Donate to Hurricane Recovery

Governor's Awards for Excellence

Governor's Awards for Excellence

The 2019 Governor's Awards for Excellence

2019 Nomination Form 

Nominations for the 2019 Governor’s Awards for Excellence begin February 4th. This award is the highest honor a state employee may receive for dedicated service to the State of North Carolina and its citizens. The award gives us an opportunity to recognize exemplary state employees whose service and contributions go beyond the call of duty and make a positive difference in the lives of their fellow North Carolinians. 

The Governor's Awards for Excellence Program is designed to acknowledge and express appreciation for outstanding accomplishments that do not fall entirely within the scope of normal duties but are in the nature of a major contribution reflecting credit on the person and State service. The meritorious service or accomplishment is so singularly outstanding that special recognition is justified.

Employees are nominated for the award by other state employees including their supervisors, co-workers, and subordinates. Read the State Employee Awards for Excellence Policy for more information.

Learn more about the 2018 Recipients

Learn more about the 2017 Recipients

Learn more about the 2016 Recipients

Learn more about the 2015 Recipients

Qualifying Employees

Nominees must be permanent state employees and include:

  • Employees who have a permanent appointment, including the managerial and administrative levels such as:
  • Deputy and Assistant Department Heads
  • Division Directors
  • Deputy and Assistant Directors of major divisions in the larger departments
  • Key assistants to the Department Head or University Chancellor who exert major policy influence.

Employees not eligible:

  • Elected officials, department heads, and university chancellors
  • Employees of the public school system or community colleges
  • Employees of the judicial branch and
  • Employees of the General Assembly
Award Categories

Award Categories

Awards are presented in seven categories:

  1. Customer Service – Provided exceptional service that left the customer fully satisfied with their experience. Exceeded expectations to meet the needs of the customer. Added value to the customer experience.
  2. Efficiency & Innovation  Improved the efficiency of state government services. Established new and/or improved methods, practices, plans or designs resulting in innovation, savings and/or efficiencies. This is an ideal area to nominate an employee who has thought of and implemented an employee suggestion that has proven successful.
  3. Human Relations  Made outstanding contributions toward enhancing the quality and morale of the workplace or creating a better public image of state government (such as positive personal interaction with other employees; public awareness; working on relations internally within an agency; or collaboration between different agencies).
  4. Outstanding State Government Service  Exhibited unselfish devotion to duty far and above the normal requirements and contributed significantly to the advancement of state service to the citizens of North Carolina. 
  5. Public Service  Made outstanding contributions by participating in or implementing community and public service projects (such as volunteering with various non-profit organizations).
  6. Safety and Heroism  Demonstrated outstanding judgment or courage in an emergency, voluntarily risking his/her life or exhibited meritorious action to prevent injury, loss of life or prevented damage to or loss of property.
  7. Spirit of North Carolina  Exemplified the state motto “To be, rather than to seem.” Mentored others in the pursuit of excellence.  Served as an ambassador for the State of North Carolina. This special award is reserved for exceptional circumstances and for accomplishments and achievements of the highest caliber.
Submission Checklist

Submission Checklist

Online Submission Checklist

  1. Employee’s name, home address and position title
  2. Employee’s basic job description
  3. Employee’s supervisor’s name, email, and phone number
  4. Agency/University Coordinator name and email address
  5. A written a summary of why this employee is being nominated. The summary should be a minimum of 350 words but can be longer if needed.
  6. Category you are submitting this nominee for consideration
  7. Consent from the nominee’s supervisor. The supervisor must be made aware of your intent to nominate the employee before you complete the nomination form.

Once you have this information ready, you are all set to begin the online nomination!

