Donate to Hurricane Recovery

44 Public Sector Employees from 13 Agencies Earn Certified Public Manager Certificates


Public sector employees from state agencies, universities and local government were honored for completing the rigorous North Carolina Certified Public Manager® Program in a ceremony and reception this afternoon at the North Carolina Museum of History.

Managed by the Office of State Human Resources (OSHR), the program was established in 1982 to enhance the effectiveness of public sector organizations across our state by developing the leadership capabilities of mid-level managers. Since then, more than 2,245 mid-level managers across state and local governments have completed the program. 

To date, 1,525 of those graduates have been awarded the Certified Public Manager designation following the program’s accreditation by the National Certified Public Manager Consortium in 1988.

Today’s graduates were commended by State Auditor Beth Wood and Terry Bell, president of the North Carolina Society of Certified Public Managers. Certificates were presented by Annis C. Barbee, director of the Certified Public Manager Program at OSHR’s Learning Development Center.

Honorees include:

  • Charlotte Regional Visitors Authority: Montreko Gaddy
  • Department of Environmental Quality: Heather Carter, Brendan Davey, Chris Johnson, Ian McMillan and L. Marcela Vargas
  • Fayetteville State University: Wesley Fountain and Sandra G. Williams
  • Department of Health and Human Services: Reynold Barco, Michelle Hawks, Tracy Howell, Dashone Knight, Susan Little, Pratrice Partee, Albert Sanders and Jennifer Street
  • Department of Insurance: Nichole Faulkner
  • University of North Carolina-Pembroke: Becky Thompson
  • Department of Information Technology: Patrick Blalock, Padmashree Paluri, Phillip Parker, Susan Penman
  • Department of Justice: Brenda Menard, Chanin Rivenbark, Amanda Thompson and Jodie West
  • Department of Labor: Marcella Collyer, Lee Peacock and Christine Ryan
  • Department of Public Safety: Tracy Arrington, Laqreshia Bates-Harley, Lance Britt, Jamie Meadows, Miguel Pitts, Russell Price and Dianne M. Whitman
  • Department of Revenue: Marcia Dies and Jenny Kim
  • Office of State Human Resources: Bobbi Wardlaw-Brown
  • Department of Transportation: Michael Hedrick, Joel Jordan, Emily McGraw, Neil Perry and Jason Orthner

For additional information about the North Carolina Certified Public Manager® Program, visit

# # #