effective date. 

 The date this rider is available to the eligible class of Insured Persons to which you belong. 

 Your Accident coverage effective date. 

 The date you acquire a Child by marriage, birth or adoption. 

If your Child is covered under the Policy as an Employee, then your Child is not eligible for coverage under this rider. 

If both you and your Spouse are covered under the Policy as an Employee, then only one, but not both, may cover 
the same Children under this rider.  If the parent who is covering the Children stops being insured as an Employee 
then the other parent may apply for Children’s coverage under this rider within 60 days. 

EFFECTIVE DATE 

Your Children will be covered at 12:01 a.m. standard time at the Policyholder’s address on the latest of the following: 

 The date your Children are eligible for coverage, if you apply for Children’s coverage on or before that date. 

 The first day of the month following the date you apply for Children’s coverage. For your initial eligibility period 
following your first day of Active Employment while the Policy is in force, this effective date will not be more than 
90 days after your date of Active Employment. 

 The date you return to Active Employment, if you are not in Active Employment when your Children’s coverage 
would otherwise become effective.  Exception: Coverage starts on a non-working day if you were in Active 
Employment on your last scheduled working day before the non-working day.  Non-working days include time off 
for the following: vacations, personal holidays, weekends and holidays, approved nonmedical Leave of Absence 
and paid time off for nonmedical-related absences. 

If you have coverage under this rider and you acquire a new eligible Child due to birth, marriage or adoption, then the 
newly eligible Child will be covered automatically from the date of the event. 

TERMINATION 
Coverage for each Child ends on the earliest of the following: 

 The date this rider terminates. 

 The last day of the month during which the Child reaches age 26, unless he/she is disabled as defined under the 
definition of Child. Coverage of a disabled Child ends when the Child is no longer dependent on you for support 
and maintenance. 

This rider terminates on the earliest of the following: 

 The date your Certificate terminates. 

 The date this rider is terminated for all Insured Persons under the Policy. 

 The last day of the month during which you voluntarily cancel this rider. 

 The date you no longer have any eligible Children covered under this rider. See the PORTABILITY FOLLOWING 
DEATH provision below. 

 The end of the period for which premiums are paid, if the next required premium contribution is not paid, subject 
to the grace period. 
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PORTABILITY 
If you are approved by us to continue your coverage under the Certificate's PORTABILITY provision, then this rider 
can also be continued during portability. 
 

PORTABILITY FOLLOWING DEATH 
If you die and your Spouse is approved by us for portability under the Spouse Accident Rider, then this rider can be 
continued under your Spouse's coverage. Following portability of this rider, Children may be covered only if they 
would have been eligible for coverage under the eligibility rules in force prior to the death of the Employee. 
 
Premiums will be billed directly to your Spouse. Continued premium payment is required to keep coverage in force. 
The initial premium will be based on the portability premium rates in effect at the time your Spouse applies for 
portability. We may change the portability premium rates at any time upon 60 days written notice to your Spouse. 
 

 

 
ACCIDENT BENEFITS 

The benefits for your Children are the same as the benefits for you as shown in the ACCIDENT BENEFITS section 
of the Certificate, based on your Child’s Covered Accident.  Benefits are payable for each covered Child. 
 

 

EXCLUSIONS 
Benefits are not payable for any loss caused in whole or directly by any of the following: 

 Participation or attempt to participate in a felony or illegal activity. 

 An Accident while your Child is operating a motorized vehicle while intoxicated.  Intoxication means your Child’s 
blood alcohol content meets or exceeds the legal presumption of intoxication under the laws of the state where 
the Accident occurred. 

 Suicide, attempted suicide or any intentionally self-inflicted Injury, while sane or insane. 

 War or any act of war, whether declared or undeclared (excluding acts of terrorism). 

 Loss sustained while on active duty as a member of the armed forces of any nation.  We will refund, upon written 
notice of such service, any premium which has been accepted for any period not covered as a result of this 
exclusion. 

 Alcoholism, drug abuse, or misuse of alcohol or taking of drugs, other than under the direction of a Doctor. 

