Governor's Awards for Excellence

Governor's Awards for Excellence

The 2017 Governor's Awards 

 

 

The Governor's Awards for Excellence is the highest honor a State employee may receive. Recipients are honored annually. 

The Governor's Awards for Excellence Program is designed to acknowledge and express appreciation for outstanding accomplishments that do not fall entirely within the scope of normal duties but are in the nature of a major contribution reflecting credit on the person and State service. The meritorious service or accomplishment is so singularly outstanding that special recognition is justified.

Employees are nominated for the award by other state employees including their supervisors, co-workers, and subordinates. Read the State Employee Awards for Excellence Policy for more information.

Learn more about the 2017 Recipients

Learn more about the 2016 Recipients

Learn more about the 2015 Recipients

Qualifying Employees

Nominees must be permanent state employees and include:

  • Employees who have a permanent appointment, including the managerial and administrative levels such as:
  • Deputy and Assistant Department Heads
  • Division Directors
  • Deputy and Assistant Directors of major divisions in the larger departments
  • Key assistants to the Department Head or University Chancellor who exert major policy influence.

Employees not eligible:

  • Elected officials, department heads, and university chancellors
  • Employees of the public school system or community colleges
  • Employees of the judicial branch and
  • Employees of the General Assembly
Award Categories

Award Categories

Awards are presented in seven categories:

  1. Customer Service – Provided exceptional service that left the customer fully satisfied with their experience. Exceeded expectations to meet the needs of the customer. Added value to the customer experience.
  2. Efficiency & Innovation  Improved the efficiency of state government services. Established new and/or improved methods, practices, plans or designs resulting in innovation, savings and/or efficiencies. This is an ideal area to nominate an employee who has thought of and implemented an employee suggestion that has proven successful.
  3. Human Relations  Made outstanding contributions toward enhancing the quality and morale of the workplace or creating a better public image of state government (such as positive personal interaction with other employees; public awareness; working on relations internally within an agency; or collaboration between different agencies).
  4. Outstanding State Government Service  Exhibited unselfish devotion to duty far and above the normal requirements and contributed significantly to the advancement of state service to the citizens of North Carolina. 
  5. Public Service  Made outstanding contributions by participating in or implementing community and public service projects (such as volunteering with various non-profit organizations).
  6. Safety and Heroism  Demonstrated outstanding judgment or courage in an emergency, voluntarily risking his/her life or exhibited meritorious action to prevent injury, loss of life or prevented damage to or loss of property.
  7. Spirit of North Carolina  Exemplified the state motto “To be, rather than to seem.” Mentored others in the pursuit of excellence.  Served as an ambassador for the State of North Carolina. This special award is reserved for exceptional circumstances and for accomplishments and achievements of the highest caliber.
Submission Checklist

Submission Checklist

Online Submission Checklist

  1. Employee’s name, home address and position title
  2. Employee’s basic job description
  3. Employee’s supervisor’s name, email, and phone number
  4. Agency/University Coordinator name and email address
  5. A written a summary of why this employee is being nominated. The summary should be a minimum of 350 words but can be longer if needed.
  6. Category you are submitting this nominee for consideration
  7. Consent from the nominee’s supervisor. The supervisor must be made aware of your intent to nominate the employee before you complete the nomination form.

Once you have this information ready, you are all set to begin the online nomination!

 

Number of Submissions Allowed Per Agency University

Number of Employees Number of Nominations
Less than 300 employees 3
300-1,999 employees 6
2,000-10,000 employees 8
More than 10,000 employees 12
Coordinators

Coordinators

Agency/University Coordinator Email
Administration Alexandra Mendoza alexandra.mendoza@doa.nc.gov
Agriculture Terry Bell terry.bell@ncagr.gov
Appalachian State Daniel Bryan bryande@appstate.edu
Auditor Lauren Eiswirth lauren_eiswirth@ncauditor.net
Commerce Deborah A O'Neal doneal@nccommerce.com
Community Colleges Shakeyia Hazell hazells@nccommunitycolleges.edu
East Carolina Justin Yeaman yeamanj16@ecu.edu
Elizabeth City State

Tanisha Brumsey

Paula Bowe

tfbrumsey@mail.ecsu.edu

pgbowe@ecsu.edu

Employment Security Commission Deborah O’Neal doneal@nccommerce.com
Department of Environmental Quality Megan Church megan.church@ncdenr.gov
Fayetteville State Kimberly Weston Moore krweston01@uncfsu.edu
Health & Human Services Felicia Davis Lacy felicia.lacy@dhhs.nc.gov
Information Technology Services  Evangeline Phillips evangeline.phillips@nc.gov
Insurance Melissa Evans melissa.evans@ncdoi.gov
Justice Kristin Bierline kbierline@nctreasurer.com
Labor Stacey Thompson stacey.thompson@labor.nc.gov
Natural and Cultural Resources Sondra Chavis sondra.chavis@ncdcr.gov
NC A&T  Ericka Smith emsmith@ncat.edu
NC Central

Larita Brooks

Connie Boone

lbrooks4@nccu.edu

cboone@nccu.edu

NC State Britt Hurst sbmoose@ncsu.edu
Office of Administrative Hearings Margaret Reader margaret.reader@oah.nc.gov
Office of Commissioner of Banks Debbie Petersen dpetersen@nccob.gov
Office of the Governor Karen Cheek karen.cheek@nc.gov
Office of Military Affairs Bob Schultz bob.schultz@nc.gov
Office of State Budget & Management Kristen Adams kristen.adams@nc.gov
Office of State Controller Helen Dicken helen.dicken@osc.nc.gov
Office of State Human Resources Karen Cheek karen.cheek@nc.gov
Public Instruction Pat Schott patricia.schott@dpi.nc.gov
Public Safety

Kathy Reitzel

Margaret Ekam

kathy.reitzel@ncdps.gov

margaret.ekam@ncdps.gov

Revenue Angelina Harvey angelina.harvey@ncdor.gov
Secretary of State Mike Daniels mdaniels@sosnc.com
School of Science & Math Connie Boyce boyce@ncssm.edu
Transportation Laurie Moser lmoser@ncdot.gov
Treasurer Sam Balogac samantha.balogac@nctreasurer.com
UNC – Asheville Christy Williams cwilliam@unca.edu
UNC – Chapel Hill Shauna Stackhouse shauna_stackhouse@unc.edu
UNC – Charlotte Katherine Tomey ktomey@uncc.edu
UNC General Administration Taylor Libby tlibby@northcarolina.edu
UNC – Greensboro Betty Betts bsbetts@uncg.edu
UNC – Pembroke Sheila Hardee sheila.hardee@uncp.edu
UNC – School of the Arts Marcie Rowdy rowdym@uncsa.edu
UNC – Wilmington Olivia Cunningham cunninghamo@uncw.edu
Western Carolina Cory Causby causby@email.wcu.edu
Wildlife Resources Commission Takoya Edwards takoya.edwards@ncwildlife.org
Winston Salem State Winston Bagley bagleywb@wssu.edu