2017 Governor's Awards For Excellence Governor Cooper Recognizes 12 State Employees for Going Above and Beyond

Governor Cooper, OSHR Director Barbara Gibson and 2017 Award Recipients
Raliegh, N.C.

Governor Roy Cooper presented 12 state employees with the Governor’s Awards for Excellence today during a ceremony in the NC Museum of History. The recipients of the prestigious award were selected from 115 nominations. It is the highest honor a state employee may receive for dedicated service to the state and the people of North Carolina. Videos of each of their stories can be seen here. Also, a full description of each recipient's winning qualities, their videos, photographs and the full awards ceremony are available here.

“These state employees put the wellbeing of others first, created solutions to lingering problems, and improved the experiences of those around them,” Gov. Cooper said. “Today’s honorees have made a positive and lasting difference for our state and we’re grateful for their service.”

The honorees attended a luncheon in the Executive Mansion before receiving their awards at a special ceremony in the auditorium of the NC Museum of History. Former UNC-TV anchor and produce Audrey Bailey emceed the event. The Office of State Human Resources hosted the ceremony with the support of the North Carolina State Employees’ Credit Union Foundation.

“For these state employees, a career in public service is about being a part of something bigger than themselves,” said Barbara Gibson, Director of the Office of State Human Resources. “It’s about making a meaningful contribution to society. By going above and beyond their normal duties, they’ve left an enduring legacy of accomplishment.”

The 2017 Governor’s Awards for Excellence honorees are:

Customer Service

Noelle Ocon
Department of Natural and Cultural Resources/North Carolina Museum of Art

Efficiency & Innovation

John Woodlock
Department of Public Safety

Human Relations

Joe Bright
Department of Public Safety

Outstanding State Government Service

Allan Buchanan
Department of Insurance

Public Service

Dr. Michelle Skipper
East Carolina University

Larry Williams
Office of Administrative Hearings

Safety & Heroism

Patrick Browne
Wildlife Resources Commission

Bradley Garman
Department of Public Safety

Cindi Hamilton
Department of Environmental Quality

Charles Daniel Roper
Department of Public Safety, National Guard

Dean Roscoe
Department of Transportation

Robert Shook
Department of Public Safety, National Guard