 Riding in or driving any motor-driven vehicle in a race, stunt show or speed test. 

 Operating, or training to operate, or service as a crew member of, or jumping, parachuting or falling from, any 
aircraft or hot air balloon, including those which are not motor-driven.  Flying as a fare-paying passenger is not 
excluded. 

 Engaging in hang-gliding, bungee jumping, parachuting, sailgliding, parasailing, parakiting, kitesurfing or any 
similar activities. 

 Practicing for, or participating in, any semi-professional or professional competitive athletic contests for which any 
type of compensation or remuneration is received. 

 Any Sickness or declining process caused by a Sickness. 

 

Coverage continued under this provision will end on the earliest of the following: 

 The end of the period for which your Spouse paid premiums, if your Spouse stops making a required premium 
contribution, subject to the grace period. 

 The date your Spouse dies. 

 The date there are no longer any eligible Children covered under this rider. 

 The date the Policy terminates and coverage for all Insured Persons under the Policy terminates, upon 60 days 
written notice of termination. 
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Executed at our Home Office: 
20 Washington Avenue South 
Minneapolis, MN 55401 
 
 

               
 Robert L. Grubka                Melissa A. O'Donnell 
  President                  Secretary 

PAYMENT OF CLAIMS 
Benefits under this rider are payable to you. Once a claim has been approved, we will make payment immediately 
upon receipt of proof of loss. Any accrued benefits that are payable at the time of your Child's death will be paid to 
you or to your estate. 
 
Any payment we make in good faith will discharge our liability as to the extent of such payment. 
 

CLAIMS 
Additional general claim provisions are described in the CLAIMS section of the Certificate. 
 

CLAIM FORMS 
The claim form is available from the Employer or you can request a claim form from us. If you do not receive the form 
from us within 15 days of your request, you may send us written proof of loss without waiting for the form. If such 
written proof of loss covers the occurrence, character and extent of the loss within the time period noted in the 
Certificate for proof of loss, you will be deemed to have complied with the requirements for providing proof of loss. 
 
The claim form(s) may require completion by you and the Employer and your Child’s attending Doctor.  The 
completed form(s) and any attachments indicated on the form(s) as required should be sent directly to us at the 
address indicated on the form. 
 

PHYSICAL EXAMINATION 
We may require your Child to be examined by one or more Doctors or other medical practitioners of our choice. We 
will pay for this examination. We can require an examination as often as it is reasonable to do so while the claim is 
pending. We may also require you to be interviewed by our authorized representative. Failure to comply with this 
request may result in denial or termination of benefits. 
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GENERAL PROVISIONS 

 
ELIGIBILITY 
If you are covered under the Policy, then you are eligible for this rider on the latest of the following: 

 The Policy effective date. 

 The date this rider is available to the eligible class of Employees to which you belong. 

 Your Accident coverage effective date. 
 

EFFECTIVE DATE 
You will be covered at 12:01 a.m. standard time at the Policyholder’s address on the date you are eligible for this 
rider. 
 

TERMINATION 
This rider terminates on the earliest of the following: 

 The date your Accident insurance terminates. 

 The date this rider is terminated for all Employees under the Policy. 

 The date this rider is terminated for the eligible class of Employees to which you belong. 

 

 
 

DEFINITIONS 
  

Covered Person means: 
 You, if you are covered for Accident insurance under the Policy. 

 Your Spouse who is covered under your Spouse Accident Rider. 

 Your Children who are covered under your Children’s Accident Rider. 
 
Leave of Absence means you are absent from Active Employment for a period of time under a leave granted in 

writing by the Employer that is in accordance with the Employer’s formal leave policies.  Your normal vacation time 
is not considered a Leave of Absence. 
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CONTINUATION OF INSURANCE RIDER 

RELIASTAR LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY 

20 Washington Avenue South, Minneapolis, Minnesota 55401 

POLICYHOLDER: State of North Carolina 

GROUP POLICY NUMBER: 68077-0CAC 

 
This rider is made a part of the Accident Insurance Certificate and is subject to all of the provisions, limitations and 
exclusions of the Policy and Certificate, unless changed by this rider.  Unless expressly changed by this rider, the 
terms used in this rider have the same meaning as in the Certificate. 
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CONTINUATION OF INSURANCE 

 
If you stop Active Employment due to: 

 Employer-approved Leave of Absence 
then insurance coverage may be continued under the Policy beyond the date you are no longer in Active Employment, 
limited to the time period(s) described below. 
 