 

Number of Submissions Allowed Per Agency University

Number of Employees Number of Nominations
Less than 300 employees 3
300-1,999 employees 6
2,000-10,000 employees 8
More than 10,000 employees 12
Coordinators

Coordinators

Agency/University Coordinator Email
Administration  Althea Trantham Althea.trantham@doa.nc.gov 
Agriculture Terry Bell terry.bell@ncagr.gov 
Appalachian State  Daniel Bryan bryande@appstate.edu 
Auditor Lauren Eiswirth lauren_eiswirth@ncauditor.net 
Commerce  Deborah O'Neal doneal@nccommerce.com 
Community Colleges Shakeyia Hazell hazells@nccommunitycolleges.edu 
Natural and Cultural Resources  Sondra Chavis sondra.chavis@ncdcr.gov 
East Carolina  Justin Yeaman Yeamanj16@ecu.edu 
Elizabeth City State Tanisha Brumsey, tfbrumsey@mail.ecsu.edu 
ECSU Paula Bowe pgbowe@ecsu.edu
Employment Security Commission  Deborah O'Neal  doneal@nccommerce.com 
Department of Environmental Quality  Megan Church Megan.church@ncdenr.gov 
Fayetteville State  Kristy Presock  kpresock@uncfsu.edu 
Health & Human Services Felicia Davis Lacy Felicia.lacy@dhhs.nc.gov 
Information Technology Services Evangeline Phillips Evangeline.phillips@nc.gov 
Insurance  Melissa Evans melissa.evans@ncdoi.gov 
Justice  Kristin Bierline kbierline@nctreasurer.com 
Labor Stacey Thompson stacey.thompson@labor.nc.gov 
Military & Veterans Affairs Bob Schultz Bob.schultz@nc.gov
NC A & T Ericka Smith emsmith@ncat.edu 
NC Board of Elections Sandford Chancellor Sandford.chancellor@ncsbe.gov 
NC Central University Keesha Judd Keesha.judd@nccu.edu
NC Lottery Van Denton Robert.denton@lotterync.net 
NC State  Britt Hurst Britt_hurst@ncsu.edu
Office of Administrative Hearings Angeline Hariston Angeline.hariston@oah.nc.gov
Office of Commissioner of Banks Jenny Toler jtoler@nccob.gov
Office of the Governor Karen Cheek Karen.cheek@nc.gov 
Office of State Budget & Management Melissa Sincebaugh Melissa.sincebaugh@osbm.nc.gov
Office of State Controller Helen Dicken Helen.dicken@osc.nc.gov
Office of State Human Resources Karen Cheek Karen.cheek@nc.gov 
Public Instruction Pat Schott Patricia.schott@dpi.nc.gov 
Public Safety Margaret Ekam Margaret.ekam@ncdps.gov 
Revenue  Angelina Harvey Angelina.harvey@ncdor.gov 
SBI Lynn Floyd lfloyd@ncsbi.gov 
Secretary of State  Mike Daniels mdaniels@sosnc.com 
School of Science & Math  Jamie Hawthorne Jamie.hawthorne@ncssm.edu 
Transportation Dennis Franz djfranz@ncdot.gov 
Treasurer  Debra Thomas Debra.Thomas@nctreasurer.com 
UNC - Asheville  Christy Williams cwilliam@unca.edu 
UNC - Chapel Hill Jessica Pyjas Jessica_pyjas@unc.edu 
UNC - Charlotte Katherine Tomey ktomey@uncc.edu 
UNC System Office Kathy Bryant kwbryant@northcarolina.edu
UNC - Greensboro  Sarah Alston S_alston@uncg.edu 
UNC - Pembroke  Sheila Hardee Sheila.hardee@uncp.edu 
UNC - School of the Arts Andrea Clemmer clemmera@uncsa.edu 
UNC - Wilmington  Olivia Cunningham cunninghamo@uncw.edu 
UNCW Michel Shackelford shackelfordm@uncw.edu
Western Carolina  Cory Causby causby@email.wcu.edu 
Wildlife Resources Commission Patricia Barnes Patricia.barnes@ncwildlife.org
Winston Salem State University Winston Bagley bagleywb@wssu.edu