During this continued coverage period, the amount of continued insurance equals the amount in effect the day prior to 
the continuation period.  That amount will reduce or stop according to the Certificate and riders in effect the day prior to 
the continuation period. 
 
Premiums are due during the continuation period on the same basis as on the day prior to the continuation period.  
Contact the Employer for more information. 
 
If an eligible claim occurs while coverage is being continued under this rider, then benefits will be paid as described in 
the Certificate and riders. 
 

EMPLOYER-APPROVED LEAVE(S) OF ABSENCE 
Family and Medical Leave 
If you are on a Leave of Absence as described under the Family and Medical Leave Act of 1993 and any amendments 
("FMLA") or applicable state family and medical leave law ("State FML"), and the Employer's human resource policy 
provides for continuation of insurance during an FMLA or State FML Leave of Absence, then insurance coverage for 
all Covered Persons may be continued until the end of the later of: 

 The leave period permitted by FMLA. 

 The leave period permitted by state FML. 
 
This continuation of coverage includes all riders that were in effect on the date before the FMLA or State FML Leave of 
Absence began. 
  
Sickness or Injury 
If you are on a Leave of Absence due to your sickness or injury, then insurance coverage for all Covered Persons 
may be continued until the date which is 12 months after the date you stopped Active Employment. 
 
This continuation of coverage includes all riders that were in effect on the date before the Leave of Absence began. 

 

 
CONCURRENT LEAVES OF ABSENCE 
If you would be eligible for more than one type of continuation under this rider during any one period that you are not in 
Active Employment, we will consider such periods to be concurrent for the purpose of determining how long your 
coverage may continue under the Policy. 
  

Other Leave of Absence 
If you are on a Leave of Absence for any other reason, then insurance coverage for all Covered Persons may be 
continued until the date which is 1 month after the date you stopped Active Employment. 
 
This continuation of coverage includes all riders that in effect on the date before the Leave of Absence began. 
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TERMINATION OF CONTINUATION 
Coverage continued under this rider will end on the earliest of the following: 

 The end of the continuation period as indicated above. 

 The end of the period for which premiums are paid if the next premium is not paid by its due date, subject to the 
grace period. 

 The date you are eligible under the Policy in Active Employment. 

 The date of your death. 

 The date you become covered under another group Accident insurance policy as an employee or member. 

 The date the Policy terminates. 

 The date coverage for all Employees under the Policy terminates. 
 
In no event will coverage for any Covered Person be continued beyond the date coverage would otherwise end 
according to the termination provision(s) of the Certificate and riders. 
 
When this continuation ends, insurance under the Policy will stay in force only if all of the following conditions are met: 

 Accident insurance is in force for Employees under the Policy, and 

 You are in an eligible class for coverage under the Policy, and 

 Your premium payments are resumed. 
 
The amount of insurance will be subject to the Certificate and riders in effect on the date your premium payments are 
resumed. 
 

RETURN TO ACTIVE EMPLOYMENT 

If coverage is not continued during your Leave of Absence for active military service, and you return to Active 
Employment while coverage is in force for Employees under the Policy, then coverage for all Covered Persons may be 
reinstated in accordance with USERRA and applicable state law. 
 

If coverage is not continued during any other period that is eligible for continuation under the Policy, and you return to 
Active Employment while coverage is in force for Employees under the Policy, then the terms of the Certificate and 
riders will apply. 

 

 

           

 

        Robert L. Grubka       Melissa A. O'Donnell 
     President     Secretary 
 

Executed at our Home Office: 

20 Washington Avenue South 

Minneapolis, MN 55401 
 



 

 

RL-ACC3-HCR-16-NC 1 HCR-9460 (04/23) 

 

 
 

SICKNESS HOSPITAL CONFINEMENT RIDER  

RELIASTAR LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY 

20 Washington Avenue South, Minneapolis, Minnesota 55401 

POLICYHOLDER: State of North Carolina 

GROUP POLICY NUMBER: 68077-0CAC 

This rider is made a part of the Accident Insurance Certificate and is subject to all of the provisions, limitations and 
exclusions of the Policy and Certificate, unless changed by this rider.  Unless expressly changed by this rider, the 

terms used in this rider have the same meaning as in the Certificate.  Notice to buyer: This is a Hospital 
Confinement rider.  This rider provides limited benefits.  Benefits provided are supplemental and 
are not intended to cover medical expenses. 

 

            CONTENTS 

Section Page 

Schedule of Benefits................................................   1 

Definitions................................................................   2 

General Provisions...................................................   2 

Sickness Hospital Confinement Benefits................... 3 

Exclusions and Limitations.......................................    3 

Claims......................................................................    3 

 

SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS 

WHO PAYS FOR THE COVERAGE 
The cost of coverage under this rider is automatically included in the cost of your coverage and the cost of your 
Spouse's coverage and the cost of your Children's coverage. 

 
BENEFIT WAITING PERIOD 
A continuous period of 30 days. 

 

 

 

SICKNESS HOSPITAL CONFINEMENT BENEFITS 

  

You: $200 per day for up to 
30 days. 

Your Spouse: $200 per day for up to 
30 days. 

Your Children: $150 per day for up to 
30 days. 
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PORTABILITY 
If you are approved by us to continue your coverage under the Certificate’s PORTABILITY provision, then this rider 
will also be continued during portability. 
 

PORTABILITY FOLLOWING DEATH OR DIVORCE 
If you die or divorce and your Spouse is approved by us for portability under the Spouse Accident Rider, then this 
rider can also be continued under your Spouse's coverage. 
 

OTHER INSURANCE WITH US 
You may only have coverage with us under one policy that provides hospital confinement benefits through us. 

TERMINATION 

This rider terminates on the earliest of the following: 

 The date your Certificate terminates. 

 The date this rider is terminated for all Insured Persons under the Policy. 

 Your 65th birthday if you are no longer in Active Employment. 

 For your Spouse's coverage, the date your Spouse Accident Rider terminates. 

 For each Child's coverage, the date your Child's coverage under the Children's Accident Rider terminates. 
 

 
GENERAL PROVISIONS 

ELIGIBILITY 
If you are working for the Employer in an eligible class (shown in the Certificate's SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS), you 
are eligible for this rider on the latest of the following dates: 

 The Policy effective date.

 The date this rider is available to the eligible class of Insured Persons to which you belong.

 Your Accident coverage effective date.
  

EFFECTIVE DATE 
Each Covered Person will be covered at 12:01 a.m. standard time at the Policyholder's address on the date the 
Covered Person is eligible for coverage under this rider. 
 

DEFINITIONS 

General terms defined in the DEFINITIONS section of the Certificate and riders regarding medical conditions and 
eligibility apply to each Covered Person. 

 
Benefit Waiting Period means the continuous period of time (shown in the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS above) that 

each Covered Person must be insured under this rider before any benefits are payable for that Covered Person. 

 
Covered Person means: 

 You, if you are covered for Accident insurance under the Policy. 

 Your Spouse who is covered under your Spouse Accident Rider. 

 Your Children who are covered under your Children's Accident Rider. 

 
Pre-Existing Condition means any condition for which medical advice, diagnosis, care or treatment was received 

or recommended during the 12 months just prior to the Covered Person's effective date of coverage. 
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CLAIM FORMS 
The claim form is available from the Employer or you can request a claim form from us. If you do not receive the form 
from us within 15 days of your request, you may send us written proof of loss without waiting for the form. If such 
written proof of loss covers the occurrence, character and extent of the loss within the time period noted in the 
Certificate for proof of loss, you will be deemed to have complied with the requirements for providing proof of loss. 
 
The claim form(s) may require completion by you and the Employer and the Covered Person's attending Doctor.  The 
completed form(s) and any attachments indicated on the form(s) as required should be sent directly to us at the 
address indicated on the form. 

 
PHYSICAL EXAMINATION 
We may require the Covered Person to be examined by one or more Doctors or other medical practitioners of our 
choice. We will pay for this examination. We can require an examination as often as it is reasonable to do so while 
your claim is pending. We may also require you or your Spouse to be interviewed by our authorized representative. 
Failure to comply with this request may result in denial or termination of benefits. 
 

 
 CLAIMS 

Additional general claim provisions are described in the CLAIMS section of the Certificate. 

PRE-EXISTING CONDITION LIMITATION 
For the first 12 months following this rider's effective date for each Covered Person, we will not pay benefits for any 
Hospital Confinement resulting from a Pre-Existing Condition.  If the Hospital Confinement begins more than 12 
months after this rider's effective date for the Covered Person, benefits for a Pre-Existing Condition are the same as 
benefits for any eligible Hospital Confinement. 
 

EXCLUSIONS AND LIMITATIONS 
EXCLUSIONS 
Benefits are not payable if any of the following are true: 

 Services are received in an Emergency Room, or for Outpatient Treatment, or for a Hospital stay for which there 
is no charge for room and board. 

 Confinement is the result of alcoholism or drug abuse. 

 Confinement is the result of dental care or elective procedures. 

 Confinement is due to psychiatric or psychological conditions. 

 Confinement is due to birth, if the Covered Person is a newborn Child, unless the newborn has an eligible 
Sickness. 

 

SICKNESS HOSPITAL CONFINEMENT BENEFITS 
Following satisfaction of the Benefit Waiting Period, we will pay a daily Sickness Hospital Confinement benefit (shown 
in the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS) to you if a Covered Person is Confined in a Hospital due to a Sickness.  Benefits 
are payable for only one Confinement at a time even if the Confinement is caused by more than one Injury or 
Sickness. 

 
If the Covered Person is Hospital Confined within 90 days of a previous Hospital Confinement for the same or related 
Sickness, we will treat this as a continuation of the previous Hospital Confinement. 
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Executed at our Home Office: 
20 Washington Avenue South 
Minneapolis, MN 55401 
 
 

               
 Robert L. Grubka                Melissa A. O'Donnell 
  President                  Secretary 

 
PAYMENT OF CLAIMS 
Benefits under this rider are payable to you. Once a claim has been approved, we will make payment immediately 
upon receipt of due written proof of loss. Any accrued benefits that are payable at your death will be paid according to 
the PAYMENT OF CLAIMS provision in the Certificate. For Portability Following Death or Divorce, any accrued 
benefits that are payable at the time of your Spouse’s death will be paid to your Spouse’s estate. 
 
Any payment we make in good faith will discharge our liability as to the extent of such payment. 
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WELLNESS BENEFIT RIDER 
 

RELIASTAR LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY 
20 Washington Avenue South, Minneapolis, Minnesota 55401 

  
POLICYHOLDER: State of North Carolina 

 
GROUP POLICY NUMBER: 68077-0CAC 

  
  
This rider is made a part of the Group Accident Insurance Certificate and is subject to all of the provisions, 
limitations and exclusions of the Policy and Certificate, unless changed by this rider.  Unless expressly changed by 
this rider, the terms used in this rider have the same meaning as in the Certificate. 

  
 

 

  
  

SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS 
  

WHO PAYS FOR THE COVERAGE 
The cost of coverage under this rider is automatically included in the cost of your coverage and the cost of your 
Spouse's coverage and the cost of your Children's coverage. 
  
  

WELLNESS BENEFIT 
 

  

You: $50 

Your Spouse: $50 

Your Children: 50% of your wellness benefit 
amount per Child 

  
 
A wellness benefit is payable up to a maximum of one time per Covered Person per calendar year. 
  
  

            CONTENTS 
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GENERAL PROVISIONS 
  

ELIGIBILITY 
If you are covered under the Policy, then you are eligible under this rider on the latest of the following: 

 The Policy effective date. 

 The date coverage under this rider is available to the eligible class of Insured Persons to which you belong. 

 Your Accident coverage effective date. 

 
Your Spouse is eligible for coverage under this rider on the later of the date above or the date your Spouse is eligible 
for coverage under the Spouse Accident Insurance Rider. 

 
Your Children are eligible for coverage under this rider on the later of the date above or the date each Child is eligible 
for coverage under the Children’s Accident Insurance Rider. 

 
EFFECTIVE DATE 
Each Covered Person will be covered at 12:01 a.m. standard time at the Policyholder's address on the date the 
Covered Person is eligible for coverage under this rider. 

TERMINATION 
Coverage under this rider will terminate on the earliest of the following: 

 The date your Accident insurance terminates. See the PORTABILITY FOLLOWING DEATH OR DIVORCE 
provision below and in the riders if termination is due to death or regarding coverage previously continued by your 
Spouse. 

 The date coverage under this rider is terminated for all Active Employees under the Policy. See the 
PORTABILITY provisions below. 

 The date coverage under this rider is terminated for the eligible class of Active Employees to which you belong. 
See the PORTABILITY provisions below. 

 The date the Policy terminates and coverage for all Insured Persons under the Policy terminates. 

 For your Spouse's coverage, the date your Spouse’s coverage under the Spouse Accident Rider terminates. 

 For each Child's coverage, the date your Child's coverage under the Children's Accident Rider terminates. 

 
PORTABILITY 
If you continue your coverage under the Certificate’s PORTABILITY provision, then coverage under this rider will also 
be continued during portability. Continued coverage under this provision is subject to all the terms of this rider. 
 

PORTABILITY FOLLOWING DEATH OR DIVORCE 

 

If you die or divorce and your Spouse continues coverage under the PORTABILITY FOLLOWING DEATH OR DIVORCE 
provision of the Spouse Accident Rider, then coverage under this rider will also be continued under your Spouse’s 
coverage. Continued coverage under this provision is subject to all the terms of this rider. 
 
 

DEFINITIONS 
General terms are defined in the DEFINITIONS section of the Certificate and riders.  
 

Covered Person means: 

 You, if you are covered for Accident insurance under the Policy. 

 Your Spouse if covered under the Spouse Accident Rider. 

 Your Children if covered under the Children's Accident Rider. 
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ASSIGNMENT 
At the time of claim under this rider, you can assign the payment of a benefit under this rider to a third party who is 
not the Policyholder. 
 

 

  
  

EXCLUSIONS 
The EXCLUSIONS section of the Certificate and riders does not apply to this rider. 
 
 

BENEFITS 

We will pay you a wellness benefit (shown on the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS) if a Covered Person has a health 
screening test on or after the Covered Person’s coverage effective date. A benefit is payable up to a maximum of one 
time per Covered Person per calendar year. The amounts are shown on the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS. 
 

Health screening tests include, but are not limited to:   

 
 Blood test for triglycerides

 Pap smear or thin prep pap test

 Flexible sigmoidoscopy 

 CEA (blood test for colon cancer)

 Bone marrow testing 

 Serum cholesterol test for HDL & LDL levels

 Hemoccult stool analysis

 Serum Protein Electrophoresis (myeloma)

 Breast ultrasound, sonogram, MRI

 Chest x-ray

 Mammography

 Colonoscopy

 CA 15-3 (breast cancer)  

 Stress test on bicycle or treadmill 

 
 Fasting blood glucose test 

 Thermography

 PSA (prostate cancer)

 Electrocardiogram (EKG)

 Endoscopy

 Carotid Doppler

 Routine Eye exam

 Routine dental exam

 Well child/preventive exams for ages 1 through 18

 Biometric screenings

 Molecular or antigen test (Coronavirus)
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Executed at our home office: 
20 Washington Avenue South 
Minneapolis, MN 55401 
 
 

               
    Robert L. Grubka                       Melissa A. O'Donnell 
  President                  Secretary 

PAYMENT OF CLAIMS 
Benefits will be paid according to the PAYMENT OF CLAIMS provision in the Certificate. For PORTABILITY 
FOLLOWING DEATH OR DIVORCE, benefits are payable to your Spouse, and any accrued benefits that are payable 
at the time of your Spouse’s death will be paid to your Spouse’s estate. 
 
Any payment we make in good faith will discharge our liability as to the extent of such payment. We will pay the 
benefits in one sum. 
 

LEGAL ACTION 
You can start legal action regarding a claim no earlier than 60 days after written proof of loss has been given to us, 
and no later than three years from the time proof of loss is required, unless otherwise provided under federal law.  
Nothing in this provision waives, extends or tolls any applicable statute of limitations governing any claim relating in 
any way to your coverage. 
 
 

CLAIMS 

The PHYSICAL EXAMINATION provision does not apply to this rider. 
 

NOTICE OF CLAIM 
Written notice of your claim must be given to us during the same calendar year the health screening test occurs or 
within 30 days of the end of the calendar year, whichever is later.  The notice may be given to us at our home office or 
to our authorized administrator.  Failure to give notice within this timeframe will not invalidate or reduce any payable 
claim if it can be shown that it was not reasonably possible to give such notice within that time and the notice was 
given as soon as reasonably possible. 
 

CLAIM FORM 
The claim form is available from the Employer or you can request a claim form from us.  If you do not receive the form 
from us within 15 days of your request, you may send us written proof of loss without waiting for the form.  If such 
written proof of loss covers the occurrence, character and extent of the loss within the time period below for proof of 
loss, you will be deemed to have complied with the requirements for providing proof of loss. 
 

The claim form(s) may require completion by you and the Employer and the Covered Person's attending Doctor.  The 
completed form(s) and any attachments indicated on the form(s) as required should be sent directly to us at the 
address indicated on the form. 
 

PROOF OF LOSS 
You must send us written proof of your loss within 180 days after the date of the health screening test.  Failure to give 
such proof within this timeframe will not invalidate or reduce any payable claim if it can be shown that it was not 
reasonably possible to give such proof within that time, and the proof was given as soon as reasonably possible.  
However, in any event, you must provide proof of loss no later than one year after the time proof is otherwise 
required, except in the absence of legal capacity. 
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ADDITIONAL SERVICES RIDER 
 

RELIASTAR LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY 
20 Washington Avenue South, Minneapolis, Minnesota 55401 

 
POLICYHOLDER: State of North Carolina 

GROUP POLICY NUMBER: 68077-0CAC 

 
This rider is made a part of the Group Accident Insurance Certificate and is subject to all of the provisions, 
limitations and exclusions of the Policy and Certificate, unless changed by this rider. Unless expressly changed by 
this rider, the terms used in this rider have the same meaning as in the Certificate. 
 

 

 
Executed at our home office: 
20 Washington Avenue South 
Minneapolis, MN 55401 
 
 

               
    Robert L. Grubka                       Melissa A. O'Donnell 
  President                  Secretary 

NOTICE OF ADDITIONAL SERVICES 

From time to time ReliaStar Life Insurance Company (“we,” “us,” “our”) may offer or provide certain persons who 
apply for coverage with us or become insureds/enrollees with us travel assistance services such as pre-trip 
information, emergency personal services, medical assistance services and emergency transportation services 
available when they travel more than 100 miles from home or in a foreign country. 
 
While we have arranged these services, the third party service providers are liable to the 
applicants/insureds/enrollees for the provision of such goods and/or services. ReliaStar Life Insurance Company is 
not responsible for the provision of such goods and/or services nor are we liable for the failure of the provision of 
the same. Further, ReliaStar Life Insurance Company is not liable to the applicants/insureds/enrollees for the 
negligent provision of such goods and/or services by third party service providers. We may discontinue additional 
services with 30 days prior Written notice to the Policyholder. 
 


